Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

And Again!

by Dayko - Jam Entry

"My world turns in loops, each day tightly connected to the one before, and the one after.
And it rolls again,
And Again."

------
Mouse + WASD = Controls
Space = Action
Left mouse = Light torch (against ghosts & fog)
------

-> Repair the lighthouses (6 in total)
-> Improve your ship
-> ...and defend yourself against darkness forces!


All Code/Gfx/Music made by myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#83Mood(Jam)3.80
#104Overall(Jam)3.68
#139Graphics(Jam)4.03
#189Humor(Jam)2.96
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#298Audio(Jam)3.25
#368Fun(Jam)3.06
#578Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39pm

A very good game, I really like the art style and how smooth the game feels. It also feels very complete, well done.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I liked the game a lot so far, mood and mechanics are great, but I didn't manage to find the fishing rod, could you give me a clue? the game does really seem amazing

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:20am

Hi there. Excellent idea well executed. Loved the sailor walking animation among other things. Got 2 lighthouses alight then ran into ghosts, had torch but went flat or something... got 3rd bulb, but... Bookmarked for another look later - brilliant job!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Cool graphics.
I only wish the boat was faster.

Dayko says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback ! Sorry for the late answer.
@ Lokarunith : to find the fishing rod, you need to go from the first lighthouse (the red and white one) to the south direction (red arrow on the 'S'). To the finishers, be careful: going back to the first lighthouse with it will end the game, don't go there if you want every reward first.
@ Ramiel : true, after replaying it I find it also too slow, but one amelioration give a speed booster to the boat ;)

Glaydur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Amazing! not only in terms of aesthetics but also with the game overall!

Tesrym says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:57pm

A game with a ship! What a coincidence :D
Good job on everything!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Well I'll be damned, this is probably one of the best atmospherically and aesthetically designed games I've seen thus far.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice adventure game! Very unique graphics and cool gameplay. Well done!

Tonasz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:03pm

I totally loved art direction and general idea but it's a bit confusing. I got lost at the very beginning, came back for description ("oh, I must find other lighthouses, cool!"), came back to game, got confused about ghost and light and again lost about probably third lantern. I like how you polished the moment of changing bulb - work of camera, sound of climbing stairs, animation of clumsy walking.

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:41am

The art has a good style. Wish I'm better at art.

Raphy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:54am

Looks nice and is fun to play, good job :)

hectormorlet says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:00am

Nice game. Not buggy and although is a bit hard to navigate, was overall pretty fun. The mood was set well by the sound and the cool simplistic graphics.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:15am

Hi again, thanks for the tip, I didn't understand that the fog were those giant solids, so that's why I got stuck xp
But after realizing that I managed to fix every lighthouse. A great game!

arhpositive says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice game, great graphics and atmosphere. The game has put me in a peaceful mood. :)

foolmoron says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Glitchy gameplay, but the graphics and animation and colors were super cool and unique. Very stylish.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Great game ! I saw the 'and' :) More addictive than i first thought. Perhaps you should give more speed to the boat. It's a little too long. I really enjoy all the objects you win. That keeps me playing until the end. And they are excellent concepts. Bravo !

CoderDozer says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:36am

That was really fun to play, great work, well done.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Beautiful game. Art style is great. Found 2 lightbulbs, and lantern, and fought a ghost. I didn't like the barrier system, that kept me going in circles for some time. There was an obstacle that I could climb with the ship, lol.

Patacorow says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Awesome game! I didn't really understand how it's related to the theme but still loved it nonetheless - especially the 'And'. :)

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I liked the art and the game, nice job!

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Great graphics and sound ! Congrats. I'm less fan of the "invisible" walls. Hard to estimate the distance.
But this game is charming

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]