Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Protoplanetary Disk

by ianh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Protoplanetary Disk, you play as a cosmic entity trying to form planetary systems. There are three levels with increasing difficulty.

Drag to move planets around, and try not to get too mad when your planets kick each other out of their carefully-planned orbits. You can use the mouse wheel to zoom in and out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#45Innovation4.06
#176Audio3.41
#229Mood3.41
#266Theme3.65
#339Overall3.42
#464Fun3.14
#524Graphics3.14
#611Humor2.24

Comments

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very cool idea and implementation! It's really hard though from the beginning on (at least to me). Would be a little easier if the planets were moving a little slower

Joseph says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27am

Very cool! You and I went for kind of similar ideas. I like this a lot though.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

Awesome idea! Love the concept and the music. I appear to be very bad at this, but I love playing it.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

I liked it a lot. Nice graphics, nice atmosphere. Very hard though!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

I agree with the other comments. Excellent idea, and a cool use of the theme. A little more time and/or control over the planets would make it engaging for longer.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

I seemed to win by not doing anything? heh, just let the time run out? or maybe that means I lost?

I did enjoy flinging those planets around though, also music was quite good, as it matches the game well. I feel like i'm in space and for the graphic level that quite good.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

One of the best games that ive played so far, really an amazing idea! I´ll keep playing! Please add your twitter account so i can follow you.

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

I'd love a 'visualize how everything is interacting' button. Very cool - would be fun to use in a physics class to demonstrate the concept of gravity, too.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

It's hard to control it, but it's innovative :)

phasebeta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

Cool concept.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Cool idea and nice grafic style.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Interesting simulation. The music fit nicely.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

So difficult - not really sure what I'm supposed to do. Cool stuff anyway :).

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

That is a very interesting idea and I liked the gameplay although it was really hard to keep the planets around the sun.

The music was really cool and it was fun trying to make these planets not escape.

Well done :D

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Very cool. Love the simplicity. But not really sure how to make it happen though.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:34am

Hard to get the hang of, but an interesting physics simulation.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

I like the personal concept. Audio is also nice.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:40am

Hi there. Love the music. Grand scale idea. More of a toy than a game, but fun to play with nonetheless. Would have been nice to have more than one entity type with which to play. Very Cosmos. Good job!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:14pm

This is radical as heck, great presentation.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Nice concept.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]