Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rocket Science!

by timtipgames - Jam Entry

Rocket Science is a game intended to be played by two players using one android device (smartphone will do, tablet is awesome). It is absolutely possible to play Rocket Science as a single player game though!
---
Android only right now. We are going to try to port to desktops in the coming days. Performance may be bad on mid- to low-end devices. We will probably do a post-compo version that adresses this as well as some control issues.
---
Art: Nina (aka Lotta)
Programming: Tim
---
Fixed Bugs:
* Fixed a bug that crashed the app once you tried to start a second game from the same app instance.
* Fixed a typo that led to collisions not working.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#322Fun(Jam)3.13
#340Overall(Jam)3.29
#429Theme(Jam)3.06
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17pm

a really fun idea hampered by extremely frustrating controls. Often, side scrolling games like these allow players to move their fingers around slightly below where they want their ship to move, and the ship then stays slightly above the finger so that it isn't covered completely by a big meaty thumb. With a bit of tweaking there, though, this actually has the makings of a game that I would probably play regularly on my phone to kill time. Well done.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

A fun, interesting game. I enjoyed it!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Don't have an android phone to test it

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

Unfortunately couldn't play. Not have an android device =(

LeafThief says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Played it on a Nexus 7(2012) and it worked grat. Good job on the game, it's simple and easy to understand yetfun to play for a while. After some time it gets a bit boring but that's okay considering you did this in such a short amount of time. Well done!

One more thing: although you may think the font looks good it's really hard to tell one's current score. My advice: stick with sth simpler that's more easy to read :)

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:16pm

First Android Ludum Dare entry I've tried. Nice work!

voxel says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:05am

Took me a while to work out but fun times once I did. Collecting a trail of stars is really satisfying

Sascha says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Cool concept! Game was quite fun, but got a bit boring relatively soon. Except for the usual smartphone game-control problems of your fingers occluding everything, it was really well executed! Graphics were great, especially the stars and their animation! Very nice job overall!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]