Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Proxy Plex

by rasmusrn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Proxy Plex is a simple realtime game about transporting passengers between planets in the most efficient order.

With the game, I wanted to see how much gameplay value, strategic depth, and aesthetics I could possible squeeze out of primitive visual building blocks: basic 2D shapes with solid color.

Unfortunately, I did not have enough time for bug-fixing, balancing, and level design, but I hope you'll enjoy the game anyway :-)

I'm rather happy with the end result. And I think it could become much better if given more time and dev-love.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Overall3.63
#176Innovation3.70
#207Fun3.50
#293Graphics3.52
#301Theme3.59
#611Humor2.24
#667Mood2.86
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22am

I tried dragging, but It doesnt do anything, so cant rate. Sorry :(

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Once you figure out the mechanic, the dynamic of taking different types of passengers from one planet, and making multiple stops (like a bus) is actually quite fun!
Would be better if the aesthetic matched the gameplay a bit better though, and for anyone else, to drag the ship, drag the triangle itself, not the circle (planet) that it is sitting on.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Cool game. Very simple and elegant. classic idea that worked well. A bit slow at times, but when you added more ships it did get a bit frantic and you had to think on your feet.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05am

Sorry, I tried playing, but the click and dragging seemed to be offset (I could drag the circles, but I had to click somewhere else to do it)...

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

This is awesome! I enjoy optimizing trips with more than one stop, has a nice flow to it!

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Thanks for fixing the bug! Aesthetically, it is very nice, and challenging enough to be interesting... Music would have been nice, but it's still a very fun game (Just one question, there's only five levels right? (It still says get ready for the next level...)).

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47am

Nice game I like the simplicity of the mechanics and the complexity of actual playing.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

A simple idea well executed. Good job.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52am

At first I was a bit underwelmed by the artwork but I very quickly became appreciative of it. Perhaps if the splash animated so it was clear there was more life in it?

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

Really nice, I like the idea.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

This reminds me a bit of those airport rush games (which I rather like). I finished level 5 and then it just sits there (I guess that is the last one?). It was overall really fun, and it worked well for me. No bugs, apparently.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Really nice concept and great design for the idea. Really nice job

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Uhms.. I finished the levels! ;)

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Bugs out on level 3 for me. But I think the game is great!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Very interesting concept! Loved the game!

However, my ship get stuck between planets on lvl 3 :(

SK16Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

Very nice game you have made here :) But I get stuck in level 3 or 4 I think it's a bug. Saw your game from the "LD i Aarhus" thing, so yea thumbs up from a fellow dane ;D

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Enjoyed this one quite a lot (although level 5 didn't load for me u.u)

Could do with a little sound and easier controls, but the base mechanics are interesting, some nice tradeoffs and tactics that need learning

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:27pm

very interesting, well done

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:00pm

very original game! i got very involved for such a simple design. sound would have been cool to and after level 5 it freezed.

thanks for the nice game!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Hi there. Looks really nice and had fun first 3 levels, but then it crashed with ship mid transition. Shame no sound. Good job so far!

tanjent says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Really solid idea, good work. I think it would be better UX to only have to click on the passengers instead of dragging them into the triangle/ship.

geometrix says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nice and clean presentation. I enjoyed it, but it's a little buggy.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:23pm

I beat lvl 5!~<3

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]