Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Worlds

by jprogman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are in a labyrinth, finding the exit. You'll find portals where they take you to different worlds.

Use the arrow keys to move around. You might need to use UP to JUMP later on.

Some hints (shorter version!):
1) Each world has a gold key & a white key.
2) Find the worlds' gold key to access portals.
3) Find the worlds' white key to open a new portal near it.
4) Portals share the same coordinates across each world.
5) Portals warp you in this order: world1, world2, world3, world1, etc.
6) Try re-entering portals.
7) The worlds have the same sized map.

Paraphrased hints:
1) Every world (three in total) has one of each key: a gold key and a white key.
2) Gold keys are needed to have the portal take you to a different world. The number indicates the world that the key belongs to. Find the gold key in the same world you are in to access portals.
3) White keys will create a new portal in the same world with that key. The number indicates the world that the key belongs to. So when you get a white key in one world, try to find the portal that just appeared in that world.
4) Generally, a portal will appear at the same spot across every world. However, a portal may only be in one world, but entering it will bring the portal with you to the next world.
5) A portal will take you to each world sequentially. So, starting in world 1, all portals take you to world 2, then all portals take you to world 3, and all portals in world 3 takes you back to world 1. Therefore, the rotation goes like this: world1...world2...world3...world1...world2...
6) Try entering the same portal more than once. You might find something!
7) The map dimensions for each world are the same and every rooms are used in each map. So if you know the dimensions, use that as a hint to explore each and every rooms.

Good luck finding the exit!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#121Theme3.85
#290Audio3.18
#425Overall3.33
#508Mood3.05
#565Fun3.04
#649Innovation3.04
#740Humor2.08
#849Graphics2.64

Comments

duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

I couldn't figure out how to get past the pink world. The game description is bugged out right now, so maybe I missed something. I loved the sound and liked the graphics a lot too. There wasn't much mechanically, but I could have missed something. I will try it again later when the LD page is working again.

duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

EDIT: I got to the third world after some help. Not sure how I missed the key.

Anyways, I did not find the maze itself to be all that interesting, but the mixup with the mechanics in the third area was pretty cool! The awesome sound and music, in addition to the visuals kept me going more than the level design, I'd say.

superjoe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

I like the idea of the mechanics changing for each world.

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I liked this game, it takes a little thought. But I would like to have a little less square character

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Very good game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09am

Hi there. Found gold keys 1-3 and white key 1. Really nice retro design and chiptunes. Solid explore/platformer (when jump used...) Good job!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21am

Nice game really liked it but portals to worlds were a bit confusing for me i didnt know where im going i have gone with a portal, nice game

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Great entry! I liked the retro/minimalistic design.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04am

I did not complete it. Was fun, well done! :-)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46am

That was confusing, but I did win!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:38pm

At first I was iffy, but I like the way that bloom world becomes a sort of map world for the other two, especially cloud world.

However, I cannot for the life of me find the dark world white key. I really feel like I've looked everywhere in every world.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Oh, nice music by the way! It did get a bit grating after a while though. the dark world music held up the best.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:11am

Thanks everyone for your feedback thus far! :D
If you all want, I can provide a short walkthrough of this game.

Interface says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

Well done. Simple and addictive. Finding the exit kept me busy for a bit there.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

This game would be easier if I wasn't stubborn and wrote down a map.

It would be nice to have WASD in addition to arrow keys!

The music reminds me a bit of pokemon, but unfortunately I had to mute it eventually so I didn't go totally crazy. :P

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:40am

This is really good - kind of reminded me of the dungeons in top down Zelda games. Very clever design for 48 hours work.

I liked the audio changing between worlds. It cemented the feeling of being in a different zone.

I enjoyed this game a lot. Thank you for sharing it!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:06am

Wow! This game is so cool, I beat it out without any help, otehr than the one in the description, and gam itself that told me press any key to continue! :3 I began giving up, until I found where the other keys were! Finally to the door of victory! I liked how the physics changed in the cloud world, nice graphics, even for a box game, and like the music too! Wonderful job well done for a Ludum Dare compo entry! :D

pjchardt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:43am

great entry! Very polished. Interesting puzzle. Took me some time to pick up on the fact I could go back through a portal I just exited, but everything seemed to fall in place at just the right time that it felt very organic to progress.

psychonull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:14am

Nice game and confusing, which is awesome!.

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:14am

The simple graphics suited it! Rather good level design for the short period of time, good puzzles and such. Kudos!

slumber says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:16am

great game! I liked a lot about this game. I liked the switching of the worlds and the different mechanics in the worlds. I liked the worlds layout and enjoyed the treasure hunt that you set up. I also liked the audio loop. I felt there could have bin more time put into the art and the art for the worlds. The game also isn't difficult at all. Just took a bit of time looking for stuff. All in all I enjoyed it. I never figure out how to get the white key though.

Zathnic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:47pm

The music of art style in this reminds me of Rat Maze! Not really my style, but interesting. The second world could have used a third mechanic, maybe automatically moving up and down and bouncing off the walls, only being able to steer left and right like in Crillion?

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:03am

Simple yet very good, I like the music and how you must jump later, cool, nicely done!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Nice game! I like occasional change of gravity direction. Good job.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:50am

I'm not always a big fan of maze-like games, but I liked this one. I liked the retro-style graphics and sound, and the maze was pretty cleverly designed with regards to walls and portal placement. A really solid entry!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

I had a hard time getting white keys...

AlexDJones says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I liked the way that the Cloud World switched things up from a maze game to a platformer, and that the maps corresponded to each other. I wasn't too keen on the music in the Bloom World but everywhere else it seemed to work.

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

Thanks again for your feedback you all! :)
I've added a walkthrough as a screenshot for your help.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:51pm

interesting, but not very challenging, gj anyway!

Teesquared says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

Fun game. I like the gravity twist on the last world. Looks like an ATARI 2600 game which is great.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:06am

Pretty nice. The music sets a nice atmosphere.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I simply forgot where i had gone before and where i have not.
Maybe a hud containing 3 areas of 4x4 fields, where each field is either filled or not filled, depending on whether you have already visited that field on that world, would have helped?
Atleast the white key portals should have been of different color!

Nice game, anyway!

t4u says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:32am

I made it to 3G+1W. The fun was the first jump into blue world(omg jumping!). Another funny thing is player design - I have used green squares of the same color as alpha version templates in my game.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:55am

Nice exploration game. Once I understood that these three worlds indeed overlap, it got much easier and was just a matter of time until I found everything after searching everywhere.
Would have been cool if all three worlds would have had different physics.

Aborysa says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:23pm

@kliance09 the last one sort of had :P

mystakin says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I dig the atari vibe and the design/interlocking of the three worlds. Really cool entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]