Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tronnected

by kidanger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The cities of the world are in danger! Help them by shifting resources from a city to another!

Tronnected is a puzzle game.
You have to link cities to make sure each one has the resources it needs.
There is 3 types of resources: Food, Technology and Money.

Controls:
- mouse click to select a city then click on a link (thin line) to build it
- mouse wheel to change the link type

- 'm' to mute
- 'b' to go to the previous level
- ('n' to go to the next level, but don't use it!)

Needs a recent browser, WebGL and WebAudio are used. Chrome and Firefox recommended.
The game engine is Drystal (drystal.github.io), made by me for Lumdare Dare.
Musics have been generated by autotracker.py.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#239Theme3.68
#259Innovation3.55
#282Audio3.19
#297Overall3.47
#374Humor2.64
#443Fun3.17
#534Mood3.00
#615Graphics3.00

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

Cool idea :)

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

the mouse wheel part was not explained in the tutorial, but i figured it out after i came back here and read these instructions.

but when i clicked on boston and then philadelphia, there was a connection with ney work (or waa there? gray thin lines)

kidanger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34am

hephaestus_rg: the thin lines represent the links you can add. Hover the line and click to add it. Make sure to use the correct link type. Have fun!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29pm

The game definitely needs to explain that you build links by clicking the lines, I didn't figure that out until I came back here to read the comments. Otherwise it's a cool little game, good work!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I liked and finished it!
If I'd make one adjustment it would be to make the lines thicker so they would be easier to click.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I rescued the cities \o/ and had fun \o/ and blinked, and orcs, and such.. -- nice game :) (made a similar path finding game thing for ld#29)

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Cool game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33pm

This was really great, awesome puzzle game! Kind of wish there were more levels, though. Good job!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15am

Not bad. Took me a while to figure out that you had to click on the links to make them though.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Once I figured out what was going on, fun puzzle!

Loren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:05pm

very very cool idea, I really enjoyed it! Love setting up trade routes and such :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

it would be nice if the game give you a hit that you need to click at a link.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Hi there. Interesting game. The thin lines are a bit awkward to click, the set link type mechanism is tricky - it might just be me. Great to see a tutorial. Good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Simple but interesting game, could use more dynamics and levels to expand onto that concept. Would be great to see an actual map with 20 cities or so to connect :)

ajopart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Interesting. Clear, simple and effective concept. Amazing with a 48h deadline ! Well done

Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Nice entry, at first a little bit difficult to understand, and I don't know if there is a way to change link types, but it would be nice to be able to.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]