Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Puncher

by ShadowBrain - Jam Entry

Punch yourself a highscore!

Controls:
A/D - Walk
Spacebar - Jump
Any mouse button - Punch
360 Controller supported!

Did you get an unusually high score? Tell me so!
Found a bug? Tell me so!

Thanks for playing! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#450Graphics(Jam)3.21
#477Fun(Jam)2.87
#554Audio(Jam)2.44
#638Overall(Jam)2.80
#667Mood(Jam)2.37
#687Innovation(Jam)2.30
#756Theme(Jam)1.67

Comments

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

The art was quite clean, the only problem I had was I forget what the overall goal was.

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

Fun. Could use some sound!

ShadowBrain says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Thanks hephaestus_rg, yeah I originally intended it to have a proper ending but I couldn't do it. Thanks for the complement though! :)

And Clyde, thanks, I just added in sounds, figured I could since I put it in as a Jam entry. :D

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Like the artwork and sounds, nice game. Not sure what the theme connection is though...

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Pretty fun, although some of the levels it gets possible to punch your way into losing, which sort of stinks. Also, it feels like it needs more conflict or something. Maybe something as simple as a timer?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Ha, lovely! Love that you can punch through several pieces at once :)

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Like the punch mechanic very much. Nice graphics. Some way to show to punch down ??

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Best death scene i have seen so far!

ShadowBrain says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Thanks Tanner!

Marvalgames, I'm sorry, what do you mean?
You can punch up/down by pressing up or down before punching.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Satisfying punching experience :)
I could not see the theme really fitting in here
but had lots of fun regardless

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Cool game. The controls were more complicated than they needed to be, but love the character art.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice :) Like the combo power punch through the blocks

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Cool simple game which was fun to play and destroy blocks with a combo.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Hi there. Nice looking pixelart platformer. When I died at start first time around... restarted on a different level ?
Sounds fit the look well. Good job!

Troy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I really liked the art in this game, some enemies and a bigger variety of puzzles would be a good step to go in but what there is great! Well done.

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice graphical style and sound effects! Punching through multiple blocks at once was satisfying. Funny game over screen, but it would be nice if the game allowed you to start over afterwards instead of having to refresh the web page.

The keyboard and mouse controls were challenging. That was my main problem with the game. Why not just WASD for movement, including jumping, and another key for punching? I figured out how to punch up and down, but maybe you could explain that in your description as well :)

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Nice platformer. I like the punching, feels strong, but mixing mouse, space and A/D for controls doesnt seem easy to use. Sounds and graphics are good, keep it up!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Punching button on the mouse brought me to a strange hands configuration
The art is good, and the controls responsive, that's great :3

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:43pm

This was fun. Great camera movement. Sprite was tough to control at times.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:37am

The mechanics are strange, it felt like I was floating. Also, I didn't get the objective... was it to reach the blue orbs? By the way, didn't see any connection whatsoever with the theme.

That said, the visual style is nice, and I didn't get any aparent bug or crash. Keep it up.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Cool game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

pythong says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:59am

i found it fun to break stuff, but the game was missing interaction (goal, enemies, ...). oh and i found a bug. when you jump out of water and keep pressing space, you can fly

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Nice atmosphere and presentation. I enjoyed the combo brick smashing, but it felt a bit aimless.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]