Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spaced Out

by darkshadow - Jam Entry

Requires XNA for windows and Mono for OS/X and Mac


-Explosive space combat
-Newtonian Physics
-Pretty Space
-Dynamic Music Composition


Race your ship from planet to planet, and defend yourself from the other ships who are trying to destroy you. Mac and Linux ports have not been tested


wsad - move and turn
aim with the mouse
left mouse - fire
scroll wheel - zoom
Enter - Restart


Darkshadow - Coder

Imaginary Llamas - Artist and Ship Modelling

Ben Green (
- Music Composer and SFX Designer

Nutta - Planet Naming

Wishsprite - Story

Made using CraftStudio
Special Thanks to Elisee

Downloads and Links




WeaselZone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Solid controls but did get very repetitive very fast. Would have loved to see more action, powerups or something to mix it up.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Thanks WeaselZone, I'm considering a post-compo version so advice is very welcome :)

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09am

I thought it was a pretty good game. But as Weasel said it could have seen some more action. But overall I really enjoyed it.

-Path of Ai

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:12pm

This game needs a little polish, but I see the potential for this to be an excellent game! Thanks for sharing, and good luck to you!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A decent game. I like the controls. Also the planets look great. You could put some limit on the zoom, as I could see almost everything happening around me by zooming out really far. Some more action, like powerups, fuel, other dangers (stars, black holes, asteroids) would be cool :) good job in overall.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Nothing happend when I double click the exe :(

Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:33am

The file doesn't seem to run. :(

darkshadow says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Sorry to hear that guys. What OS versions were they? Also do you have the required XNA / mono software?

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Got quite a bit of slowdown on my 2013 macpro retina. But I really enjoyed what there was here, could easily see this grow into a larger game I'd like to play. Music sounded like it might have been clipping a bit too

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]