Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Or|Bit

by blurryroots - Jam Entry

Little hacking game in space.

Left click a planet to select it.
Once selected you can hack it via right click.
Right click a previously hacked planet to 'fortify' it.

Nodes provide information about how long they take to be hacked (bottom rigth) and how much time bonus (bottom left) they give you when being traced (countdown).
The symbols found on planets or moons, describe the type of the respective node. Here is a list of all possible types.

Home : Starting Point
Antenna: Normal Node
Cog : Utility Node
Storage : Reduces all difficulties globally
Target : Wins the level if hacked
Firewall : Wins the level if hacked

If you encounter any problems running the game, try to install Love2D on your system. For further information see the instructions found under https://www.love2d.org/wiki/Getting_Started#Running_Games

To win a level, either hack all 'target' nodes or infiltrate the 'firewall'.

There should be 4 playable levels.

Edit 3:
The bug preventing you from progressing to level 3 seems to be fixed, enjoy level 3 and 4!

Edit 2:
There is a bug in the win/fail state, which apperantly probits you from progressing further then level 2. We will look into this.

Edit 1:
I repackaged the windows releases. It should now run natively with either 32/64 bit, if you download the appropriate zip file.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#284Theme(Jam)3.38
#443Audio(Jam)2.89
#450Graphics(Jam)3.21
#487Humor(Jam)2.13
#549Innovation(Jam)2.74
#566Mood(Jam)2.75
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#622Fun(Jam)2.58

Comments

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

um its a .love file.

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

Can't play, don't have Love installed. Can you make a web or Windows version?

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

I'm having the same problem.

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

Couldn't run. Sorry bud

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

At least provide instructions on how to run a .love file

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32am

Or|Bit is love Or|Bit is life

Rock48 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

Wow this is actually pretty cool once I figured out the controls

seantheartist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

hmmm, can't seem to run it

lytedev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

Opened up the game, "Woah! Looks neat!... Now what..." had no idea what to do, came back to this page, found the controls, alright! Let's play.

Numbers by the planets had no meaning (that I could tell) hacked a few planets, figured out the red shield was probably the firewall, would get the win screen immediately followed by the fail screen almost every time. Finally got to level 2 and tried nearly everything but always got win screen + fail screen immediately afterwards.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

Thank you all for your helpful feedback! We edited the description to give a more complete introduction on how to run and play the game.
@lytedev Thank you for your detailed comment. We might get the fail state fixed soon.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11am

Hmm. It feels like I should be able to counteract a hack, but I can't figure it out. It'd be nice to have a retry button when at the fail screen. There certainly seems to be a bug on the second level. I can hack up to the win-state planet and successfully hack it, but the previous planet's detection completes afterwards, causing the game state to change to failed.

Nitpicks:

- This could use some music.
- I need a restart button. Sucks to have to reload the game and lose my progress.
- It's hard to see when a hack will be detected, and it seems completely deterministic. i.e., there's only one way to win a level. This really needs some variability.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Error: src/SolarSystem.lua:35: attempt to index field 'math' (a nil value)

I did sudo apt-get install love to run it. anything else I need to do?

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56pm

nice game, the 3rd level was pretty hard as ididn't know that i can continue after being detected, but cool game

n42k says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Was easy to understand from the start, the sound made everything better and made the not-so-good camera controls bearable, as I could hear what was going on. It could have a few more levels though.

Overall, I had fun. Great job!

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

A simple idea, but quite enjoyable. The constantly moving planets made it a bit annoying to play, but otherwise nice.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03pm

post .exe not only a raw .love

xandy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

cool sound design that fits the game! but it's hard to play if you don't have a 1280x920 screen

ZYXer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:25am

Nice game concept. I really like the graphics with the icons and numbers, reminds me of some complex space strategy game.

I'm not sure about the difficulty, I found level 3 extremely hard, while level 4 was really easy. But maybe I just played it wrong.

I would be great if the network of planets/moons/satellites were more extensive and maze-like. Like that the player would really have to think through which planets he would need to hack.

danbo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:40am

Reminds me of the hacking minigame in Deus Ex Human Revolution...

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I liked the concept, but didn't really understand what the numbers meant, and why hacking a node would work sometimes, and other times not (the same node after restarting a level.)

Would love to give it another go if it was a bit clearer how to play it correctly :)

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42pm

I liked it. Just sad that it was over so fast ^_^

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Great Game! but it was a bit too short and too easy once you figured out the controls

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Sweet, if a bit short. Reminded me of the hacking minigame from Deus Ex.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:25am

Nice entry, well done.

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:46pm

The graphics and audio are beautiful, but it does seem like you just re-implemented Deus Ex's hacking game. To me it seems like there's little strategy involved besides hacking directly to your target as quickly as possible. And that's just a matter of how well you can target your clicks.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]