Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetoid Pilgrim

by defacid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS:
WASD - MOVE \ RMB - AIM \ LMB - SHOOT \ R - RESTART

EXPLORATION AND MORAL REFLECTION

VIDEO ONE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zms8eX7lgRE
VIDEO TWO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30JJyIbwWl4

EDIT: Fixed the .exe to be single runtime rather than an installer for ease of access.

EDIT2: I forgot to put this in the controls earlier, but press "R" to restart the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Graphics3.88
#175Overall3.63
#289Fun3.38
#441Audio2.87
#524Innovation3.19
#609Theme3.19
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

*V-Potential spoilers-V*

Was fun, but I'm not sure there was anything to do once you killed everything. Which I suppose might be the moral of the story?

defacid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:25pm

*SPOILERS*

That's exactly it. If you give the player the option to shoot, and something to kill, they are predisposed to kill. The very valid option to NOT kill is not entertained. There's also the angle of killing everyone, or isolating yourself from others, leaves you alone and the lack of an end state entertains the idea that you will continue to exist in either isolation or surrounded by others.

I've lived a good portion of my life sitting by myself in crowded rooms by choice. :P

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Physics, graphics and mood overall is brilliant. Game feels really solid!

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:03pm

I like this a lot for what it is, but sadly it isn't very much yet. I would love to see what you have after a few more days of work. The visual style and movement were fantastic. Unfortunately there just wasn't much to do yet. I also noticed that once you killed all the little creatures nothing seemed to happen and it just felt like a big empty room. Again, I would love to see this after more work.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Nice graphics and design. Some kind of help screen would have been nice, I couldn't completely figure out what I was supposed to do.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Really love the art style. Awesome game! Well done.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19pm

This has some real potential. It took me a little while to figure out what I was supposed to do, but once I got used to the controls and the way the player character moved, I quite liked it. I hope you'll continue working at it, I look forward to seeing more.

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Looks super pretty!

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Awesome Game! Very interesting and fun idea.

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Can't find anything to kill, though

defacid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Try pressing "R" - you might have spawned worlds that have little to no life.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:43am

Nice game. The pull of gravity from far away planets that you can't see was satisfying.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Hi there. Interesting looking pixel art. Like the gravity. Shoot (LMB) doesn't seem to work at all (Chrome/W8.1)

Kiwiboi says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very interesting! The exp and lvl meter made me shoot everything unfortunately, they were cute and didn't hurt me but I thought leveling was the purpose :( Then I read the description. Lovely entry.

Markavian says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:46pm

The only thing I don't get, is why separate mouse buttons for aiming and firing? I found it easier just to hold both left and right mouse down to fire because it was too confusing. Nice movement and interplanetary mechanics, I liked the surface details.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Well done mechanics, I killed some little bugs or something after some time of vagrancy around three planets. After your explanation I understand the game a little better though! I like the option not to kill, but I feel there is something missing in gameplay terms.

defacid says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:16am

After playing my own entry via web for a bit I realized why you guys are so confused about the aiming - the laser isn't being drawn in the web version! I am going to look into whether or not I'm allowed to fix that (which I should be since it's a port and I'm not modifying the gameplay from the original.)

I will get to playing and commenting on the games from the most recent commenters in a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]