Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Horror

by arzi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space Horror is a turn-based space exploration game heavily inspired by the Arkham Horror board game. You explore planets in a strange dimension connected to both earth and many fictional universes, trying to prevent the alien Kalma horde from overrunning earth.

I ran out of time pretty seriously this time around, which means the game is far from finished (maybe I should have picked a little simpler design) and quite buggy, but it should be playable from start to finish.

Here's some pointers on how to play the game:

* The goal is to build five portals. Each portal costs 10 Energy Cubes (EC).
* Each planet (excluding the starting one) has a random number of EC orbiting it. The cubes are automatically harvested when you move to the planet.
* One of the planets has a (relatively common) random event that respawns EC around the planets.

* Each turn (after you visit a planet), all the enemy ships in the game generate some Horde Strength.
* If Horde Strength reaches 100, you lose the game.
* Every 3 turns, a new Horde ship is spawned on a random route.


UPDATE: Here's a Post-LD build, which should be clearer and actually possible to win: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/31/space-horror-alpha-2-build/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#219Humor2.96
#298Graphics3.51
#403Theme3.44
#404Mood3.17
#446Overall3.31
#545Fun3.06
#741Innovation2.91

Comments

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Pretty fun, although it is really missing some sort of audio (even placeholder audio)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

The mechanics aren't bad (I'm not a fan of the genre) but the game overall doesn't feels so engaging..

PERECil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Amazed by the graphics, however, I think the gameplay is a bit complex for a 48h compo, like you said in the description. Also, for a guy like me that doesn't know the gameplay of arkham horror, I'm a bit lost. Care to do some kind of tutorial to explain how to play?

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13pm

I don't really get what's going on or what I'm supposed to do but it's still fun somehow :D

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15pm

a bit complex, but still really cool

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Looks really good and plays really well.
I died once and then couldn't really do anything afterwards. Repairkit wasn't working.
But I enjoyed it and the references, too!

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I once played Arkham Horror and... woah. Changing it's setting to SF was great idea.

I really like graphics, but I found it little confusing at first which buttons I can press, and which I can't for now. Making disabled even more darker would be great I think. Also I'd be great if battle window was less transparent (maybe with bolder border?), first fight near that white planet (Blaskhyrk I believe) was little unreadable. And lastly it'd be nice to create some tokens for planets with portals already build on.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Audio would've been nice. It was a fun experience nevertheless.
I don't know how to win this game I collected all the energy cubes on the map and I couldn't send away teams to planets anymore even though I still had 15 crew left. So I was just flying around killing ships until I lose due to the horde growth... :/

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I like this type of game (board game but taking avantage of the possibilities of computers). Remind me out there.
Music + work on the interface and it would be very nice.

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice game! A little hard but I liked the premise. I think the away team mechanics needs work - there's no real reason not to send them down since there's not much indication of what's safe and what isn't. The binary decisions - Meet Them/Ignore - were more interesting because I had to judge whether a situation was safe.

Really cool nonetheless. Very different kind of LD game.

chas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Interesting, but you really gotta hold our hand when it comes to complex mechanics

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Decent game - pretty heavy concept for the short time period but you did good!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

You put a lot of thought and effort into 48 hours. Nice work :)

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

There is a lot of work in this game, but there is too much information. I didn't really understand what to do.

Tifu says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I was enjoying this, but I seem to have gotten stuck somehow, nowhere has any energy cubes, and there's not any away-mission events popping up either... I've been going round and round destroying horde ships - I can now take out even the Juggernaut in one hit - but somehow the horde just keep getting stronger (I get that's just a timer thing, but seeing as I'm an invincible starship of ultimate destruction at this point... pretty sure I can take them on :P) I still need two portals built, and there's just no energy coming from anywhere. I did find one planet that respawned some EC after an away mission, but it only happened once and I've just been stuck at 7 EC ever since =/
Could be really cool if polished up to have better balance and such. Nice idea, enjoyed it up until getting stuck :)

arzi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:11pm

@Tifu (and some others) I'm working on a balance update that should fix the issue. Also in the works better feedback in the early game to make it easier to get into.

Also, if you can win all the Horde ships with a single attack, you can consider yourself a winner, portals or no portals :)

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I'm impressed with what you were able to make in 48 hours. Needed some sound, and I couldn't figure out how to exit the game. I liked the random encounters on the various planets, it added some character to the experience.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:22pm

The graphics is really nice and there was a lot of content in the game! The interface is nice looking but since you can't move them, sometimes they overlap and cause trouble.

rhaasken says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:57pm

I wasn't sure what was going on, but I like the variety of events that happen on each planet. Cool graphics as well. Maybe just a little ambitious for a 48-hour jam.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I like the strange humour found in the descriptions =P Some sounds would have been nice.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:15am

I like the idea and its well made. Only missing thing is sounds... Nice for a compo!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]