Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A : Attack from Red Planet

by savethejets1 - Jam Entry

Inspired by the old PC game Z

Red planet has opened a portal to the Blue planet.

Red must DIE!

I wanted to explore Adding a clicking mechanic to resource collection in RTS. Unfortunately no one stopped me when I said RTS and Ludum Dare in the same sentence. :D

I'd love to expand on this in a post compo version. But for now I need to sleep...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#124Humor(Jam)3.25
#168Fun(Jam)3.43
#196Audio(Jam)3.45
#226Overall(Jam)3.43
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#341Mood(Jam)3.16
#419Graphics(Jam)3.30
#663Theme(Jam)2.29

Comments

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

Really like the game. A bit like cookie clicker. :D

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

Pretty cool concept. Totally reminds me of Z! Great job!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Very cool concept. I really liked what I got to try. at the end of mission 3, my soldiers went into the enemy base and spawnkilled all the opposing soldiers, but didn't attack the base itself. I don't know what happened. Everything else was awesome, tho. Fun and addicting gameplay. Great entry!

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58am

Its like RTS cookie clicker.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06am

Ahahaha... I'm such a sucker for RTS games. That being said, I'm not sure I liked how you had to click on the coins themselves, if we're talking pure clicking mixed with RTS then that seems better. Also would've liked to control the units, but it's understandable that you had limited time. Good game though. :)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22am

Interesting concept and nice job making an RTS in such a short time! However, having to click every single coin was cruel and unusual. If that was improved, the game would be much better!

ceosol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28am

Very nice entry. I wouldn't really call it an rts game. It seemed more like a 2.5d epic war game. For the most part, everything was in a straight line. Not that I am saying it is a bad thing, I like those kinds of games :)

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:30am

I beat it but I felt like I never got past the basic upgrades. Did I miss something? I finally got enough coins to get an auto-looter and the game ended lol, I was like nooooooooooooo :(

This would be pretty fun if it was faster to get the automation out and the camera pan was a bit more accurate/natural. You should def. expand on it post-compo :D

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31am

Somehow I like the game but my finger hurts...

aneeslol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

The resource collecting was somewhat tedious, but I still had fun with it, especially once I got the auto collector. It's unfortunate that your guys end up fighting off screen while you're stuck in the base clicking resources, so you don't really get to watch them.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:03am

Thanks for the comments!

There's an auto collector that you can buy on the 3rd level. The coins will float to your mouse pointer.

I would have liked to make the mouse pointer upgradable so you could collect more than one coin at a time. Like 1,3,5, etc. But I ran out of time.
Alas there were a few ideas like that, that I didn't get time to explore.

There's alway post compo :D

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Really, REALLY enjoyed this one. Fantastic job. I want this on my phone!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Very cool game, I like it. Hope you keep working on this and make it bigger.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

(Phil Here) Fun little game! Really impressive that you managed to do all this in such a short time. Ruined my finger clicking though :(

Pierce_Z says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

Great game, I wouldn't have minded a way to speed up troop movements though.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

cool concept, lots of clicking for sure though. enjoyed the game!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Neat idea and the music was cool. Clicking on the coins after clicking on the minerals seemed a bit like overkill, and made the gameplay feel a bit sluggish to me. Overall I really liked the concept!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:24am

Really didn't like all the clicking to collect the coins.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

pretty visuals!
I enjoyed the "war" game you created, very interesting concept!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Hi there. Liked the intro and pixel-style. However couldn't find anything to do except collect coins - so stopped once reached 30 and nothing unlocked... Maybe needs some explanation somewhere as I tried clicking everything including Upgrade...and many keypresses... ??? Good job on the art tho'!

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Awesome, love this kind of game. A lot of clicking, but that doesn't matter much. Nice work!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:57pm

congrats on the entry! coin harvesting got a little tedious

Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:48am

Pretty cool concept. I loved the mineral design reminded me of starcraft which im a big fan of :)

lotusgame says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:47am

Wahou ! There is a huge potential on this game. Congrats !

popcorn897 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Really fun! I enjoy RTS games and this was great.
The lack of control feels a bit odd at first, but then I realized that to win, I needed to concentrate all on resources anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]