Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Constelation Builder.

by grifdail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions
------------
Use the arrow to move. You may use down or space to break but you'll probably don't want to.
Use space or enter in the menu.
Work best in chrome.

Goal
----
Race to connect the stars and avoid the black holes or asteroid.
Don't forget to share you highscore !

Tips
----
Like in mariokart, snaking and hard turn give you a boost.

Aknowledgment
-------------
Thank to everyone who attend the Paris meet up ! It was awesome ! Thank to everyone who wish me a birthday and especialy Victor. Thank to the whole ludum dare community. And finaly, thank you for playing.

It's not quite polished as i wanted but I think it's still far better than my previous entry

Please leave a comment to tell me if you liked it (or not), and why ! And please share it with your friend if you think it's worth it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#169Theme3.77
#207Fun3.50
#364Mood3.22
#391Overall3.37
#452Graphics3.23
#500Innovation3.24
#560Audio2.71

Comments

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

Ow. My ears.
the audio is WAY to loud and to high pitched. other than that the game is kinda fun :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

nice game, had fun playing it and i like the music

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Really liked the sharp graphics, audio was a tad loud but the game was fun!

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Pretty cool spaceshippy game. Could maybe make it more challenging by showing the player the constellation they're supposed to draw and have them decide which stars to go to, instead of pointing them to the next star.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Pah, lies: works best in chrome - it just does not work at all in Firefox :) Guess i had to switch to Chromium... Lol, then i got Highscore: NaN!

Anyway, nice game - flying from world to world reminds me of mine. :)

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I got fun by playing it good entry !
I'm just sad I have to play with 480px resolution when I have en fHD screen xD

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31am

I particularly liked how you zoom out with speed. Nice touch!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45pm

nice, well done

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Really love your game. Good job.

maloki says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Music and sounds were indeed loud. Love the controls! I miss games with those type of controls.... :P Movement was solid and fun!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Too high pitched audio, had to turn the music off too. Controls feels slick and tight and the idea is fun though.

Loren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:52pm

this was super fun! I really liked it, nice job!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I really enjoyed this game. Thank you! The gameplay is very good and I like the audio, nice design too. Great entry! :)

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17pm

So Yolo, love it.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:31am

Hi there. Had fun flying around for a bit, found some planets. Couldn't link to them - no keyboard or mouse seemed to do anything. In-game help would be good. On positive side: like the drift, the engine noise, the gridlines and the way the star motion catches up if you do stop. Good job - wish it had instructions how to play in game...

sikosis says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:29am

Well I can turn the music on and off, but that seems it.

mystakin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:16am

Simple, fun game! Took me a second to figure out exactly how it worked, but once it clicked I enjoyed it thoroughly. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]