Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Technical Nightmare

by se1by - Jam Entry

Carl is not techsavy. He lived for 70 years without all these ApplePhones, why should he need them now?
Thinking about that, he falls asleep and sees everything he feared so long...


We didn't have the time to add everything we wanted, so stay tuned for the post compo/jam!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#227Humor(Jam)2.81
#526Audio(Jam)2.60
#662Graphics(Jam)2.58
#684Theme(Jam)2.20
#688Mood(Jam)2.20
#717Innovation(Jam)2.15
#724Fun(Jam)2.19
#766Overall(Jam)2.30

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:50am

Neither the jar nor the web version run on my mac. Tried Safari and Chrome.

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I also didn't get the game to run from the jar or the web. On Windows/Chrome.

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

jar and web version fixed. web version is buggy as hell for chrome, so please try it with firefox or safari (opera not tested yet).

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Great job on the animations. They felt really smooth. I especially liked the death animation. I did run into some bugs though (tried the jar version). If I jumped into a block and hit the guys head I wasn't able to jump anymore until I killed myself.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Good job! I played the web version on Firefox - seemed to work OK. The character graphics were very nice and I liked the music. My biggest complaint is that input is unresponsive - the player keeps walking for a bit when I quit holding forward and does not jump immediately. But, overall, I had fun.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

Haha! It's the android mascot! Cute animations. Good game :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

Buggy Grampas these days. - Flurkin

ripter says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

For a game about jumping in time, the jump animation is a bit misleading that it takes so long with the windup to see whats happening...but impressive effort to consider such details in the first place!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Good entry. I'm not sure the jump needs such a long windup though.

muriel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:14am

Interesting concept and good music and graphics :)

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:59pm

You should work at the collision detection ;) sometimes it does strange stuff but nice game!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:44am

I really liked the delay on the jump and slowdown. Was awkward but in a way that seemed pretty consistent with controlling an old fella. Bit buggy in places, the looped audio could have been longer - dead fun though overall.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Gameplay is ok but the art could be better

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]