Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Love Craft

by renatopp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, this is it. This is my entry for ludum dare #30 under the theme "connected worlds", and...

# PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE PLAYING THE GAMES

- IDEA: Everybody wants a person to share a life, to found a family, to fall in love, to marry, etc; and when this happen, one person connects its own world to the other. Love Craft aims to connect worlds metaphorically: chibis walking in the park looking for their unknown loves while you protect them from obstacles (such as bad matching and meddler chibis).

- MECHANICS: Attention & Velocity, mouse-only and only by dragging things.

- WHY WAS HARD: I've developed a behavior tree library from scratch (probably a mistake, but I didn't liked the implementation around the interwebzz) and implement a lot of behavior for these chibis: there are 21 actions, 15 conditions, and 2 decorators; some of them to handle multi-agent communication. Moreover, debugging this without any visual tool is like hugging the devil itself. I've lost approximately 14 hours only on this. So, despite of apparently simple, the development was really heavy.

- WHAT IS MISSING: Sound at all; dynamic environment; more chibi styles; more levels; and more mechanics to avoiding repetitiveness.

- HOW TO PLAY: You only have to let the couples talking; click & drag meddler chibis, the rain and the bird in order to avoid interruption of conversations.

# CONTACT

* Email: renato.ppontes at gmail dot com
* Site: http://guineashots.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#234Graphics3.65
#369Innovation3.41
#400Humor2.57
#833Theme2.82
#849Mood2.65
#940Overall2.80
#1000Audio1.40
#1170Fun1.98

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

Cool idea, but it is so slow and boring.
Maybe not my kinda game but it is just doing things over and over

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

Great concept, executed in an amusing and pleasant way. Lovely art also.

I feel like a small amount of sound would have gone a long way with this entry, but I still think it's great.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

Fanttum, I feel the same, unfortunately, but I couldn't polish the timing of the game before the deadline. There was some many bugs!!!! Hehe

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39am

Zigsfi, I was really anxious to make a music for this game, its a shame I couldn't do that in time.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

Looks nice but it needs to be more intuitive.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Jupitron, any suggestion?

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

clever idea. mostly a sit and watch game. it has potential, and the art is nice.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29am

This was a tough one to judge. Fun was 1/5; very, very slow game with almost no interaction. However, the parts done well were indeed done well, so overall an okay game.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29am

Graphics are simple, yet a great stylistic choice. The game starts out extremely slow and any actions I do don't really seem to have any effect on the outcomes, which is disappointing, because there is a lot of potential here for an interesting game.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30am

This is such a creative idea and I was laughing really hard here trying to juggle them all! Gratz :)

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

Thank you guys for the time and consideration

Kaelaholme says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Like the art style, just wish there was more interactivity

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

Mmm i think you can try to put the tutorial in game, even if the game isnt complex at all, a text with "drag couples" will help a lot. Hope it helps, the game looks amazing!

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10am

I like your graphics, for sure!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:34am

I think if you worked on this game more post-competition, you could turn it into something really awesome! Great job!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:26pm

good approach of the theme, I like the gameplay!

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Thank you guys, and thank you for the tip, Jupitron.

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice concept, but yeah, there isn't a whole lot to do. It's ok :)

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Interesting idea, not much gameplay.

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35pm

I really like this concept - it would work pretty well as a mobile game if you could fling things away from couples!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26am

As others have said, there's a bit too much sitting around and waiting. On the third level, I needed 12 people, and they just wouldn't talk to each other. After about 5 minutes of moving the same cloud and bird, two of them finally started talking near the left edge, and before I could even see it, they got mad because of a cloud. Cool concept, great art, clever twist on the theme, it just lacks a bit in the execution department.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Congrats on your game! Despite reading the instructions a few times I didn't really get what I was supposed to do. I stuck with it for a while and finally got it though and once I did I started to enjoy it. Just a bit slow for me personally and yeah it would have benefited from some audio etc. Cheers, Ben.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13am

I was having fun up until the level with get 8...but then it needed to mix it up (got bored). Kudos to you for the diversity. Liked the idea; I'd encourage you to keep working it after LD is over.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:47am

Nice idea, but not too much to do game wise, but if you work on the concept a bit i can definately see a nice game in there.
Great Gfx.

Goutye says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Interesting theme interpretation! Nice graphics!

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07pm

The best use of theme I have encountered so far. Fabulous job.

hadesfury says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:40pm

A behavior tree in 48h great perf !
You should push a post-compo version that show more the behavior of your shibis

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:40am

Hi there. Misread LoveCraft as Lovecraft, so was expecting something completely different (more Cthulu, less twee). However... Played to the 0/12 level in Tutorial. Shame no sounds as you said. Ended up just flinging everything not a couple to left or right to keep them out of the way. Interesting mechanic as love simulation. Liked the 'talk about this'->Happy mechanic. Great icons and set design. Good job!

renatopp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Thank you all guys, I`m short of time these weeks but I planning to make a technical post in 1 or 2 days.

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:56am

Great graphics!! The concept of this game is very interesting! The game's pace is quite slow but it gets hard as the levels go on. I wish they could talk more, a lot of them pass by each other and nothing happens. A background music will add a lot to the game! Good jog though!

renatopp says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I wrote a post in blog describing the process of development of this game

http://guineashots.com/2014/09/03/my-experience-within-ludum-dare-30/

klianc09 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Sounds good on paper, but it's so slow that it just wasn't fun anymore. Although good job on implementing behaviour trees.
Also music and sounds would have probably helped keeping it interesting.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:00am

Lovely little game. It has a few bugs here and there and it lacks animation and music. As other players have pointed out it's a tad too slow.

Having said that, for a 48h game you did an outstanding job! I haven't seen a game like this yet. Graphics are nice and the idea is original. I like the fact you took such a different approach to the theme!

Lythom says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Hi there, here's somme feedback about your game :

What I liked :
- atmosphere, peaceful and clean.
- characters jumping all around (pretty alive)
- A playble finished game

What imo could be improved :
- more feedbacks on relashionship progress.
- more interactions than just cutting conversations and adjusting placement.
- I don't feel the bird and the cloud being good interactions because it doesn't intricate smoothly with the core gameplay which is about making relations. The "jealous" penality is a very good one, the bird is not.

The realization is really good, I'm sure you can make some amazing things with some bette gameplay choices =)
Thanks for the game !

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:28pm

My idea and yours are kinda similar in terms of handling the theme, while they're completely different in gameplay. Your game has amazing graphics, and the concept of couples not getting along is cool. Although it's apparent that the game is not yet finished, I feel that it has potential and you should continue developing it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]