Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Visibility

by Flyinpig5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Visibility is a light-based puzzle game where you must place your lights in efficient ways in order to be able to illuminate a path to the exit. In order to place these lights, you must be in the light realm. Entering into the realm is as easy as hitting space.

This game isn't as linked to the theme as I had hoped, but I still had fun writing it.

**Make sure your Java is up to date! This was compiled with 1.7, if you're on 1.6 this will not work!**

Sounds may not work on Mac or Linux unless you have the required codecs, as they are .wav files.

There isn't an applet at the moment as Java (and LWJGL) is rather awkward to port to browser without your own website to upload to. Sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Innovation4.00
#269Overall3.50
#272Mood3.33
#299Fun3.36
#317Graphics3.48
#480Humor2.44
#491Audio2.80
#853Theme2.77
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30am

Nice puzzle platforming game!
The platforming was a bit buggy

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34am

Challenging game, but well done. I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30am

Ixeno, if you had trouble with the platforming it's because most of the time you have to jump and then move sideways. I don't know why this is :p

Saw your video, Jupiter. Didn't give it much of a chance!

There is a pause between the music loops which is a bug. IntelliJ obviously lagged it or something so when I was testing it I set it higher than it should have been. Will be fixed when I go on my computer!

Thanks for playing!

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

This game is Hard! I managed to get through level one, and got stuck on level two.

Totally loved the visual effects and the gameplay mechanics. The platforming itself felt harder than it had to be. A better/more generous difficulty curve would have been good in my opinion.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:58pm

When I try to run it under Linux, I get an error (pasted below). Any ideas?

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:643)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:323)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:268)
Could not find the main class: Main. Program will exit.

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Cool idea, unique puzzle mechanics always score highly with me because they're the thing I most want to be able to do in game design, but can't.

I found the platforming controls a bit tough, like others did, more counter-intuitive than actually bad once you get used to them.

I didn't think your use of the theme was bad at all, I like it. I'm generally preferring entries like this that do the inter-dimensional type of thing over games like the one I made that just have a load of planets in them with some tenuous connection between them :)

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I love the lighting effect! I felt like I never had enough lights, though. Very challenging - even before the menacing spikes were added... Not entirely sure what it's got to do with the theme, but still a good game!

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice game .. Loved those light effects .. I found the mechanics demanding too much from the player's trail & error to learn things.. A small tutorial along the game would've been nice.. And could've made far less demanding platforming level for the first one ... Good one :)

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

erdnuss, I'm not sure what your error could be. I had a friend test it in Linux yesterday. Check to make sure your Java and your OpenGL is up to date.

To the rest of you, thanks for the kind words. I have a habit of making things too hard because I design them for myself, and realise that it's easier for me because I know what the levels look like :p

If there's enough demand for it, I could make a walkthrough of me completing all the levels in case you get stuck? Perhaps I could do a post-mortem with more levels, a tutorial or an easy mode? Just let me know c:

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14pm

sorry, cant open jar file... "couldnt load main class" :/

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Hard to see with only three lights, mostly feeling my way through. I loved the idea of using lights to help you find your way! :D

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22pm

One of the best mechanics. I can see some potential in this game. Amazing work!

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29am

Good game! Hard to see!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Really cool concept.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I really liked the concept and graphics, but the controls, especially jumping, make game too difficult.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Pretty difficult but the concept is really interesting (I love the use of lighting in this game) and it does actually sort of fit the theme. Background music music was a bit too loud however.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]