Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Torment Isles

by Matt Hartley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you save the world from the Torment Isles?
Controls: arrow keys to move and X to attack

Tested on Windows 7, OSX 10.9 and 10.8
May not run on 32 bit machines
I didn't have time to code a "Press to retry" so you have to close and open again if you die (sorry)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#357Graphics3.43
#663Humor2.17
#680Mood2.85
#687Theme3.07
#725Audio2.38
#751Overall3.00
#927Fun2.61
#1110Innovation2.22

Comments

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:07pm

I've got an error on the OpenAL32.dll file and can't run the game :(

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice game. A little bit too easy. I didn't fight at all. I only avoided the enemies.

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Did't realise how to attack and just run away from every enemy in the game. Found the final stone and suddenly found out an attack button. That was fun :-)

snade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Nice short game, was relatively easy though.
You can use the walls to prevent enemies from hitting you.

Good job :)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Windows 7 64-bit, "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)"

Frugle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I liked the art style. Regenerating health made it kinda easy. Enemies got stuck a lot.

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

You know, I just finished this game a second time. Killing each one of those enemies. Don't mess with my world!

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I like you're graphism, but i think your game is too easy. You're game is can be resume by run et attack. But it's still a good entry

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Got the same problem as Jellycakes inc. Win 7 64

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I like the idea of connecting two worlds and the story is short, but nice. It is a bit monotonous to always fight against the same creatures again, but, well, that's Ludum dare:)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I took the time to kill every single enemy, and I beat the game. I like the idea of hordes of enemies, the combat part was a bit tame though. I liked the art style of the character and enemies.

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

nice game, kept me in till the end. nailed the theme, reminds me of warcraft in a way. only thing i'd have liked would be an aoe attack

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

This was a little short, but not too bad for a 48 hr entry. Good luck!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:48am

In my opinion it's too short and doesn't cover much. Even though they get stuck sometimes and you can use it as an advantage, enemy AI is quite cool. There could be a music in the background. Still, I liked it :)

Aglavra says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The game is nicely dont, but seems too repetitive.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:45am

i like the graphics on this, congrats on your entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]