Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Outer Shibe: Much Space

by PixelOaks - Jam Entry

Outer Shibe: Much Space
Wow! Such space! Many stars

Controls:
- WASD/Arrows: wow move
- Left Click [Hold]: much shoot
- Right Click [Hold]: tractor beam - much absorb - very planets
- Middle Click: such slow shoot - so pro
- Spacebar: drop planet - so heavy

- F - Fullscreen
- [ and ] - Zoom

Objective:
- Shoot foes - get money - Fly to sun - many upgrades
- Wow - Absorb planets - Take to sun - such hero
- Don't die - much noob

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Fun(Jam)3.61
#97Humor(Jam)3.35
#152Mood(Jam)3.57
#213Audio(Jam)3.42
#226Overall(Jam)3.43
#419Graphics(Jam)3.30
#466Innovation(Jam)2.89
#501Theme(Jam)2.89
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice job! This plays well. Nice, fast action. I was cynical at first but you have pulled off something fun!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41am

I love the feel of the movement.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41am

Thanks!

SupSuper says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Much game wow fun

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Nice! Very fast paced which means lots of fun for me. Good work!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Also like the feel of the movement, but the firing wasn't responsive.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

I really don't like the meme spouting, but the game itself is absolute blast! The controls are super slick and the music is great!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

I think I must've played this for half an hour. I love overhead shooters like this.

My only gripe is, I didn't quite get the point of picking up planets and dropping them - I figured out eventually that I could make them slot into the "Planet Drop" circles around the suns, but nothing happened when I got a full set. :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

This was a neat game! I especially liked how you let us figure out what we were supposed to do and how we were supposed to do it on our own. The whole doge thing seemed a little out of place and I couldn't figure out the end goal was once I'd gone about upgrading everything. However, it was really fun and fast-paced, and I thought you did a wonderful job overall on getting the balance polished. Thanks for the game!

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07am

Sorry, we weren't able to implement the endgame. We planned on having a giant space monster come around eating planets and the only thing that can kill it is the connected power of the planetary circle. Doge was suppose dto be a flavor/polish thing.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07am

Thanks for your nice comments though :D

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20am

Linking planets was going to unlock upgrades, but I think we forgot to do that somewhere along the line - Dan

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41am

Would be nice to have the planets follow the player, but overall really nice!

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

I was missing some sort of way to tell where I could find the sun, something that's apparently so important for the game should always be highlighted in some way I feel.

The enemies kept me from playing with the tractor-beam. I really liked the upgrade screen and the pixel Shiba-Inu robot.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

Had a fair ammount of fun with this before it froze and crashed my browser.

I like the pixel art versions of the dog! Some good gameplay ideas too, I liked the tractor beam and upgrades at the sun!

Much stars!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Love the pixel dog suit. As mentioned above could have done with a radar or sun indicator. Shame there's no ending. Good stuff.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:56am

Very fun, much sounds :) Nice entry!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36am

Much good! XD I liked it a lot! :D

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Hilariously good fun!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:22am

Hi there. Plays nicely, but couldn't get any planets to move... tractor beam too feeble and 'snaps' all the time. Also too much to fight to spend time on planets. The combat was fast even from start. Nice ship/AI movement patterns. Good job!

sephyka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Haha, very fun and dynamic playability. I really like this kind of stuff. It is exatcly what I'm not able to do. Good music too, good mood!

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Great game! Controls really well! Wow!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]