Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

BOND

by ConflictiveLabs - Jam Entry

PLEASE READ!
The entry -as it was submitted- is the game with all the mechanics jammed into basically the same level repeated a couple of times. There's no level progression, just a demo of all the features the game has.

WHY? you ask. I'm afraid it's my fault (shadow). I was doing the level design and code and, while I had a couple of tutorial levels designed, I had to leave during the final ~5 hours of the Jam to take care of an unexpected emergency. I wasn't able to return in time to integrate the remaining art and levels that my friend (ilovepixel) was working on.

He -however- uploaded the latest repo version of the game (I'd say it was a good call) in my absence, which is what you see.

I wholeheartedly apologize. We'll upload a post-compo version with proper levels soon. I promise.

UPDATE: You can play the Post-jam version now! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#28Theme(Jam)4.04
#144Graphics(Jam)4.02
#149Innovation(Jam)3.51
#312Fun(Jam)3.15
#332Humor(Jam)2.52
#352Mood(Jam)3.14
#374Overall(Jam)3.24
#632Audio(Jam)1.80

Comments

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51am

Very cool idea. The way you used the character switching mechanic was well done. And, I liked the art as well.

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37am

I'm not sure if I played it correctly...but the top girl always floated and I just had to get 1 key with each girl to finish the level. But I guess that wasn't intended that way?! But I truly liked it, the idea, the interpretation of the theme and the graphics. Well done :) Now I'll check out your post jam game. Maybe that shows the intention better.

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43am

Ok wow nice, now I get it and it's super fun. Brilliant work and thanks for finishing it up after the jam :D

Digiraze says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Love it!

frameland says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Best interpretation of the theme I have seen so far!
Also lovely graphics and smooth gameplay.

You should post that on monkey-x apps section, it's noteworthy :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:40am

NICE! i liked it a lot! :D

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Audio would have helped for sure, like sound fx when you collect a key or the box landing on the lower characters level.

The resolution is a bit too small for my screen (1680*1050). The arrow spinning above the head may be unnecessary. Could use a sky or background & parallax.

The gameplay has a lot of potential but as you said the jam version didn't quite deliver.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

great Idea cute graphics. I'd like to see this developed more

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:54am

Great job! Perfect idea! - Flurkin

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:55am

Lovely art style, and one of the better interpretations of split-screen two worlds I've seen. Nicely done :)

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:14am

Great entry, really cool idea and use the theme. I spend lots of time playing in this game very addictive.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

nice game and cute graphics :)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

Nice idea, and implementation. Unfortunate that things got in the way of finishing it off.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:13am

Great idea, and adorable graphics!

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

Loved the concept here, very original and in perfect sync with the theme. Could have used a bit of sound, but otherwise the aesthetic is great and the gameplay as well.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:31am

It's a shame you couldn't get the levels ready in time for the deadline, but releasing the post-compo version so soon was a GREAT idea, because this game rocks! It's a really unique & especially mind-bending concept that really makes you think twice about your actions. I hope you plan on making this game even bigger and better in the near future, because there is still so much room for more!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Sweet graphics and wonderful idea. Great job!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:11am

+theme +graphics +potential

Real shame you couldn't finish more. Loved the style and feel. The crates and the way keys end up in the world below was a great idea; I've seen a lot of games in LD30 where things that die in one parallel level miraculously appear in the other, but this is the first time such a simple and effective dropping is used.

In the post-comp version, I couldn't get past the second level; no amount of jumping could reach the key, which was in the same place on both levels. And there were none of those crates to stand on or anything :(

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

Will Edwards, thanks for your comments (and playing the game!) there's a walk-through video made by the artist (ilovepixel) where you can see the solution to the levels if you are stuck! Once you discover how the connect/unconnect mechanics work you'll definitely have no problem even with the hardest levels!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:33am

Neat idea guys, hope you keep working on it.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:53am

What a nice and neat game. Love its cuteness! Congrats!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

Aw, too bad you couldn't finish! I just tried the jam version. Eager to try the post-jam version... there are some very cool mechanics in here. Here we go!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

very strong platforming game! Nice cute atmosphere and the art style was very accessible!
Overall Audio is a must though!!!

Great work

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Wow! I love the "disconnected" mechanics! Nice twist on pretty generic gameplay. Good job!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Once you get the hang of it, it really becomes easy.

Lovely graphics, great controls, just really missing some music and sound effects.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

That was great! What a cool idea and some imaginative puzzles. It looks lovely too.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:11am

Pretty idea and art.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:59pm

This is really neat. It's such a shame you couldn't get the levels done in time. I tried both versions and it makes a HUUUUGE difference haha. The one without the new levels is so tedious to play I have no idea what to do. And the one WITH the good level design is really fun to play and keeps me wanting to explore more :) I also miss music a lot :( That's something that can really add a lot to these kind of little puzzle games.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Very good entry (in improved version, that is), with some pretty great puzzles, but it desperately needs audio! >.<
With that changed, though, it would easily be one of my personal favourites; the rest is quite polished, and while levels difficulty varies, it's entertaining nonetheless. ^^"

Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:14am

No music, not even for post-compo ver.? Aww :< I like this idea, especially the choice to stay connected or not. It's pretty clever! Thank you for the game.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:38am

@Victory Garden: We uploaded the post-jam version a few hours after the jam ended (once I was back home and able to finish the levels I was working on. I also added the intro screen and the levels ilovepixel made). We didn't really want to touch the post-jam version after that! (so it's more of a "what the game should have been" than anything). We will definitely add music, more levels, a better tutorial, and more! (in a future).
Thanks for playing!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Hi there. Interesting idea to have safety in one world convey it to both... most games like this have the opposite approach (extra dangers in both). Shame no sound. Good job!

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:31pm

After playing the jam version, I tried the post-compo one and the idea is very well executed. But I have to say I liked the hint box about setting hint boxes in the first version XD

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nice mechanics and cute graphics. Audio would be a next good addition. Good job!

renatopp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:53pm

It's not a innovative idea (except by the disconnection), most game in this LD made something similar. However, this game was the best execution of the idea so far. Too bad you guys couldn't finish it in time, but thanks for the post comp version. Great job.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Cute and really well executed platformer. Good job!

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:01am

Nice gameplay and neat graphics! Very good entry! Well done!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great art style and cool concept. The post-compo version
really improves on the entry, good job! I had fun with the
main mechanic, this can lead to some tricky puzzles.

lkr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Very fun concept! Love the visuals and platforming feel.

Playing the post-jam version was really great, and I'd love to see more done with the game :)
The disconnect mechanic and how it needed to be used to solve the levels felt very fresh, and really had me thinking a couple of times!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:45am

i really really love how this works. some really nice surprises in there that had me trying it over again and again. great potential to really expand this game and idea into something really deep. congrats on a great LD entry!

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:13am

The idea had a lot of potential, but I'm only reviewing the actual jam submitted version. I liked the way the worlds were connected through dropping items from one side to the other and how the collision affected both characters. Sorry you didn't get to finish.

Wertle says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:14am

Sorry to hear that you weren't able to finish in time for the jam. Dem life emergencies! I could sort of see where you guys were going with it, though, and I think the idea has potential. The part with being able to disconnect each side seems like you could do some fun puzzles there that you don't see in other games where you have two connected characters like this. One minor note, consider adding a grace period to your jump by enabling jumping a few frames into the fall state so it makes it nicer to jump off a ledge and not just fall. I will try and check out the post jam version if I have time. Nice job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:46am

Wow what a neat concept. High marks for innovation. nice game.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:13pm

The normal web link doesn't even seem to be working. This is the first time I rate something based on a post-compo/jam version of said game, but here goes.

I liked how you took a well explored mechanic of controlling two characters at the same time, and added the disconnect mechanic in addition of "combined collections" (meaning that if there was a collision in one of the worlds, both of the worlds acted like there was a collision there).

In the level towards the end with one central pylon for the red character I suicided two times in row after getting the keys by walking the red character off the pylon, which just goes to show how hard some of the mechanics were to grasp :P. Even though you had many hints on who I was controlling my mind just refused to believe that and did whatever it wanted.

Some music would have been cool.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:29am

@Moosefly: You are right! We will fix that ASAP! I"m sadly not the owner of the server where it was hosted but I'll let the dude know our link is down. Thanks for letting us know and thanks for playing the game!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:53pm

@ConflictiveLabs
Tried the original version and it was indeed pretty barebones compared to the post-jam version. The basic gameplay is still there, but obviously it doesn't get used to its full potential in that one map. I think I'll let you off this once and stand by my original scoring though ;).

And in my last message I obviously meant "combined collisions". My brain must've still been tired from your devious puzzles :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Thanks!
We are working on a future post-ludumdare release. We really loved how the game turned out :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]