Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boat/Mouth

by PeteGrammarman - Jam Entry

Here is a game about surviving as long as possible. I didn't have time to make an ending or a way of keeping track of how long you survive BUT IT MIGHT BE FUN ANYWAY?

Controls:
WASD and Arrows (you use both)
E to throw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#78Humor(Jam)3.48
#87Innovation(Jam)3.68
#156Graphics(Jam)3.97
#186Fun(Jam)3.39
#244Theme(Jam)3.47
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#333Mood(Jam)3.17
#610Audio(Jam)2.00

Comments

coyyonce says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22am

I love the art for this game. It's a fairly unique style. The gameplay, of controlling two sides at once, is great as well. I also think that the odd pairing of feeding the mouth and the objects dropping on the boat side is cool.

I did find that controlling the boat was quite challenging.

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27am

A lot of cursing happened in my living room :D fun stuff!

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27am

I love how you have to be on two very different worlds at once. And it's very funny. I didn't quite understand how i'm i supposed to win this one, or the controls did'nt work for me. I suppose i wanted to put the stuff on both sides of the boat to make it heavier and more stable but dropping the objects didn't work. Great game anyway. Keep up the good work!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46am

Cool take on the theme. A timer or score keeper would definitely be handy, but it's certainly fun right now too!

Very enjoyable. I think some sound effects could really put this game over the top.

One thing I noticed is that if I hold 'up' on the boat side, I can often keep her alive indefinitely as the boat spins in 360s. She'll eventually get thrown off and die, but for a while she'll either be stuck in the middle of the boat or flying up really high through the air.

Anyway, great concept, great art, I really enjoyed it.

whack47 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17am

Art is good yes. I felt like I was patting my head and rubbing my belly lol!

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18am

Fantastic art and game is pretty hard, but make lots of fun. Great entry.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35am

This game was funny! At one point I ended up on top of the boat which had rotated to be upside down, but I was still alive. :P

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48am

Nice graphics and cool innovation!

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52am

Great idea. i could see myself coming back if you worked on it more.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55am

Haha, what a bizarre concept! I enjoyed it just for that.

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20am

This is a Thing of Beauty! Loved the quirkiness, the art style and the control system. Just needs a timer and some bouncy music. Really good fun!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:29am

Hi. Not played yet. Unity loading screen reports I need new version, but I have latest and all other Unity games have worked fine.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18am

Awesome graphical style and challenging game! Agree with previous comment, needs bouncy music. :D

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Awesome take on the theme! It's super difficult to balance the two sides, but it's a lot of fun!

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Amazing graphics for such short time! Shame you didn't get to wrap everything up in time, would of have been a interesting thing to see finished.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45am

Our game concepts are pretty similar. Your graphics are lovely. It's really hard to keep the boat stable - even if you're not feeding the mouth - but satisfying if you can.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16am

great idea. also, i really like the visual concept.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22am

That's some fun stuff. Hard, but fun. As others have said, a score timer would have been the final touch to make this a proper game, but it's fun nonetheless.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:30am

Cute art

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Haha, I flipped the boat. Nice game, cool art. Liked that you had physics on the water.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

The art-style is really good! Good job!

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Lots of fun :)

TautNerve says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Cool multi-tasking and really nice art!
I've always wanted a boat and mouth themed game O;

brokenbeach says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:38am

Man this art work is really great. The giant muscley character was funny, and the boat gameplay was really fun. There were some hilarious glitches involving the water though. Those waves went insane really quickly.

Thanks for this submission. I really had fun playing it.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Totally bizarre and original, if perhaps a little underdeveloped. It's a shame that you ran out of time. The water was very well done.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice art and presentation. Fun to play and very humorous. Controlling two different actions is hard!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]