Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

REUNION

by skiddings - Jam Entry



Created by Sam Giddings and Erwan Stievenard
With thanks to John Roberts
For Ludum Dare 30
Sam 'Skiddings' Giddings & Erwan Stievenard

Story:
The Event has split the world into two dimensions.
Half the world's population in each.
The Event has separated lovers, family and friends
This is a story of two people who seek a way to be together again

Goal:
Work with yourself (or a friend!) to navigate the maze and puzzles

Collect bonus gems! 3 for each player

Three control styles are available:
Keyboard, Controller, 2 Controllers (buggy)

Press 'Space bar' to cycle between styles
Controllers should be automaticly detected (buggy on web)

Go Back To Main Menu / Exit Game
ESCAPE

Move left person:
Keyboard: WASD
Single Controller: Left Analog Stick
2 Controllers: Left Analog Stick on first controller

Move Right person:
Keyboard: Arrow keys
Single Controller: Right Analog Stick
2 Controllers: Left Analog Stick on first controller

View Connections:
START (on controller)
X on keyboard

Hint:
Some objects are still connected to both worlds.
Use the 'View Connections' button to see the links.



NOTES:

Completely lacking in sound :(
Have some ready to go, just not put in yet.
Will do a post jam build.

Made with Unity.

All programming and additional art by Sam Giddings (Skiddings)
'Lead' Artist Erwan Stievenard
Additional Sound effects (unused) by John Roberts

Some Unity standard assets and samples used.

Tools used:
Unity
Aseprite
Pickle
Gimp

Erwan created a load of art assets that I wasn't able to include in the end. I hope I can use them in a post jam build.

Mac and Linux versions untested!

Fixed a bug with triggering loading the ending during the submission hour. I don't know if that counts as breaking the rules...

Fixed the game breaking physics bug (due to my older version of unity).

No source with this, sorry guys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#61Theme(Jam)3.87
#280Overall(Jam)3.37
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#390Mood(Jam)3.07
#413Graphics(Jam)3.31
#498Humor(Jam)2.11
#633Audio(Jam)1.79

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Hi there. I played it and it seems that the pushing physics bugs out on me consistently. This happens when you push two statues.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58am

Cool concept and unique feel. I also really appreciate the effort to set everything up so well for the player (we could have taken a page from your book with our game). Different control options was also a nice touch!

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Hi all,
I've fixed the issue with the physics.
Turns out the sliderjoint2d was buggy in older versions of unity and I was accidently exploiting that bug.
I've now fixed it to use the 'proper' way.
Please let me know if you have any other issues running the game!
- Sam

chas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Parallel universe Sokobon with an emotional context...nice concept!

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Hiya, I loved the theme's usage here and the graphics (though one of the characters could do with a walking animation :P). Sound would have added a lot to the atmosphere, but even as it stands it's a very cool little puzzle game. Kudos!

CogComp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great game! Very balanced well balanced puzzles!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice idea and well made mechanics.. Good job.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Already seen the game with exact same gameplay, but your implementation is way too better :)

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01pm

43iscoding: Oh, who is our rival? :)

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Cool mechanic, fits the theme perfectly!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Really nice implementation. Puzzles that you need to think about

cudabear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

A nice puzzle game! Very well designed mechanic and awesome level design! The game made me think to solve the puzzles without being overly annoying. Some audio would have been nice. Well done!

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice game, it could use some sounds! :) I love it tho :)

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice puzzles, good atmosphere and pleasant artwork... looking forward to seeing more of it with the post-jam build!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I'm terrible at puzzle games, but this one is really well done. Nice touch having the various control options and recognizing my gamepad right away :)

mipi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Great puzzle game to me. Unfortunately I got into situation where I couldn't continue any way forward and at that point it would be nice to have some small undo command there. It was pretty long way from the start of the game.

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Nicely executed and definitely a theme match

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Very nice. I played this by myself, so it's quite hard to control two characters at the same time.

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:02am

Neat! It was really mind-bendy at times, but then again, I tried to move both characters at the same time. Would like to have had a friend around at the time and try it coop. Good job!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Great use of the theme. Graphics could use some work, I missed a walking animation for the characters. The Linux version works, but it doesn't detect controls automatically.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Hi there. Like the two-person blocked maze puzzle design. Like the graphics. Shame no sound. Good job!

01101101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:07am

Great idea!

cstudios says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:04pm

This game is one of the best games i played so far. it needs some polishing + a soundtrack and its a finished product. Like the usage of colors and the level design. I rated it high... realy high :) Nice job!

dusho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:52am

nice puzzle game.. like the art as well
it's missing some nice moody music

Nut says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:42pm

This was nice! Good puzzles, good controls. Just needs some music.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Loved the art and concept. It felt rewarding when working as a team. Great entry!

nonetheless says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Very nice concept and actually a fun puzzle game to play. Great job :)

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:08am

The game was interesting and the puzzles simple but enjoyable. I wonder however about the use of the doll and of the crystals. The game would have been much greater with music too, to set the mood.
Also, it was difficult to control the left character because I have an azerty keyboard.

Good game.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:07am

Pretty nice game! Good graphics and a very interesting gameplay.
Although you didn't put sound and perhaps other stuff, it's a great work.
If you make a post-compo version, I would like to play it :D

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:16am

Cool puzzle game. I like the artwork and the contrast between the snow and the greenery is nice. The snowflakes are a nice detail too. Also interesting that the character's hair and clothes are color themed to their side of the world. :D

Digiraze says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:59am

Great puzzle game. I enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]