Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

devoid

by Jake Coxon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Web game written in JavaScript using Phaser JS. Works in Chrome and should work in all modern desktop browsers.

Hopefully you can figure out how to play it, although it's not a new concept. Some things are not 100% because I didn't have time, I would have liked to add more levels, better AI and better sounds and music. Let me know what you think though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#169Theme3.77
#231Graphics3.66
#281Overall3.49
#311Audio3.14
#357Fun3.27
#420Mood3.15
#697Innovation2.99
#910Humor1.68
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08am

Very smooth game, I like the visual style.

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08am

Fascinating - will come back and give it another go during the ratings phase. I did manage to get a green-and-black box to shuttle between planets, I think by clicking almost exactly as one planet transitioned between red and blue. Bug?

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23am

Really cool concept, felt the interface was a bit unresponsive at times, but rewarding in the end.

invi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nice minimalistic visuals! Big fan of mushroom wars. I found myself stuck in a stalemate for the first two levels. The problem is that you don't have the ability to flank their bases when the enemy is busy capturing another control point.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31am

Ohh, lovely. Love the minimal aesthetic and the music :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

I like how you have to micro each ship. But sometimes I am not sure which base I have selected. I like the slow pace.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41am

I really love the colors, the visual style and the music! I was still figuring out exactly what was happening when I clicked the circles but it seemed interesting!

remmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41am

this looks really great, i love the art and the minimalistic design!
though it's kinda hard, i had already problems at level 2 ^^'

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

Cool graphics. I am a fan of galaxian-like mechanics) The game is smooth and great looking. But, I think click-drag-release would perform better than click-click.

Xenolupus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

Beautiful, absolutely beautiful.

plash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

Nice visual design. Reminds me of Eufloria. The transitions are super smooth. Good work on the controls, but it took me a while to realize I could drag to direct more ships.

My usual nitpicking:

- Music is repetitive, but the musical sound effects are a nice touch.
- Ships aren't aligned with transit lines exactly.
- As far as I can see, there're no new gameplay elements added. It's pretty dull with so few levels (unless my sleepless brain is playing tricks on me).

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

Interesting mechanic, the aesthetics are very slick, and the music compliments it well! A bit difficult and occasionally frustrating, though :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

Nice feel to the game. Good use of the theme.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32am

Interesting concept and minimalist environment. Good ++

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39am

Good fun! Sure got tired of clicking, though. ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

oh man this is by far my favorite ludum dare game. i dont know how you managed to make that so polished in terms of both gameplay and aesthetic so quickly but i commend you for it.

aldonbaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

Smooth game. I couldn't win at all.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

Good minimal RTS game.
Almost easy, but hard to recover from mistake.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01am

Great game! I love how the dots rearrange themselves to show you how many ships you have.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04am

Cool Idea ! Almost like a puzzle game version of Galcon. You could the possibility to restart the level (I think I got stuck in the second level). Also, maybe I didn't understood the controls, but it seems tiresome to click lots of time to send all your fleet, maybe use some drag and drop, I don't know. Anyway, good job !

nbilyk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

I love it, I haven't played a game like this before. I want more, are there only three levels?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30am

Beautiful elegant clean design and was interesting seeing the results of what would occur from the clicks. Didn't have a clue what I was doing but still enjoyed the experience.

TinyHat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

I like this kind of game, however, the symmetrical construction of some levels make them a bit too hard (or long) to beat. I like the clean design :)

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

I want this on my mobile. The controls need a slightly better tutorial, but otherwise I really liked it.

lucienpro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:01am

I really like this game. It had a minimalistic style so it's simple but effective strategy could be examined easily. Good Job. Please, please, make more on this game, it's really fun!

d__adee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34am

I love it! :) The simple style of the game and the game mechanic fits really well. :) I hope to see more levels on this xD

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58am

Easy and smooth, I like the html5, so much easier to test & crossplatform :)
Nice entrie but i will like more level.

Strkl says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

Cool smooth visuals ! But I have to say the gameplay reminds me a LOT of galcon :(

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59am

Great execution, I love the art. And it starts nice with explaining mechanics.

Canyon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

Yes, it is a lot like Galcon. But I prefer the twist of not being able to manufacture units straight away, that there is a no mans land that last longer, where as in Galcon ownership changes the moment you have wiped the enemy and have one unit.

It changes the strategy, where attacking one world is strategically more sound than do a massive sprawl attack.

If this was expanded on, I would buy it for iPad. I love the visual design too. When I was using the, it was quite frustrating - but at some point I started touching the screen and it made the game flow so much more.

I don't mind that it is Galcon's mechanic, because if that stopped us making games we'd only have Wolfenstein and Jumpman to play.

The delivery makes it worth while.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Looks solid.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49am

Excellent concept, nice simple visuals. Interface a wee bit problematic (sometimes sent stuff backwards when a click wasn't registered), but it's a small issue for what is a smart game. Well done.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

Amazing game, well done

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

I wish there were more levels, the game is really fun. Please release a new version in the future with more levels and players.

that-matt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Really liked the way the gameplay was introduced - showing folks how to play without any instructions was a neat idea! The artwork was very well done, and the music suited the gameplay. I could play this game for hours. :)

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Love the graphics, really challenging level 2. Couldn't complete it.

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Good game. The mechanics are good although I found the last level quite easy. The AI did not seem to focus on controlling nodes as much so I found it easy to deny them nodes and pull dots(?) from the back up to the front.

Other than that it was an excellent game.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Nice :D This can be great on android!

Mezzenstein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I couldn't beat that level from the screenshot. Everytime I was sending 2 units to the spot in the middle, the enemy did the same :D

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Simple, but very polished design! Quit fun. Hard but not unmanageable.

egdob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Really nice - certainly not a cakewalk though! I'm not an RTS newbie but by level 2 it felt like I'd landed myself in a stalemate. Balance aside, it'd make a cool tap-happy tablet game that I'd happily spend hours on.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Art style is superb, also very difficult game, It could be very good on mobile.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Well this is a really fun game. I loved the graphics, they are really cool if even taking a minimalist.

I liked how fluid it is to play the game and how it required strategy not just clicking around.
The sounds were OK, didn't resonate with me, but it is a matter of taste.

The gameplay was really innovative in the way of how the worlds connect and the theme was really easy to get out of it.

Very good game all in all.
Well done! :D

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice style and I love how you can't move beyond the first connected world. Clean style, but I do find myself wishing I could immediately send all new units to a different world.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I love the clean minimalistic style and the deep beat.

sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Lot of potential for a mobile game

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice feel and well executed little twists to classical galcon experience. Good job!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Lovely game, it's simplicity works well and it's very fun. It's quite hard though and doesn't seem to add anything new when the player gets better at the game

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Fun, had a little trouble moving ships very quickly

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Very cute minimalist style game. Really loved them music and colours. I did find myself getting stuck in a bit of a stalemate a lot, but I may just be bad at it :P

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Pretty relaxing. Music was a bit dull but fine. Concept itself wasn't earth shattering, but nice to play nonetheless :)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

We have the same last name... 0.0 and we both made similar games ahaha. Visual style is great. Music is very bassy but good still. More levels would be great, although the idea isn't super original the execution is great.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Cool game, very tricky, nice strategic game mechanics. GFX is simple but stylish, soundtrack is a little to slow. Like it very much.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Great game. Art style is awesome

Fülo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Cool Visuals and Sound.

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very nice. I would most certainly pay for this game if it had more levels and maybe some form of multiplayer. Great Job!

Bernte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Man that is a smooth game. Took some time to understand what to do ^^ Actually I really like the breathing of the "worlds".

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice... already cloning this. HAHA j/k

MadApples says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I loved this game, wished it has way way way more levels!!! that's how indicting it is

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I really like the strategy involved in this. The clicking got tiresome, and I wasn't too sure if I had won or not, but the presentation was nice and the idea was there.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Seems like no matter how fast I click on level 2 (I think?), I couldn't keep control(?) of the middle sphere. Needs more balancing maybe?

Music is alright. Graphics are great though.

foobraco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Really like the visual style and the music, very relaxing.

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

Stylish, reminds me of Risk. :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:27am

I played this on my iPad and it's great.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04am

Nice concept.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13am

I like this kind of gameplay. Had some problems with the controls, always forget to deselect planets, and send ships to the wrong one. But the idea is super)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44am

Nice minimal design, the sounds are great. I did run into a few balance issues where the cpu and I were in stalemate. Nonetheless a great take on this concept.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Great little strategy game! I really enjoyed the minimalist style. The rules were a little confusing to figure out at first - namely, the fact that each spaceship represents half the ships at the planet it comes from.

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Thank you all so much for your feedback. I know some things are a bit confusing and there are a few little bugs so I'm working on improving it, adding more levels and I will releasing it for mobile

Moist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Brilliant! Sylish, elegant and absolutely addicting. I had troubles grasping the machanics at first but when I did I had lots of fun. Well done.

siat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04am

Great game, I love the idea. Really beautifully done! It would be nice to have a couple of levels you could jump to if you got stuck on one.

Eduardo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice!

korigame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

Really well done! I couldn't finish the second level sadly. It would be really great on the iPad with some iteration :D

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:05am

Simplistic the way I like it! Slow pace isn't for me though.

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Yeah this is great. Simple concept, difficulty is spot on, visual style is perfect.

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36pm

nice galcon clone

sekaru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:35am

Loved the game - the mechanic was well executed and the minimalistic style worked great. I had one situation on the second level where me and the AI were fighting for that middle point and it seemed like there was no way for either of us to win. Might just be me being inept though.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17am

Loved the game very much. Besides the graphics and sounds, the gameplay is very very sound. I love games that make you think and i liked the learning curve on this one. Again, very well done :)

Simon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Very awesome, great visuals and mood but it feels like sometimes you just have to click frenetically to get past a certain point. I guess it lacks certain automatics to ease the work :). Anyway, great job!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Smooth looking, the clicking gets a bit odd, but well done I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/RYkx3DRuabw

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:27am

Hi there. Nice presentation of the concept with clean controls. Balance seems a bit too perfect sometimes - I think level 3 just becomes a 'who can click fastest after ship dot appears' competition sustained over about 3 minutes. Nice sounds too. Good job!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:11am

Sweet game, beautiful and well made!

recursor says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Hey this is quite a fun game. I like the minimalist, yet aesthetically pleasing graphics. The music goes along pretty good with it all too.

lightsoda says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:41pm

The first couple of levels makes it pretty evident how it works. Overall pretty well done.

Larzan says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Good idea, well executed, love the colors and the clean design, wish there were more levels :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]