Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid fighters

by xandy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small multiplayer Asteroids. Shots that hit the borders become asteroids in other players worlds. You can play alone(borders warp around) but it's more fun if you play with other people!

Controls:
a, d: turn ship
w: accelerate
space: shoot
escape: quit game

For the source just unzip the .love version.

i submit my game votes in bulks so that the game stay longer in the front and more people play it at the same time. so just wait a minute or 2 if there is nobody else online.

huge bandwidth usage and related disconnects/lags should be fixed now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#130Innovation3.81
#136Theme3.83
#545Fun3.06
#555Overall3.21
#679Humor2.15
#769Audio2.27
#849Mood2.65
#993Graphics2.37

Comments

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Nice idea, matches the theme. Too bad there we're not many people playing when I tried it. Good job!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Cute idea, but I could never connect to the server. Running on Chrome

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

It's a very, very cool idea, but it needs a really good server to work, that doesn't exist.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I really like the idea. With a bit more polish I could see this being a fun, intense local multiplayer game.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32pm

The idea is really nice, even though I could not play in multiplayer.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36pm

That is a VERY interesting game. I liked the concept very much. It was really fun playing it.

The only problem that I was lagging (or others were) and I couldn't really play for long. But the few minutes of play were worth it. Well done job and I like the minimalistic art :D.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Netcode needs quite a lot of polish (it's either very laggy or I seem to be playing by myself) but this is a nice take on Asteroids and the multiplayer aspect seems to fit the theme very well. A pretty interesting game overall.

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very cool idea.. Wish my ship was a bit faster to turn.. :)

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

yeah sorry about the netcode. during development i was behind a vpn to another country so i couldn't do any real world testing :(

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Funny variation of classic asteroids :D

sorle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:17am

Yeah nice to see those classics again in a new content!
Cool idea enjoyed it

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26am

Clever and innovator. A good asteroids clone matching the theme. Good job

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:41am

Neat mechanics and an impressive network feature. Fun game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

Big idea for a jam, I think I waited to long to get a test with anyone. But appreciate it.

How did you learn to make working netcode in such short time? Any tips?

Otopkin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Game has a cool concept, you should polish it a little and make a game out of it.

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

@teamrocketbear i'm using lua-enet for transport and simply transfer all information 20times/sec. later i reduced the needed traffic by rounding everything down to only 2 decimal places. post jam version will use a binary serializerinstead of the text one i'm using now. netcode is in systems/network.lua. but it's pretty ugly.

acidave says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Great idea and solid mechanics and controls. Like the idea of an classic game adapted to the ld theme.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice idea, but I don't want to shoot myself. How do I go multiplayer?

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:48am

Nice work wish this was around when atari was Nice job realy fun i like the simple art style a little polish would make it stand out

Code White says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Wow. I hardly ever see any local multiplayer games on the LD, let alone online multiplayers. Congratulations for being the first, as well as managing to make a cute, fun game.

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

thanks, i thought i'd give it a try as the core game mechanic was pretty easy to implement.

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Really good concept, perfect with the theme, and it made with löve, so ... cool !

jahmaican says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I quite liked this one. Graphics could be better (I know that the original game wasn't too pretty, but at least the actual asteroids weren't squares!)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Got a runtime error when I managed to hit my first asteroid. Other than that, great idea and take on the theme!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Fun game even when playing alone. The firre=spawn idea seems very innovative to me. Gravity games need some inertia but I think that turnspeed inertia is not a good idea. Inertia in speed is more than enough to make the dodging difficult.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Good game, I got 120 points. I like the concept, it adapted well to the theme and was fun to play. Perhaps, rotation was a little too loose. Nice work!

creative630 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Dang, cool idea. Really hard to control your ship though.

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:26am

Great take on the theme!

Too bad no one else seemed to be playing :( Still fun by oneself though :)

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Good idea ! Too bad there's no one on line and crash bugs.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Cool idea. But a little bit too hard for me since the controls are not fast enough. Unfortunately no other players where areound, but the idea of a multiplayer game is cool.
Greetings to the RZL

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]