Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zwitch

by syawqy - Jam Entry

arrow keys
z - to switch world
enemy drop coin
collect coin in other world
you need coin to stay alive
enemy can't harm you in other world

engine = unity
music generated with cgmusic - http://codeminion.com/blogs/maciek/2008/05/cgmusic-computers-create-music/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#500Audio(Jam)2.73
#508Humor(Jam)2.09
#528Theme(Jam)2.80
#611Overall(Jam)2.86
#618Mood(Jam)2.61
#656Innovation(Jam)2.43
#687Graphics(Jam)2.49

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Hi there. Liked the look and feel. Pretty hard for me. Nice harsh edge to everything.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58am

Nice game, but you should add Game Jolt API features (like leaderboards) to make the game more addicting.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30pm

The basic idea is good..But you should have come up with a more elaborated idea..Like the bullet can still kill you even if you switch or something to add at the gameplay

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Funky music and nice fast pace!

lion123 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice one, but needs more variety

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:40am

The music really hits you, it's great.

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57am

Nice short game, like the mood

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:25am

Very innovative, awesome job!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:56am

Idea is interesting, but you can actually play this one without even switching the worlds!

Red text color seems ultra aggressive and hurts eyes, you should have lower saturation/brightness a bit. Default sound volume is also too loud. Some minor tweaks will make your game way better :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:43am

I was about to write a review saying it felt like just a decent, basic space shooter, but then after hitting Z I saw there was a neat balancing strategy involved. Basic, but neat overall.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very addictive! Would be good to see further levels. great work!!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Basic idea, decently applied, but I wouldn't call that a pinnacle of human creativity. Also, I'd prefer if the soundtrack's main instrument wasn't so loud compared to the others (and to the game sounds too).

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:46am

Fun game, but would work better if you could more easily tell where the enemies are when in the other world, I kept switching back only to instantly die.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]