Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Multifaceted

by Riley Adams - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A set of abstract, tessellated worlds lie interconnected in a never-ending cylinder. Weave between worlds, through portals. Avoid obstacles while earning the biggest score possible.

A first person flying game, mindless arcadey fun (I hope...).

---------------------------------------------------

Only thoroughly tested in Chrome. Firefox seems to work. All bets are off for IE/Safari.

I'm hoping to port to mobile Chrome (ideally with support for Google Cardboard and similar VR headsets).

---------------------------------------------------

Note: Hosting isn't final. So come back later if the link's acting up.

---------------------------------------------------

Made with WebGL, using gl-matrix.js.

I used Blender for some simple 3D assets, bfxr for audio and cgMusic for music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#12Fun4.13
#65Overall3.85
#99Graphics4.00
#109Audio3.59
#118Mood3.62
#367Humor2.65
#436Theme3.41
#575Innovation3.13

Comments

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Lots of fun, good execution of the concept!

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53am

Being able to peek through the triangles to see what's coming up in the other worlds is a nice touch. The colors are very nice, and the game is, in fact, mindless arcadey fun.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

I like it :) had fun :)

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57am

Very nice feel. For some reason I found it extremely satisfying to dive through the portals. It would have been nice to see a lot more variety amongst dimensions, though.
Also, I totally recognized the song as cgMusic-generated, with its inexplicable love of long drum-rolls.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Hi there. Great random tunnel generation, like the contents, portals and things to collect, nice colours & music. Good job!

glbs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Your game looks really great, the colors are well chosen and the transitions between worlds through portals offer diversity.
I've found that maybe the controls lacked a bit fluidity or movement. I think the overall experience could be much more captivating if there were a kind of rotation when the player moved or if he was evolving around the surface of the tunnel.
Well that's just an opinion, good entry anyway!

RFMTeam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I had a lot of fun going after the multipliers

smizmeal says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Woah! This was extremely good and deserves much more attention. I had a lot of fun playing it. The point system (the rewards for near misses, variety, thinking with portals, etc.) is great fun from the player point of view. Nice art/music assets as well.

If you added a few more portal levels and obstacles/challenges to up the difficulty (even faster rotation/speed) this is the kind of thing people might pay for :)

Blobby101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:53pm

This is awesome! Gameplay is fun, and I loved the portal effect, totally caught me by surprise at first. Also liked the one time I went though a portal and my controls were inverted, would've liked to see more changes like that between the worlds.

zazery says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:52am

Very nice portal effect. Yellow world is tricky because of the inverse controls. I would have liked to see more variation but what you have works very well.

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:47am

Very fun! Simple but well made game.

Macocco says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very fun! Very polished, however the yellow world always got me (it's a really cool mechanic though)! Really nice audio!

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:41am

Good entry!!!
The change of commands on each stage is so great!
And we have time to learn it. Very good!
GG

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:07am

You, sir, deserve a cookie. One of the best games I've played yet!

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:54am

Really nice take on the theme and execution. I liked the differences between the different worlds, which made you have to keep on adjusting.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:11am

Very neat indeed. Great music, cool use of geometries and colors.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:15pm

This game is really good! The worlds are just different enough to throw things around a bit but not so different as to make it too difficult reorienting yourself when you pass through at high speeds. The graphics are clean and colorful, and I really like the effect of seeing the other worlds through the portals. One of the better entries I played - good, arcadey fun!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I love playing this one! It is so simple but so fun. And those portals look awesome, they make me want to go through them :)

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Wish I had a chance to see my score at the end.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]