Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hyperdrive Frontier

by Vennril - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finally I got another chance to submit a LD48 game. Woo-hoo!
My first game in 3D actually - but still heavily inspired by the 90s.

You're a space pilot on an important mission, which takes you through an asteroid field!

The game works best with a gamepad, but you can also use your mouse (even though controls are a bit clunky with it).

Hope you enjoy :)


Note: Best played with the Galaxy Rangers theme: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-hSMzrWZCAE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Graphics4.00
#246Fun3.44
#319Overall3.45
#568Mood2.97
#721Humor2.11
#916Theme2.66
#1090Innovation2.29
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:55am

super cool! and looks very polished. And this reminds me of super mario...na just joking ;) lylat wars!

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

If I could give six stars for graphics, I would. Unbelievable. How did you make this in 48 hours?!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Really nice game. Simple concept and good graphics.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Design and graphics are great!! Will make a great game.

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04am

Very nice! The overall art style is nice an consistent, the way the ship handling and crosshair feels is solid.

Still, I find the theme is not being used to it's full potential.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10am

This game is awesome!, I cannot belive you made it in just 48 hours.
It reminds me of starfox.
I think that the game would have been even better if you had implemented the laser sound.

Ogniok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Very good graphics :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

Reminds me of StarFox, which is awesome. Overall solid entry, wish the theme had been used bit more though. Portals to swap between dimensions for example.

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

Very fun shooting game!

muriel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I really love the graphics ;)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

The game is fun but the gameplay is a bit hard sometimes

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very cool game. Like the double crosshair idea, as it adds a sense of depth perception. Good throwback to the nineties. Theme was hinted at but not fully realized, but it didn't detract from the fun. A more difficult mode would be welcome. Can't give six stars because of no barrel roll.

guimonpa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Quite fun!
It's kinda difficult to aim properly because you must keep moving the mouse to aim anywhere other than the center of the screen, but once you get the hang of it it's fine. And nice graphics also :)

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

@blindfox: I know! The lack of barrel roll is alarming :P
Actually I ran into some problems while exporting, which took away the hours I reserved for adding it (and sfx). Still glad you enjoyed it :)

And thanks for the feedback everyone \o/

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

The fact that people can make games like this in 48 hours amazes me. I love the game play and I love the graphics. You did a fantastic job with this!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hi there. Very nice looking game. Asteroid field went on a bit long I thought - but then I was playing with mouse.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:14am

Star fox ;)
The graphics were really nice and old schooly.
my complaint is that the game is too easy: shooting was pretty uneccessary most of the time.
Also, stoy-wise, why didn't he just slow down?
"I'm the last chance for my planet? Better speed through this asteroid belt" ;)

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice graphics, the Galaxy Rangers theme rocks!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Nice game it reminds me of star fox, great entry. I made 407 \o/

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice! Mouse controls could be a bit less sensitive and it could use some sound, but besides that really cool game. Had a lot of 90's flair.

leafarz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:07am

nice visuals you got here!
pretty simple game but it was still awesome! i also liked what you did with the crosshairs. the sensitivity was a little high for me though but still had fun.
good job!

CoderDozer says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Simple, cool, I liked it.

someone says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Interesting control scheme with the mouse.
Doesn't feel like there is much to it but it is a good start.
The graphics are great. Some sound would greatly improve it though.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:44pm

This is great! Very reminiscent of Lylat Wars :) Shame I couldn't press Z or R twice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]