Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Business, pleasure or just plain bad

by cptalbertwesker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the fast paced life of commuter assistance you must always be paying attention.

If you were to let through an alien race that overthrows the earth what will you go home and tell your family as they burn to a crispy cinder?

Can't tell them much huh? Well as a public sector worker helping out hurried commuters your job is to sort out where they are headed, how do you do that? Use your ears!

Each commuter will contact you with a snippet of super high quality audio, with absolutely not distortion whatsoever* however if you do have a problem hearing what they have said, press the speaker again to hear their call.

Like my games for every Ludum Dare you won't be getting award-winning gameplay on offer, instead you get a strange experience. In Business, pleasure or just plain bad your job is to listen to tired, angry commuters as they attempt to get to work/vacation/take over the world. You do this by listening to the lovingly recorded audio clips and assigning them a location.

Certain locations will be taxable if the commuter is going to be working on said location, but this will not be pointed out to you, you will have to make your own judgement, get it wrong and you'll see a hefty fine on your day's results.

Like every other commuter assistant, you dream of one day travelling to the fabled Paradise planet, who knows, after a lot of hard work, perhaps you'll get to visit!

*cannot guarantee quality of audio, distortion may arise dependant on location of commuter assistance booth and proximity to planets.

Created in Game Maker Studio, using Audacity and GIMP 2.

Apologies to non-English speakers, the game is pretty much only playable if you have a comprehensive of English as it relies heavily on listening to audio clips.

Downloads and Links




Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40am

Ha, this is a fun idea :)

Catmoo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

As always you've made a great little game. I love how you can just sit there for a while thinking you may have known what they said but aren't sure. The sound are all great!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44pm

heheh, I loved the gangster sounding one dropping off a package that they aint payin for! :D great stuff

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I am not good at my job. Love the idea, I could see this being expanded into an intergalactic Papers, Please!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I really hat trouble understanding what the people are saying...

Eli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I managed to make some points, I'm so good.
Nice concept :)

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Hi there. New idea, and I tried to get engrossed... but the sound quality was bad enough I couldn't hear enough to make a decision... maybe that was the point !? Good UI.

sputnik says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Love my job!

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Love it! Very quirky!

teamawesome says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Lovely hand!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]