Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Epic Galactic Conquest

by madk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Epic Galactic Conquest was written in about 5 hours on the 24th of August because I'm a forgetful idiot, didn't remember there was a competition going on until Saturday night and didn't have a workable idea until Sunday afternoon. It's more proof-of-concept than a complete game but hopefully you'll still be able to get some enjoyment out of it.

In Epic Galactic Conquest your objective is to connect all the worlds in the galaxy by conquering them via extreme military force. Every world's native population can contribute one of three resources to your sovereign empire when enslaved and requires expenditure of that same resource to conquer. Red worlds are associated with Radium, green worlds Germanium, and blue worlds Blutonium. Every conquered world contributes two units of its associated resource per second; the amount needed to conquer a world is displayed in white when you can afford it and gray when you can't. You can only see the conquering cost of worlds adjacent to worlds you already own.

You can pan the interface view by right-clicking and dragging, you can zoom the view using the mouse wheel. Click on worlds with numbers displayed in white to direct your forces to conquer them.

Your resource stores are calculated longhand by domesticated android bookkeepers and their results are displayed in the top-left corner of your interface, as is how long you've spent so far conquering the galaxy. Worlds you control are indicated by a thick white outline. All worlds have three adjacent neighbors, and these potential connections are indicated by white lines. You can only conquer worlds where you control at least one of their neighbors. Worlds where you control all three neighbors are automatically conquered by locally-brainwashed militias. You can press the escape key at any time to generate a new galaxy for conquering. Compete with your friends to see who can conquer identically-seeded galaxies the fastest!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#534Theme3.29
#634Innovation3.06
#840Fun2.71
#931Humor1.50
#957Graphics2.45
#1036Overall2.66
#1047Mood2.23

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

Getting a "not commonly downloaded and could be dangerous" on chrome. It's a false positive, the game works fine.

Tosic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Me too, looks nice, although :)

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Interesting idea, shame you didn't get the time to flesh it out a little more...

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

If you want to fix the false-positive with Chrome upload the game somewhere else than Dropbox. Seems like Google doesn't trust Dropbox :P.

Clicked this because it looked like an almost 1:1 copy of our game, but they proved to be quite different. It is indeed really barebones though, so sadly not too much fun at the moment.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I loved this game. I played it a few times, and it's really addicting. I did encounter one slightly annoying thing- I ended up in a game where I couldn't do anything until after 40 seconds had passed as all the planets around me required quite a lot of resources- The seed was 0000 I think, but that really is a minor issue. I loved the idea, and I might end up playing it again sometime, as I really enjoyed it! Good work!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Looks interesting, considering 5 hours of work. Nice gameplay.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Good concept, but resources should grow faster. You should not let the player inactive ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Impressive considering how fast you made it! I think it's a fun game even in this state. It's definitely something that could get me hooked.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Get back work on this right now : obvious, classic, strategic, simple, addicting, suitable for a mobile device. Do you hear me?

I love this game.

I said GET BACK TO WORK! :)

granut100 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Good concept, although wish the galaxies were larger :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

The game starts out really slowly... I wish there were some enemies, or anything trying to stop you. But for the (very) short time - good job!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Good to hear from all of you! If I could do it over I'd definitely want to start the player off with some resources. I also wanted initially to make it a game where you fought another player for control but ain't nobody got time for AI like that. Would've had options for galaxy size and such too but, again, not much one can do in five hours.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Yeah, I forgot about the last few LD's. Nice to see you still entered and put something out even with only a few hours to spare.

Considering the time you had it's really not bad at all.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46pm

This is a very fun game :) gameplay is pretty addictive. I like the three-neighbours design mechanic, since it felt rewarding conquering an expensive world by capturing all the cheaper neighbours :D good game, sir

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Yeah, I forgot about the last few LD's. Nice to see you still entered and put something out even with only a few hours to spare.

Considering the time you had it's really not bad at all.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Not bad, I can see some potential here.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:03am

Nice results for 5 hours! I would like to see post-compo version because this one is already fun and addictive. I like when simple concept gives so much fun :)

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:15am

Not bad for 5 hours honestly. But without something that can negatively effect you the only challenge is seeing how fast you can clear a seed. Even then you just zoom out and click numbers as the turn white. But with just a few easy changed you could make something good from this. I'd be interested if you made a postmortem version.

Lasty says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Cool idea. The graph/nodes and RGB really appealed to my computer scientist side :)

Was not immediately obvious what to do though. Maybe some tutorial popup text "click here to attack" could have worked. And maybe scale the inner nodes down a bit to speed up the initial game. (Or maybe I just rolled a bad seed)

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

too bad you had only 5 hours. the description was cool tho.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

105.89s...is that good? :) This is visually interesting, reminds me of chemistry and molecules and things. I hope you flesh out the idea some more.

Amvere says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Interesting concept! It feels like a cool start to a game, but for now it is kind of "wait to win".

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I cant get this to work, it doesn't seem to be generating resources at all. I like the idea though at it looks like a lot of fun.

Norgg says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:00am

Since the aim is to try and win as quickly as possible, it really needs to save a high score (or list of). The surrounding mechanic is cool, but the resources being completely isolated from each other seems odd, how about splitting it up so that things don't always only produce what they're captured with?

madk says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:29am

I agree! I would've loved to do more with it had I more time. I've been working slowly on a post-compo version, hopefully it'll be a big improvement.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:51pm

It sure is simple. I like it!

Few ideas for the PostLD version:

-Turn based gamemode. Points for using as few moves as possible.

-AI Opponent(s). Quite obvious, but even a dumb (random) one could make a big difference.

-Victory conditions. Even more obvious. You can get clever with these.

Also the world generator seems quite similar to mine. Hmm. Simplicity for the win!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:07am

Very impressive for just 5 hours of work! Never heard of this BlitzMax before.

By the way, I see that you tried to run my game last week, but couldn't. I've detected and fixed some memory errors that were being ignored on debugging, so you're welcome to try it again if you like! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]