Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Transport Tycoon

by BMacIntosh - Jam Entry

A game in 48 hours by Brian MacIntosh and Justin Britch. Made in HTML5 using ThreeJS

Set up manufacturing and shipping pipelines to build a thriving interstellar economy. Explore uncharted systems in search of rare an valuable materials. Control the spice.

CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT TO DO?

First read the in-game help (at the top-right of the screen). Then, find a planet with a blue Manufacturing circle next to it. Try to move the appropriate materials there to manufacture that good. Ultimately, your goal is to move the goods in the red Demand circles to those planets to sell them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#99Theme(Jam)3.76
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#487Humor(Jam)2.13
#487Overall(Jam)3.06
#532Graphics(Jam)2.98
#597Fun(Jam)2.64
#618Mood(Jam)2.61
#629Audio(Jam)1.83

Comments

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Cool concept. I had some issues with the controls, for example I accidentally hit command-a (on a mac) and I couldn't regain control of the game. The trade route menus were also a little confusing.

I liked the financial and exploration aspects the most. This is my favorite type of game, I would love to see more if you continue it.

Leginar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

I love the idea, and was really impressed with the result. Took a while to get the hang of, but well worth the effort.

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38am

Very impressive ingame systems you have going on. It takes a while to figure out things, and there are things that could be streamlined (such as only displaying import/export for things you have available). No audio, which is a shame, but a nice entry nevertheless :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

I like the way you implemented the different interfaces, it feels very uncluttered while providing all the information. One tiny issue with the drop down ship options ('when full' etc) is that if you try to choose while over the planetary view they won't work. Of course you can just scroll down a bit, but thought I'd point it out anyway. Nice work :)

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice Idea! I kind of like the idea of connecting planets with traderoutes.

Skywilly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very cool concept & a great idea of the theme.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

I'd like to see it continued too - love this kind of game. Good entry!

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Lots of depth here. Will probably come back for more. I would love to see a full featured version of this.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice idea

gnerkus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

This game is HUGE! It was a little too slow for me.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:08am

A tutorial would be nice. The game seems to have a very in-depth gameplay, so it would be nice if there was an easier way to learn the basics.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Quite complex and a nice take on the theme. Would be great to have some sort of tutorial to ease the player into the game. Good work!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:56pm

very nice

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:57pm

This was hard to get the hang of, but once I did get it I was hooked! Like others have said, limiting the import/export options to what is available would have helped and sound would've been nice, but this was a great entry!

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I liked the idea, a space transport tycoon is just a really nice twist on the standard one, but I found the game a bit slow to start, on transport tycoon I always find I can start up a route really quickly and start making money.

It would be good to have some audio feedback as well as a button to plot out roots as opposed to selecting planets and connecting them through text buttons.

Nice idea though, I hope it gets developed further!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:50am

A fun idea, but the pace is a bit slow. Also, I still don't understand how it actually works.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:07am

Hi there. Interesting idea. Like the organisation of UI on galactic map/LHS, not so keen on the HTML UI parts. Problem with random generation of starting area, sometimes I get possible combinations of demand and manufacture, sometimes NO demands at all, sometimes demands I cannot manufacturer. Doesn't feel like a starting level... Shame no sound.

Miziziziz says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:17am

Seems like it could be a really cool game, but I just can't understand it.
I walked away for a while, and when I came back I had $430000 somehow

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:34am

That's nice work you did there. Complex game mechanics are awesome. Still, tutorial would be good.
Also, you need to add "Nothing" option to export/import selects.

Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:20am

We considered going for this kind of game :D I played it for some time, it seems the initial conditions are quite important for your success. The game is quite hard to grasp. It took me some time to figure out that by ctrl-clicking I could import/export multiple resources, it would have been better to have a checkbox interface for this, or better yet selecting a product and a direction (if one planet exports you always want the other to import). Also, it's not very easy to figure out effective trade routes, especially because of the limited view. I like the animations of the ships and cargo floating to/from the planets. I think the best improvement would be to give the player a concrete, reachable goal to finish the game.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Wahou ! So complex and deep ! What a huge work ! Bravo

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:36am

Wow, you designed all this in 48h? Nice! I do have to admit that a lot of this game is going over my head at the moment, but it's clear that a lot of effort & thought went into it, especially the informative UI. The main thing holding this game back for me is a lack of concise instructions (the provided ones are much appreciated but it's hard to use them as quick referrals), given how many controls there are, but that's not too much of an issue for a 48h game. It would be cool to see an expanded version of this to see where you can take it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]