Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TAUPE

by Shmarah - Jam Entry

TAUPE (pronounced as tohp) A text adventure through the paranormal and a color in between brown and grey.



This should work in any web browser, including mobile devices, but for best results I suggest Google Chrome on a computer.

STUCK? Make sure you are scrolling all the way down! You can always use the "back" button in your browser to rewind, too.

Really, REALLY STUCK? Here is a walkthrough: http://goo.gl/KkJgDv

[[UPDATED 8/25 11:39PM with v1.1 which corrects a few game-breaking typos.]]]

I've never worked with Twine before and I rushed a lot near the end of the jam, so if there is a game breaking glitch, tell me and I'll have it fixed ASAP!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#78Humor(Jam)3.48
#96Mood(Jam)3.76
#287Overall(Jam)3.36
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#378Theme(Jam)3.17
#417Fun(Jam)2.97
#470Audio(Jam)2.82
#569Graphics(Jam)2.91

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

Really great looking text adventure! Now I'm craving a glass of taupe-colored OJ...

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

Excellent game. You captured a very eerie and mysterious mood. I love the subject matter you covered and in such a quirky way. Awesome game!

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53am

Haha, love the topic :)

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

Nice mood!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

Very interesting concept! Loved the quirky humor, too. Good job!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57am

Text adventures rarely have good visuals, but this one does! I will play this again when I have more time.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06am

Now I know what color taupe is and I will never forget.

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

This is really, really enjoyable and innovative. Taupe will never be the same. And considering this is your first Twine... well... it's very impressive. Looks sleek and gorgeous, and the mood is fabulous, especially with the music on to.

But... <<mild spoilers forthcoming>>After drinking the orange juice I can't seem to get much further. There's the bedroom and the small patch of wall that I'm guessing are the next bit, but there seems to be no way to progress, so I'm left wandering aimlessly. Maybe I'm just being stupid -- in fact that's probably likely. I'll definitely be replaying it though, so maybe I'll work it at a later date.

Anyway, well done!

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01pm

cool text adventure

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Played this right through to the end, found myself completely absorbed. Nice!

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I like the graphics :) But the background not being in the center really bugged me XD

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I'm not really a fan of text adventures anymore. This was a fun refresher. The music is great. I'm glad you moved away from the 12pt font. Well done!

Not interested in taupe colored orange juice.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Mysterious premise and a very strange atmosphere throughout but I did get quite lost after awhile and I would of preferred more of a fallow shade of brown, but that's nit picking. Awesome entry, well done. :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:13pm

This was interesting! I like the story and I quite like the design of the text. Most twine games I see look a certain way, and by seing this I couldn't even recognize it was a twine game. Good job :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Ha, this is brilliant :D made me laught quite a bit :)

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Wow, this is fantastic! I really enjoyed the use of color and other not-text things in Twine. The story pulled me in pretty easily and quickly too. Awesome work!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Incredible! I am not into text adventures very much, but your story really grabbed my attention. I loved the drops of humor and the ending. Good job!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

That's some great Twine-wrangling you have going! It was great finding out about the characters bit by bit (Although I'm not sure if the girl is meant to be Ennis or Ellis).

Music was both moody and cute - which works well in many ways!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

Really nice looking Twine.
Always fun when I see a Twine besides the standard look.

Good writing.

Bit problem with the scrolling.
But not a big deal.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Really enjoyed playing this. Had me hooked till the end. The graphics really set the mood :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Hi there. Like the TAUPE design and UI. Shame there isn't more to do after apple and the strange wallpaper, or if there is I didn't look as the TAUPE had invaded my enthusiasm by that TAUPE time. Good job if it is art, maybe needs more to do if it is a game.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Played the whole thing, took me 548 turns. Played for a while but I loved it! Awesome story and awesome job.

idovingx says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Hey, I saw your post about not being able to get through the game. Maybe this will help:

Look to your right and find what looks like a red glowing cloud of energy. Walk into the "energy cloud" to begin the game.

It's good to know people had a problem with that. Thanks for commenting.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I’m rather fond of textual adventures (making interactive fictions myself) but I found the navigation a bit frustrating : sometimes you get stuck not knowing what you have to do (or the scrolling don't always works very well). I feel it wouldn’t be as troublesome with some ambient music. The ones you offered didn’t match the mood for me, I would have liked better spooky/creepy tracks. Otherwise, it was quite the unique story.

Ever though of making this a visual novel with some assets ^^ ?

Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:50pm

good writing and story, liked the mysterious mood.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:50pm

oh, and the music fits perfectly!

Sascha says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very interesting concept and fun scenes in the story. Had a hard time maneouvering the rooms though, as looking around and moving felt clunky and the game kept hiding what I was really trying to do.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Very inventive game. I really got hooked in. I love the change between worlds. Came as quite a visual shock after so much taupe.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:35am

Nice game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]