Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Her Garden

by Gaeel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Her Garden is an exploration/gardening game.

When you start the game for the first time, a garden will be made for you. This garden is yours to enjoy. You can relax, meditate and watch time go by.
You can also tend to your garden, or visit the gardens of other daughters, to bring back rare and beautiful seeds...

Due to poor network code and poorer foresight, level loading can take some time, it's perfectly normal for up to 20 seconds to go by on a slow connection...

Use the arrow keys, WASD or ZQSD to move and the space key to gather/place...


Post-compo changes (Dowloads tagged "Post-compo" only):
- Fixed "highp" shader bug, fixes compatibility with some GPUs and MacOSX
- Fixed "invisible" plants, tweaked plant rendering for more beauty...

Planned features/changes/future edition:
- Name your home garden
- Leave messages
- Remove Away world editing
- Auto-plant seeds (simulate natural growth)
- Uproot plants
- Multiple portals, portals single connect.
- Make-your-own portal
(Most of these will probably be a different game somewhere down the line)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#13Mood4.23
#26Audio3.97
#31Graphics4.31
#226Overall3.56
#289Theme3.62
#337Innovation3.44
#545Fun3.06
#694Humor2.13

Comments

ponk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47am

Great and brillant work !!
AawWWwwWrrrRhhh... !! Those pixels... BEAUTY!

Niavlys says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10am

Awwww, would love to try this, but:
Error: Cannot compile pixel shader code:
0:11(1): error: illegal use of reserved word `highp'
0:11(1): error: syntax error, unexpected ERROR_TOK, expecting $end

stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'newShader'
main.lua:78: in function 'load'
[string "boot.lua"]:407: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:399>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Niavlys says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38am

Hmm, I simply deleted "highp" in line 11 of shaders/lighten.fs, and it seems to be working now... I'm able to see, hear and interact with my garden and others' too.
Brilliant work on graphics, Proteus-like audio and network code! There's no goal in your game, but nothing new here ;)

Niavlys says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

I was about to say that maybe the white noise was a bit too loud sometimes but then I realized it was simplynoise.com still running

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Visually is great! Lights effects looking amazing!

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Relaxing!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05pm

This game is so pretty! :O

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Wow. So this is what löve looks like...

Gaeel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Hey guys! Thanks for the praise, it means a lot! I had a lot of fun making it, and started to wonder how much was just programmer-porn n.n

Niavlys: Thanks for pointing out that bug, you can try the Post-Compo for a fixed version. This time there's not explicit goal, but a few implicit ones:
- Increase the diversity of one's garden,
- Be friendly and help decorate other gardens

Boberro: Love2D is great for doing 2D image blitting, has a few blending modes (for Photoshop style layering) and proper shader support, so with a little know-how and a bit of tweaking, it can look however you like ;)
If you look through my LD entries, they're all Love2D except for Crobal&Friends and OMFG Aliens!

Morusque says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:17pm

These dithered gradients are gorgeous.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

This is...whoah. Can't find the words. I want to play for hours but I'm so tired. I need to play it again tomorrow. One of my favorite so far!

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

This is beautiful, amazing graphics and mood. Would like to see more things to do in it. Good job!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:21pm

A really relaxing, zen-like experience. I could see myself spending a long time gathering and arranging things into the perfect garden. I'm glad to see that you plan to be able to uproot plants in the future, as that's really the only thing I can see missing at the moment. Good work! :)

grayhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I forgot to mention that I *love* the ambient soundtrack and audio cues. They really add to the atmosphere of the game.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:04pm

My 5 stars for the mood and graphics, which are absolutely amazing :) Well done !

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Certainly a unique art style! Not sure what I was supposed to do, but still really neat looking.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice art looks amazing

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Lovely art style, very chill and relaxed mood. Great work!

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

It throws me an error :(

http://www.dropbox.com/s/o0r5vg23007qndz/20140830150341.PNG

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Intriguing and beautiful game, relaxing even. Graphics and ambient sounds build a unique atmosphere.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Hm, had some visual issues with little black boxes around every sprite... Still, pretty game if I imagine they're not there and a neat idea! 5/5 for theme and innovation, and graphics because I feel like I'm so close to seeing something really pretty!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:31pm

This is aweseome! It's different, moody and beautiful. Very cool experience! Yes, do expand the concept and think mobile. Keep it simple, though. Amazing entry.

elemel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Beautiful.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Pretty cool, loved the art.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:52am

Awesome idea! Great job!

crazyrems says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:00am

That garden ! It's nice to put rocks around and plant the best flowers. It would be nice if there's a post-postcompo with plant uproot :)

thing says ...
Jan 3, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Where do I go to download on Mac?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]