Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Convergence

by Pheonise - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two worlds are converging; pulled between the two, what could possibly be happening?

YOU CAN ADJUST SENSITIVITY BY PRESSING P, THEN SLIDING THE SLIDER!

Updated the builds to fix a couple missed bugs and include source!

Controls:
Move: WASD or Left Thumbstick
Look: Mouse or Right Thumbstick
Interact: Left Mouse Button or X (XBox)
Jump: Space or A (XBox)

Pause: P

In the Pause menu, you can adjust the sensitivity if you need.

I'm pretty proud of this. This time I made everything needed - models, textures, code, audio, etc.; everything was done. Sure, it's not the best (or good, for that matter), but I did it! Next time, I'll work on the quality more!

Concept stayed roughly the same since the beginning, but the actual gameplay took a different turn about half-way through. The main concept was solving puzzles by jumping between worlds. If you ran into an obstacle in one world, you could switch over to the other, and it wouldn't be there.
The downside to this, was that puzzles weren't puzzles anymore; you could just switch at will.
So I changed it to activating a sort of pedestal, so that I could control where and when the dimensions should change.

Levels were still hard to create, though, and in the end, only a couple puzzles were made (the couple hours of sleep over the whole event didn't help as much as I'd hoped, either).

I did, however, make a pretty neat-looking boss/enemy accidentally! I'll definitely be using him in other projects in the future!

That's all I can think to say for now; hope you enjoy!
(Note: I'll upload the source code after I sleep)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#79Audio3.69
#124Overall3.73
#144Mood3.55
#317Graphics3.48
#378Humor2.63
#413Fun3.21
#430Theme3.42
#538Innovation3.18

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02am

this was such a cool experience... when that black hole started coming at me i freaked, good sound effect for it too. One question, at the end of the game it said assignment failed... is there a way to beat and succeed?

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

Nicely done! What struck me the most (strangely enough) was the skybox- reminded me very much of that movie Cube.

Pheonise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

PapaCheech: Thanks! As for the end, the assignment isn't FOR you; you ARE the assingment. The Assignment Failed means you got away, which is basically the win-condition. I guess I was a little too vague with that ;P

Lacaranian: Thanks! Cube is a great movie, and has influenced a tonne of my design choices since I saw it all those years ago! :)

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I wasn't falling in the room where the black thing appears, seems like there's an invisible ground, so I got stuck instead of dying.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very nice game. Like implementation and use of theme. Sound effects are brilliant.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

OMG That was brilliant!
And only 48 hours making it!
Reminded me of a superb game called "Antechamber"
and luckily I'm a big fan of Antechamber so your game just
earned my first 5/5.
BTW: awesome voice acting and mood!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Quite good game but the sensitivity of the mouse is soooooo slow.. I had to throw my mouse 2 meters away to make a 90° turn.. Anyway the sounds are nice and also the graphics.. Only the controls doesn't feel good 4/5

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08pm

voice over makes the simple visuals work, though I had trouble understanding what was being said. I tried gamepad controls and the sensitivity for the right stick was so low it was unusable, had to switch to mouse. Maybe I could control the sensitivity runnign a standalone build, but I played the webplayer. Good default settings can go a long way, try to budget your time to have some more play-testing before submission.
There is a graphics artifact that presents as an obnoxious step in the size of grid lines at certain distances away from the player. This could be solved by disabling mip-maps on the grid textures.
Good job, nice entry.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41pm

WoW, very good game, I liked this game the most so far in LD30. It's the first game where i didn't rate anything under 4 stars :D
I had only 1 problem: the mouse was very slow

Pheonise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

To change the sensitivity, press P, and adjust the slider. It was mentioned in the notes :)

Thanks everyone for the comments and ratings so far!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice! Very quick play through. Some times its unclear what to do but I guess that's what games are about! Level design was interesting, I think there's a lot of stuff that could be done with this element! Reminds me of Portal etc.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Fun game, was hard to understand the loud speaker, but I played it through again and got most of what was being said. Thanks

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

The first thing you encounter in this game is also its best strength - the voice acting.
It's really superb and gives the game a great feel!
The graphics are mostly minimalistic which is good, as it fits right in with the afore mentioned vibe.

Gameplay itself lacks a bit, as it is a bit linear and short, although the main mechanic could have been used for more complex levels with the appropriate amount of time. Think of focusing on that part more in next LDs.

Overall a very solid entry! Good job!

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

very nice athmosphere, who needs high-res displacement map..less is more! the straightforward cube textures give the game a great feel and ubercool voice-over, nicely done..

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Thanks for including the mouse slider bar! The sensitivity reset when I got to the green section but I think that may have been on purpose.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

A short, but really interesting story. I like this pure design and minimalist environment, but I think it can be improved. Well done. I want more ++

Navarckyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I really like how spacious it is in there and the high contrast simple black and white with square patterns and stuff works. There wasn't much "puzzle" but I'm sure given enough time you could come up with some good ones. Boss at end reminded me a bit of the portals in The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (not really relevant, just thought I'd point it out).

In the final room I didn't try jumping until it was too late :) Didn't have any idea I'd be pulled up to the staircase. My mistake, should've seen it was a black hole thing ... although black holes would normally keep pulling you in until the very end. Well, it's still a pretty cool boss.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

very atmostpheric game :D I demand more content to be created! :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Hi there. Great look and feel. Sound FX and voices add loads.

LTPATS says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

I liked the overall atmosphere and the overall look of the game was really cool. Subtitles would've helped for me, I didn't catch some of the things that were said. The black particle effect angle demon thing freak me out in a good way. Great work, I'd enjoy playing this more if it was ever expanded on!

eastes says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:19am

clever. very clever

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:47am

everyones said it, slow mouse! But looks great!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Nice game, I liked the atmosphere and gameplay. Puzzles were easy and dimension switching a little vague, but it was fun and got me playing till the end.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]