Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get Set

by ryguydavis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use arrow keys to move. Our heroine has just escaped from a research facility and is being chased by robotic guards. Avoid being caught by the industrial sentries and escape into the sky.

Inspired by Studio Ghibli's "On Your Mark" and That Game Company's "Journey."

THEME EXPLANATION: The theme is in the story, not the mechanics. The entire game is the connection between two worlds. You never actually see either world. It's vague, I know :)

Ryan Davis
Creative Ink Games
www.creativeinkgames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Graphics4.08
#299Fun3.36
#315Mood3.28
#316Humor2.76
#425Overall3.33
#479Innovation3.26
#1014Theme2.44
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

Cool game. I like the action stealth feel it gave off. I don't really see how it fits the theme. Also there was a part in the dark clouds where i flew off screen? I somehow got to the end of the screen but i guess that was a bug? Good idea overall thou, great job

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Hey, thanks for playing! The use of competition theme is in the story and setting. The game takes place in the space between two words (industrial and natural). In other words, the worlds are "connected" by your escape route. I would have liked to make this more obvious but time constraints forced me to cut a beginning scene which would have made it more apparent.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Love it! Not sure about the relevance to the theme, but the controls were good. Art was nice and the levels seemed to scale nicely. Good job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Really cute game! Wish more of the gameplay had taken place outside in the sunny sky and white clouds, because that area of the game was stunning. I really like the fluffy clouds and stealth feel.

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Wow nice work, the dark clouds could be blocky or have lightning to show the player they are blocking. Doorway needs to have bright light not dark.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10pm

The feel of moving through clouds is pretty cool :) Nice visuals.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39pm

aww, this is cute :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:08am

I jumped into the game without reading your description and right away I was reminded of Journey. I think it was the first level that had all grey clouds and you flew sideways was a bit annoying as I kept getting wrecked by the machines. It felt like I couldn't outrun them but I eventually got passed. I really enjoyed the relaxing parts of flying through the clouds and the look and feel of it. Nice job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice art and mechanics. Stealth in the sky! But, is it just me or it has no sound? :( It needs audio badly! Then it'd be fantastic :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice artwork! I also like stealth gameplay.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Really neat, nice art, and controls worked really well too. I dig it!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Doesn't want to work for me in Safari dunno if thats a problem anyone else has had. The menu looked ace though! :)

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Cool game, although it got difficult quickly. I would have liked to have some audio, even just some sound effects. Overall, nice job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Cute game, well done. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:19am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:41am

Great work on creating a moody atmosphere with the art and the little polishy effects went a long way. I liked how this was sort of a an ambient exploratory game but still had moments that involved dexterity like evading the stabby things with a quick turn or dive. I don't know if it was a bug but the camera got really crazy in one of the later levels. Some nice ambient moody music and sound effects would take this a really long way if you intend to keep working on it. Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:27am

Awesome game. Graphic is so cool. I like clouds. Very innovative and cool. Controls are solid. Great game

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Really fun game, hiding in clouds is quite nice. Execution is very good.

Thank you for your advice on the lessons for players, I totally agree and will implement this approach when developing further :)

Atlantis Ho says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:34pm

It's a funny game. I am enjoyed the feeling that hide behind the cloud.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Love the game's art and gameplay! But the lack of a relaxing ambient music and sfx breaks the overall feeling of the game. Keep that in mind if you're going to make a post-LD version! Nice work!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Very awesome looking game. plays good too. I liked that you can hide in the clouds :) great stuff!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Short but cool anyway. It has its own cute artistic style and I like it. Extra points for Ghibli reference :D

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Haunting experience, in the best possible way! There was a sombreness and a nobility about the little dude/dudette's flight - the enemies were genuinely unsettling. Really enjoyed this challenging game

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:42am

Nice game. Really like the controls. Not sure on theme but everything else was solid.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:25pm

beautiful game, feels very clean and smooth, nicely done

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Hi there. Loved the dive-through-cloud effect. Was going okay until hell in sky level, nasty skewering! Shame no sound Good job!

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:09pm

The sky-darkness level got me - I couldn't figure out how to get past the seekers and kept getting stabbed. If you polished this and cleaned up the art, this could be start to something really awesome.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:34pm

The camera in the first properly-dark level (the one following the dark level in one of your screenshots) was the worst I've ever ran into in any video game. It just kept jumping from place to place randomly, without even caring about the player character. The later levels were also frustratingly hard. Audio would have been cool, but for a compo entry the lack of audio is understandable.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]