Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tribe of the Giant

by MerlijnVH - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Some gameplay mechanics don't work too well. With the game being made in under 48 hours for Ludum Dare, I ran out of time.

Two tribes, each led by a giant, are at war in their connected world. Send your creatures through the gate to bring down their totem, but be careful of the dark tribe, not to let them get yours.

- Move your giant on the beat by clicking with the mouse.
- Chase creatures of the dark tribe to automatically suck them up!
- Creatures that are sucked up are converted to your tribe and spit out.
- When a dark creature occupies a house in your village, your totem lowers.
- When your totem is buried, you lose!

Made with C#, Blender & Unity. Source is available at bottom of itch.io page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#38Graphics4.26
#154Humor3.16
#350Innovation3.43
#429Mood3.14
#471Overall3.29
#542Theme3.28
#661Fun2.92
#772Audio2.26

Comments

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36am

I get where you're going with the controls, but I ended up just mashing my mousebutton - I didn't quite get how I sometimes ate the red guys (or should I eat the black guys?), but overall pretty solid stuff.

masterhyjinx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39am

An intimidatingly good looking game, excellent work. I like the idea of lots of units swarming about. Reminds me of Black and White. It took me a little bit to realize that by "noise" you meant the beat. Could be a very cool idea when you manage to put music with some tribal drums in it. I didn't quite understand if I was doing the right thing to "suck" up enemies and convert them but I enjoyed moving my giant around. The game is fairly hard, or after playing 3 times I couldn't win a match haha. Good work!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

Lovely scene you built there, charming creatures.

It was not quite clear to me if and when i actually "ate" enemy creatures though. Maybe needs some better visual feedback.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice game! The graphics felt very fresh, and the idea was interesting. I didn't completely understood how to eat them, though. (Also: Magic mirrors! how does that even work?)

hectormorlet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43am

Awesome art style. It was pretty fun and I loved the faces of the characters. The gameplay was solid and not (noticeably) glitchy. I only have one criticism, and it is that I really don't like the fact that I have to click at the sounding of a noise (it detracts from the rest of the game).

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14am

The art is really nice! It felt odd that you press the button after the beat and not on it, and I'm not a big fan of games where you indirectly control the action, but it was enjoyable nonetheless!

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

Gorgeous to look at and a really lovely concept. Hoovering up the little enemy dudes was a lot of fun, even if I wasn't very good at it. My only gripe is that I would have liked a little more audio feedback for the different events (eating, house being taken over etc.) but this is a superbly polished entry and a great take on the theme.

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Looks super awesome, I love this style of art. Still not sure if I controlled it right, tho, but it was fun enough to watch those little things running around.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

This game is flat out adorable. Some of the mechanics are a little unclear, but I stuck around because the world is just so vibrant and fun.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Graphics are outstanding, and the control system is very good. I had some issues with the camera, but it's a good game overall - would love to see it expanded!

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

5/5, wow.

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Great work! Would it work better without having to move to the beat?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

The graphics were top notch but the game felt a little flat. I will try it again later. Nice job.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Great game, maybe a bit hard to affect the outcome (I won by just standing still in the village). Totally gorgeous though

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Nice graphics and overall feel. There was one interesting glitch. I had to click in between sounds not on the sound :)

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Graphics/models looks very nice and gameplay was fun but the "noise" sound makes it a little bit difficult to synchronise the "eating". Why not to use some drum instead?

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice game, very funny caracthers, good job.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Super cute! Really nice graphics ^_^
At first glance it's a tough game, but I played a few times and finally I won!!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Graphics are excellent, but a few things let it down: The sound seemed out of sync a little which made it hard to control. Still managed to win though

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Funny and cute game, I like the character designs. I didn't feel the game was all that challenging, just clicking mouse to the beat and watch the creature eat smaller guys until you win pops to the screen.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Great entry! First off, the art style rocks. Love the pastel look and style. I wasn't 100% what to do but kept grabbing black guys and eventually won. I think with the art style you should work on this more, or another game in this visual style. Nice effort.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00am

A gif you posted on twitter got me wanting to play this game... unfortunately it didn't live up to the expectation it set up...

The idea itself is nice, and I liked the graphics. But the mechanic felt lacking... For example, the beat could get faster the better you moved on time. This, way, you could swallow enemies more quickly.

This could be a great game if you kept working on it. =D

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26am

Nice! It was a bit hard to control my giant at first. Great concept. there are tons of ways you could expand the gameplay, like, more ways to interact with the other village. But still great as is.

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

Fantastic! The art is amazing and I really like how simple it was to understand. Well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19am

Not bad, a little confusing, though. I wasn't entirely sure what to do besides just mash the mousebutton.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58am

Really cute and awesome looking game. Great work!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05am

Really interesting concept and a lot of fun too! It seemed to work best for me if I tapped off-beat - once I figured that out I was really getting into it. Would be great to see this updated with some music to turn it into an almost rhythm tower-defense game. Loved the art as well - those colours in particular!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Cool game, a bit challenging but I like the concept! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/8xjQ7S7Vv10

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

it felt like i did'nt really affect the game that much. I was just helplessly standing in a group of black imps and occasionally swallowing one of them... but the artstyle was nice :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I just disliked the "press after beat" movement, but your concept is okay. I think I would like more control over the minions, like pikmin games, but for the compo I believe the game is okay.

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

The tempo based movement got a bit tiresome and I ended up just spamming mouseclick, the graphics are great!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Wow, that looks great! The gameplay feels a bit unresponsive, but man... that art

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Yihaa, I won! :D Fun little game and I really liked the art style. Well done! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Lovely environment!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Very very impressive. So much you have done in 48 hours! This is insane. Super awesome.

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53am

I really like the graphics on your game. But somehow I didn't managed to click to the beat and survive that long... Thank you for your entry.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00am

What a unique idea! Well done.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:15am

Graphics are great.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:55am

The graphics look great, especially that portal! I found moving to the beat pretty easy myself, but the sound effect for the beat threw me off at first. Expand on the gameplay and I would love this setting for a full game.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:47am

I didn't catch what clicking in phase with beat or not change. That's surely why I always lost although I was converting as much creatures I could.

I really enjoyed the universe you created, monsters are cute and both small worlds connected by a portal are rendered in a nice way.

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Pretty cool. A bit too easy, but probably perfect for an intro level if the game had more levels. Cute monsters :D

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Got some interesting concepts here, definitely needs more mechanics to make it more engaging. The sucking mechanic was kinda underwhelming, maybe if you sucked up a bunch at a time and maybe if there were multiple portals you could spit them back out at to change the direction of attack on the other village. I get that the portal is for the connection theme but it would probably have been more fun to throw the minions across the gap lol

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Graphics look really cool but I feel like I don't have much control and I win or lose randomly. Because I was eating all the time but not winning in the end.. There is not much of a strategy, or is there? It's pretty confusing but good looking game I'd say.

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

Funny characters and nice game overall!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

there have been some really bizarre entries this time! haha
Great little gem, I really like the characters and the minimalist color palette worked great!
Good job

sephyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Very fresh graphics, creatures are great.
I feel the playability a bit slow maybe.

maloki says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I was intrigued by the art. When I first played it, it was quite confusing at first, but I eventually got what things were. At first I thought that the top part was a mirror of what I was doing, except with a different color scheme and then remembered the theme. Connected worlds!

Difficult indeed, but quite amusing to play. Good job. :D

parahunter says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Looked amazing but did not control that well. Was the idea that you would lunge forward each time you clicked with the mouse? I think if you made the trigger zone for detecting when an enemy should be eaten bigger and lowered the spawn rate the game would be much more enjoyable.

goffmog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I just love the way this looks, and the general idea too, nothing much to add to the previous comments except that I hope you keep making games!

ajopart says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Cute looking game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

the controlls are a bit strange but the game is funny

Yword says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

The graphics and models are very nice! And the idea is very cool too.

brookman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Very nice visuals and cool idea!
The movement is not very intuitive however and the audio is kind of dull.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Enjoyed the art. I am always a fan of tons of little minions going about their business. :P Nice job. :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Looks are awesome here. Sounds are a little harsh on the ear but overall great job :)

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Interesting concept, but not executed perfectly. The rhythm aspect felt more like a gimmick than a feature, and sucking up dark enemies felt clunky. However, the art is quite cute!

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:00am

Amazing work on the incredibly wonderful graphics! Keep working on this!

nesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

A great-looking game. I love the look of the portal, and how the little guys fly through it.

Movement controls felt fine. However, like others, I did mash my mouse to move. This probably suggests using more cues + feedback loops to reinforce well-timed clicking. Eg, change in colour or size of something (the giant?) as optimal click time approaches, and perhaps moving faster / more snappily or (perhaps more effectively) sucking up more little guys as you click with better timing.

Also, good use of AI pathing! :)

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Hehe, another mouse button masher over here. :) Really nice graphics.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

It's funky, I like the way you make the giant walk. Gameplay might be a bit lacking of dynamism right now but it's still awesome work for the Jam.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

a really nice concept, and nice graphics, but I didn't feel as in control in terms of sucking up the bad guys as I wanted to. It felt a little too random for me to feel like I was truly doing anything, but other than that, the rest of the game was pretty solid and nicely done. Good job! :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Ha, that's pretty excellent - very well polished! I'd love to have control over the sucking up of enemies, and I'm afraid I spat a few of my guys over the cliff :( Nice effect on the portal btw

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:04pm

I like the rhythmic movement mechanic. I would like to see more clarity and feedback regarding the status of your totems. I think this game is deserving of more work put into it, as the base idea is nice and reminds me of Patapon, which is a great game :) keep it up!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:48am

Very pretty, especially the portal effect. Difficult to play! I found it hard to tell when I was sucking up the guys, and it wasn't super clear how to influence the outcome of the game. I think this could be an awesome fun game given a little more polish time. Post-compo version?

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:48pm

My unity web plugin crashes each time I open this game. it is not unique to your game, it happens to some others too.

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:32am

Hi there. Like the idea. I won the game first try! Would be good to have easier way to see when facing away from camera, not sure how, semi-transparent ? or show outline only of obscured mobs. I can see this being fun with more than 2 teams, choosing where to send your mobs. The all powerful ' king' character is a great idea. Good job!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Lots of fun!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:14am

hahah nom nom nom

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]