Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

\ \ World Shift \ \

by lambomang - 48 Hour Compo Entry

\ \ World Shift \ \
A 3d platformer in two dimensions.
2 dimensions each containing different platforms, you'll have to switch between them to successfully get to the end.

Apologies for the very short length of the game. I'm not very good at level design and ran out of time...

Controls:
WASD: Move
Space: Jump
LMB: Switch dimension

Gamepad controls:
Left thumbstick: Move
(A):Jump
(X):Switch dimension

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#158Theme3.79
#166Audio3.43
#289Fun3.38
#296Mood3.30
#324Overall3.44
#385Graphics3.37
#649Innovation3.04
#776Humor2.00

Comments

Altourus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very nice

ThatSamu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14am

I had an issue with the camera. It was pointing down all the time. When I would drag with mouse or the use the gamepad's stick to move the camera up, it would just drag to point straight down.
Could not play because of that issue.

korigame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

Nice. Very difficult. Great atmosphere :)

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

A 3D take on the platform-switch game, nice!
It feels very immersive too.

Good job! It would be great if you could expand it with more interesting levels!

p/s: The game ate my mouse icon though and I had to close the window for it to return

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33am

@ThatSamu
Are you sure it wasn't a problem with the gamepad stick? Did you try it without the gamepad plugged in? Because that's really weird :/ I'll look into it though.

@ConciseBit
If you're playing in the browser, you can press escape to make it regurgitate the mouse ;) (All unity games work like that)

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40am

This is really cool, some of the jumps required can be pretty had to make though. Especially when a jump requires you change colors mid jump so you can't even see where you're trying to land until after you're committed to the jump.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50am

Nice, music is ok, (although I could go with little less distortion), game is challenging and quite pretty. Only problem I had is jump mechanic, would prefer more responsive one, hard to be precise with such floating. Also there was an issue at the yellow gate, I didn't have key but when I died I was respawned on the other side. All in all nice job

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03am

Pretty frustrating especially with no crosshair and no lighting since it's hard to tell distances and aim.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03am

Fun platformer.

I liked the extra paths to collect the keys. The floaty jumping took a bit to get used to, but then it was possible to make precise jumps with it.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35am

Love the music, and interesting challenges.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

It took a lot to load the game. Very nice concept, but it's harder than it seems :-S

TagliatL says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Cool !

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Excellent. Very well executed concept. Love the minimalist style too.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Epic atmosphere

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

First off, I like it. Atmosphere is just great. The Style totally works for me.
But the controls are kinda wonky. I is hard to tell how fast you are moving. Maybe some dust would help to tell if you are moving or not.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:11pm

This game is very good, but I'm very bad at jumping puzzles.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

Cool game! Love the concept! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45am

I would love to see this concept expanded on! Controls felt a bit floaty, though. 3D platforming is hard!

Demorro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08am

Very nice, although a little sparse on ways the platform switch actually interacts meaningfully with the platforming mechanics.

Looks real nice too, great atmosphere. :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

very nice, make some more levels and this could turn out a very great game. :)

lakael says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Very cool concept! I had a hard time giving it up - it was fun to play!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Hi there. Found the camera position, lack of 3rd person and visuals combined to make it tough to aim accurately for platforms, so only got to just past the first black space on red platforms before giving up. Liked the music.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:35am

dat visual design, tho! :O

sephyka says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:16am

Interesting gameplay. It's difficult to switch dimension and jump at the same time. Good music. It might be great with a few feedbacks sounds on the ground. Good job for 48h!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]