Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chromasis

by jwin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the worlds of Chromasis and unlock their secrets.

Chromasis focuses on exploration and resource management. Collect balls of color, then use them to activate the monuments found throughout the land. Charge up your shots to activate monuments with a single hit. You can't be killed, but you may run out of color if you aren't careful.

Floating crystals can be charged with any color, and will the provide a renewable supply of that color. Larger crystals can fully refill your color, but they also require nearly all your color to activate.

Watch out for enemies that will steal your color!



Controls:
The game is played entirely with the mouse.

Right mouse moves towards the cursor.
Left mouse shoots a ball of color. Hold to charge up and then release a more powerful blast.
The mouse wheel switches between active colors.


Note: The linux builds above are completely untested. Let me know if they don't work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#107Graphics3.98
#130Overall3.71
#184Fun3.54
#284Mood3.32
#387Innovation3.38
#594Audio2.65
#807Humor1.96
#965Theme2.56

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

Polished and cool. Nice concept however it's thematically not fully on point. Great piece nonetheless!

martindilling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

I love it :P great idea :P

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00am

Interesting game. The graphics is clean and nice. The controls feels very smooth, which is very important for explorations games. Resource management wise, it's a bit confusing if I can't have an overall view of the data. Maybe some UI will help? But anyway, a nice job!

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Really great use of the theme. An absolute joy to play.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43pm

can you make a linux build, pleas?

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Very interesting. And art is simple yet amazing! I hope you score well!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very cool looking polished game

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Very polished entry with beautiful graphics. Somehow there is a very strong atmosphere even without music. Makes you appreciate small aural details like how objects responded with different tones when hit.

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

That was really good! One of my favorites so far, I'd love to see a longer version, really cool (: Art style is fantastic too.

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Really visually polished and simple but fun and interesting concept.
High on my list.

jwin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

r0x0r: I added linux builds to download, but they're completely untested.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36am

Nice simple graphics, and fun enemies. And gets harder quickly, like it

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Excellent game! I only had one problem with it, with the mouse wheel control to change colors, for some reason when I used it it kept blinking quickly between colors before settling on one color randomly. Maybe it's some mouse driver thing...

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Very nice game, for me the char should respond a little more faster to the controls, but I think it was supposed to be slow, so very nice.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great game. From start to finish a nice experience! Self explaining and a good difficulty. Amazing you did all this in 2 days. You know how to make games :)

JNyknn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:01am

Wonderful graphics and polished gameplay are a good combination! Is there any 'global objective' (i.e. a way to complete the game)?

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:11am

Simple and fun. I like seeing the connection to the next crystal each time.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:30pm

real nice polish is real nice gameplay pissed me off but it was fun

gnerkus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:16am

The Linux (x86) build didn't work for me.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:15am

Hi there. Amazing game. Great control of ship, generous design (not losing all colour or damaging ship on collision, for example), great sounds. Lovely puzzle escalation. Cleverly draws you in... was only going to play 2 or 3 crystals but had to stay and finish all. Great job!

Dans17 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:47am

A little confusing at first, but very enjoyable once I got used to it :)

frosty says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:26am

Very polished game. Love the art style!

Tosic says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:32am

That's a cool game, I especially like the colliding part, really good! :D

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:43am

Very polished gameplay and the graphics were top notch. Excellent work.

lucidsheep says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:01am

Very cool! The only thing I disliked was that color ammo had to be refilled a lot. It forced a lot of backtracking that felt like busy work.

mystakin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

Cool idea and execution, I really like this entry. Strong visual design, simple to grasp premise, and fun!

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:16am

Very nice graphics and a good game overall. One thing though, I found the contrast of the pointer too low and it was hard to see seometimes

Njord says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:50am

Very nice game, polished, fun to play ! Not much to do with the theme though.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:04am

Interesting idea and beautiful graphics. If only there were also a soothing music! The game was good, but it was difficult to control the rocket (too much inertia).
And some scenario and a a bigger world would be awesome in a post-compo version!.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]