Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Gunner

by Kyoutashan - Jam Entry

*****************************

*** Controls: ***
- Right click to move
- Left click to shoot
- Left click on a planet to teleport
(Controls are inspired from RTS, right-click=move, left-click=action)

*** Objectives: ***
The game takes place in multiple dimensions. Each dimension is represented by a planet and is connected to another through Monster Portals (the big one with a gigantic mouth). Creatures use these portals to travel through worlds.

Your goal as a dimension traveler is to close those portals by killing them.

I couldn't balance the game very well so the initial goal of saving the whole universe can be really hard to achieve.
A sub goal would be to kill the highest number of monsters before the end of the universe.


**** Some Rules ****
** Player **
- The player can travel to any dimension (just click on the planet)
- Your guns have a maximum range

** Monster Portals **
- Each world has a Monster Portal. Its life is represented by the red bar.
- You can't attack a Monster Portal if there is a creature nearby
- If a portal is destroyed, the world will be considered as "Safe"

** Worlds **
- Each world has a health value, represented by the green bar
- The depletion speed depends on the number of creature in this world (the more creature, the faster the world is destroyed)
- If there is no creature, the world will regenerate
- If the health value reached 0, the world is considered "Destroyed"

** Creatures **
- You can completely kill a creature, it will flee to another world
- If a world is destroyed, all creatures will migrate
- A creature can only travel from a world to the other if the destination is not safe, not destroyed, and if there is a connection between.

Anyway, good luck ^_^

**** Credits ****
Programming, Graphics: me
Music: incompetech.com
Sounds: Internet
Game Engine: Cocos2d-JS
Hosted with Github Pages

*****************************

Updates:
2014-08-25: Added quick description post submission, going to sleep now ~
2014-08-26: Fixed no sound bug on Firefox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#130Theme(Jam)3.69
#191Innovation(Jam)3.42
#306Audio(Jam)3.23
#312Humor(Jam)2.57
#382Graphics(Jam)3.38
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#536Mood(Jam)2.81

Comments

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nicely done! I like the concept.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Haha I found this to be quite stressful xD
I didn't manage to win, but as long as its actually possible, I appreciate the challenge ^^
Art style is quite interesting, but the health bars are ugly! Oh and the game is completely silent for me - mac/firefox

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Really nice game. Good audio and graphics.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Well done!! Very nice game.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Not the most intuitive controls,but otherwise a nice challenge

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Nice concept! Good work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57pm

I really like the use of the theme and your concept. The controls are kinda hard to use at the start, but it feels ok after some games !

Nice entry :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Controls are tricky at first but it gets easier. Cool concept with nice graphics to go with it.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

gj. got into it real quick :D

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Nice challenge... my planets all got destroyed. :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Very easy to get into, but is it possible to win? Good game.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

this was a lot of fun to play, but the maximum range on the guns results in the player often landing in un-winnable scenarios. If a monster happens to spawn outside of the player's range, then they can't do anything and they'll lose the round.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Really cool concept.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25am

Good concept, really tough (though on a touchpad any mouse based controls are tough!). Loved the monster and character art.

Stending says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Really cool concept!

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Niiiice drawings!
The limited fire range is frustrating but,
Cool concept!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Oh no... the planets! D: Haha. Took a second to get it, but was really great once I figured it all out. Loved it.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Hi there. Reached 100% loaded, then menu displayed, but menu options do nothing, nor does refresh_worlds. Tried reloading screen still nothing works on menu. Chrome/W8.1. Not rated yet.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:25am

Very awesome concept. I would have appreciated keyboard controls for moving, since aiming/moving/selecting worlds overloads the mouse just a bit. :) Kudos for a game that was confusing on the first playthrough, but made immediate sense on the second. That sort of playground feel of jumping anywhere at anytime is definitely a mechanic to explore.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:46am

Was never able to save more than 4 planets, I wonder if it is even doable.
Nice concept, and very good use of the theme, but it felt very confusing at first. It's a shame you had to put so much text in you description to explain things and didn't find a way to explain it to the player directly in the game.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:47pm

I'm just not good enough to save everyone!!! :'(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]