Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Moon Has Come

by kevincorrigan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple runner game that I made in blender.

Oh No!! An asteroid has collided with the moon and now the moon is slowly drifting towards earth!

Press space to jump and avoid pits and hazards as you try to make it to your rocket before the moon collides with earth.

## IMPORTANT ##
The un-exported version needs blender 2.7 to run and must be run from inside blender. You can run it by opening the opening.blend and hitting the 'P' key when the mouse is in the 3D viewport. Its the exact same except it hasn't been exported from blender so its a lot smaller. Also this version should work on Linux and Mac as well.

Sorry for the lack of audio, I wanted to at least get a jumping noise in there but last minute bugs slowed me down to much. Anyways hope you still enjoy it was real fun making this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1948Coolness22%

Comments

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Chrome is not allowing me to download the game.

pusheax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I like graphics.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice game ;). Actually, I ran it using blender 2.69 and had no pitfalls ^^.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16pm

The game fileis surprisingly big for a "simple runner". And chrome said it was malware and didn't let me download.

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

...You got me with the flaming obstacle 2/3s of the way through. But I'm not going to play through again.

One recommendation: make jump height / strength variable depending on how long the button is pressed. See Cave Story for a good example of this in action; it gives the user a lot more control over the jump.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:23am

I liked what I played, but 'blind jumping' in this kind of game is dangerous, maybe the camera should show more of the ground ;-)

Overall, good job! And put some music in it! =)

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:09am

Could use checkpoints since I might have retried more if I didn't have to restart completely. The initial part of the game is a little slow.

If you could see further that could help you plan since sometimes it's a little bit of blind luck.

Good backgrounds and storytelling.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:49am

I wasn't happy to restart when I hit this red square most of the way through and lost :-( but I loved the way the moon was getting bigger in the sky!

ItyBity8Bit says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:00am

A very good game. The aesthetic for the most part a pleasing whole and the premise intriguing.
The beginning can use some work to better hook the player in. The fire hazard should better fit with the whole of the aesthetic but it is a minor issue.
All in all, a pretty well made and enjoyable game. Keep it up.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:58am

Good effort, a bit too punishing that you have to start from the beginning - that way fewer people will get to experience all your hard work...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]