Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Spy Story

by reheated - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Space Spy Story, control a pair of (space) spies who travel from planet to planet on their (space spying) missions. The moves available to you depend on the positions of the spies, and they each have a special ability that affects how they can move.

Inspired by the sorts of logic mazes invented by Robert Abbott. Tools: Notepad++, Firefox, Chrome and IE, GIMP, MyPaint, FL Studio Signature, drums from Sampleradar. Requires an up-to-date browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#31Theme4.13
#84Humor3.42
#110Innovation3.87
#115Audio3.57
#130Overall3.71
#296Mood3.30
#314Fun3.34
#484Graphics3.19

Comments

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

Interesting. I'm not sure that I know what I am doing, though. I passed the first level but wasn't able to figure out the second. I'll try again tomorrow after actual sleep!

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Nice music!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

The UI is a bit confusing but once I figured out what was going on it was pretty enjoyable. I like the somewhat offbeat descriptions and details - like "milk planets"

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Interesting and complicated. Will play again tomorrow.

hypp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I like these kind of puzzle games. Got stuck on the third level though!

chongdashu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Finished it! Took me a little while to understand how everything worked, but made a lot of sense once that happened. Nice game! The music fits the mood very well.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Great game! Nice ending! Cool music! Challenging puzzles! 5/5

LesInk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

Nice. I like puzzle games and this definitely fits the niche. Fun story, challenging puzzles, and a good all around feel. Good job.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I actually really love this! And it seems to be procedurally generated, that is awesome. I love the quirkiness of your mission stories, the agents' interactions and the weird planet names. It is unique and genuine. The gameplay took awhile to get a hang of but it's really quite clever, definitely inspiring me to try for more interesting and challenging gameplay in my next LD. A job well done! Regards from Hellsten's colleague :P

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Very nice concept. A little hard on the usability, though the interface is very promising it takes a while to understand what's going on. Impressive for a compo entry, too!

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

That's really clever! Well done! Love the puns :). Good music too, btw.

phi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I love the music and the graphics are incredibly pleasing! I don't fully understand the mechanics, but I managed to beat the game by just trying around. I'm personally not a 'game reader', but I really liked the messages, the story and the instructions on the right. Great job!

TimtheBo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Awesome game! The puzzles are really, really challenging yet the controls are simple to understand. Beautiful!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Very fun, lighthearted, whimsical little game. Even though I got stuck on the third mission (:P), I liked the little story I got and the humor that was packed up in there. The UI and gameplay, albeit very confusing, at least to me, show potential.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I do not know what I'm doing. Lots of confusing Puzzle Games this LD.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:43pm

What fun is a puzzle game if you don't get stuck or confused? :D Really liked this game concept, had to stop and think to get to the next level.

Great background music too! Great job on this solo entry!

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice puzzle game, UI needs a little work to recognize the differents among travels, but it feels interesting. Next time, you should use more "standardized" names :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]