Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warlord of Connected Space

by Kayelgee - Jam Entry

Forgot to mention the win condition ingame: Keep the factions from achieving supremacy for 100 days.

Notice to Mac/Linux Users: I haven't put any code to deal with different resolution. So I would advice to play it in a resolution with an aspect ratio of 16:10. 16:9 resolutions will most likely work aswell but might hide small parts of the UI.

Story:
You are a Warlord selling weapons in a conflict ridden universe. Make as much profit as you can.
Your time is limited you only have 100 days.

You live of war so keep the factions fighting and don't let one of em achieve supremacy or you'll be out of buisness.

Big factions will pay you more but is the risk worth it?

Have Fun and don't get addicted
If you're able to win the 11 planets scenario please let me know, as I wasn't able yet :D
mechabit has done the impossible :D. Can you beat his score? Post a screenshot if you also beat 11 planets I'll add you to the Hall of Fame.

Controls:
Mouse - Click stuff
Space - Stop time (use it or lose it)
A - Slow down time
S - Speed up time

Hints:
- Planets with many connections will help a faction grow much quicker so prevent them from holding these for too long.

- Strike right after a planet got occupied. The military will be weak until a government has been established. If you push the rebel forces now, then they might be able to overthrow the government right once it's set up.

- Don't let a faction get big or you'll lose control very quick.

- Upgrade your station. Producing many weapons as fast as you can is key to not lose early.

Credits:
Game by Kamil "KayelGee" Galecki
Audio by Alexander "seniorheuser" Heuser

Update:
Fixed a bug which prevented players to resume time after it had been stopped.

11 Planets Hall of Fame:
1. 893880 - mechabit

Twitter: @cp_kayelgee

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#137Theme(Jam)3.68
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#440Audio(Jam)2.90
#445Mood(Jam)2.97
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#542Fun(Jam)2.76
#571Humor(Jam)1.79
#632Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

harko12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

Not my cup of tea, but I like the presentation

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

Loved the game. I like that you're dropped right into it. The core mechanics of the game were solid, and I liked the whole interaction between the planets. Good work! Check out my game too if you have the time. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42403

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Interesting. Good take on the theme, simple gameplay - solid entry :)

arzi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

It took me a while to understand the game, but I really liked it after that. I think the idea is good and the representation is clear enough.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17pm

That's very interesting idea. Nice!

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

It took me AGESSS to get into the game. But I played it for a LOT longer than I anticipated. If you fancied this up, nicer graphics, randomized worlds, more balanced gameplay and maybe a bit of character for the factions I would totally pay money for it.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

awesome game, took me a while but I finally beat 7 planets after the space lanes maxed out and even though one faction had all but 1 planet I could keep the last faction going long enough for me to level up my base and flip back all the planets by funding terrorism.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10pm

woop beat 11 planets with the same tactic, max out weapons production and money first and concentrate on the close planets with fewer links. http://postimg.org/image/lwn4cpwij/

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:35am

you guys are awesome :D

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38pm

really puts you in the mood. nice one

suurin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I did the test on OS X 10.10 with 1600x900 and got this https://www.dropbox.com/s/1q2bzkrnol7iy94/%D0%A1%D0%BA%D1%80%D0%B8%D0%BD%D1%88%D0%BE%D1%82%202014-08-27%2016.41.34.png?dl=0 but in game scene it scales right way. Funny game, so, will play again.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01pm

@suurin: thanks for testing, I think I can fix the image scaling. The game should look right if you're playing it in a 16:10 aspect ratio. 16:9 like you're using should look a little different I think. I'll put up a note in the description.

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I really love this type of games! Great work!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Cool concept. I like the idea of having to balance the system. The "tutorial" was a bit confusing. It makes the game look much more complex than it actually is. But still, good work!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Great concept and very theme appropriate. It took me a bit to understand I had to unpause the game to begin with, but once I got it started it clicked right away what I needed to do. Great job overall.

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:44pm

After a few games, I managed to figure out how not to lose in the first week. Quite hard, but very interesting.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I couldn't start the game in the web version. It wouldn't let me click any of the buttons on the title screen :(

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:20pm

@LandoSystems: That's strange did you try it in another browser? Do other Unity games work for you?

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Nice entry, well done.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Couldn't play, once prompted me to install the unity webplayer (which I have already, played tens of games this LD using it) then got some obscure dropbox error. Maybe add a windows version too or make the web one work?

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Hi there. Like the stop/slow/speed-up time mechanic. Found the economic aspects difficult to get to grips with compared with some others of this type. Like the sounds. Good job!

xandy says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:11pm

very neat little passive strategy game!

Wertle says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I think the concept behind this sort of strategy game has a lot of potential to explore lots of fun interesting interactions. Your biggest challenge seems like it will be UI presentation and how you dish out information since there is a LOT going on at once. If you continue to work on this, I'd recommend teaching things in isolation step by step so that by the time they reach a point where the game is now, the players have internalized all the cues for all the information and how it is meaningful. A lot of the UI issues came from not showing relationships between things in an easy way, like if I couldn't sell I didn't understand why, the jump to figure out it was because I didn't have any ships out was not clear. Also, I'm not sure the station justified having its own "mode," just because the information there was minimal and there was a lot of unused space. Just be careful that time spent at the station doesn't result in the player forgetting the overall course of the game that's going on back in the universe. Well done, I hope you continue to explore this idea!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:56pm

It's quite addictive .. I like management games!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]