Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ordinary Weekdays of Tech Support of Parallel Worlds

by SaintHeiser - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS:
Arrows - move around
Z - shoot
X - evade (dash)
C - action ( press to spawn spikes, hold to spawn bombs, hold to grab core, hold to port forwarding)

Also there is Gamepad support (tested with XBOX360 GamePad)
Left Stick - move around
X - shoot
A - evade (dash)
Y - action


HOW TO PLAY
There is CORE PORTAL with 8 PORTS (circles around it).
There is TWO SIDES. And Portal provide swapping between them. HOLD SHOOT on core to do this.

AS SHORT, REMEMBER THIS:
1) You don't be damaged by enemy while you on RIGHT side.
2) You can't pick up upgrades and connect ports while you on WRONG side.
3) And you have two tasks:
### PROTECT YOUR PORTS FROM ENEMIES ON WRONG SIDE
### CLOSE ALL PORTS BY CONNECTING WITH OTHERS ON RIGTH SIDE.

------------------------------------------------------------
YOU ARE READY TO PLAY THE GAME RIGHT NOW...

------------------------------------------------------------
FOR MORE COMPLICATED AND PRECISE INSTRUCTIONS SEE README.TXT
------------------------------------------------------------

ENJOY!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#29Overall4.05
#49Fun3.88
#66Audio3.72
#97Mood3.67
#110Graphics3.97
#115Theme3.86
#156Innovation3.74
#364Humor2.66

Comments

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

WOW. An ambitious game to make in 48 hours. XBOX controller support blew me away also. I expect to see this in the finals. Congrats and well done :)

Resonious says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

This is pretty darn complicated and thought out! Excellent job, sir.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

The best LD48 I have played this far.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Wow.
48 hours Oh my!
tweak and release to the world :)

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Pretty fun. The instructions made it seem more complicated than it actually was.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54pm

First of all this game is very polished and has consistent art and sound.
Your usage of the theme is good, and the constant choice of where to be is a nice gameplay mechanic.
Reading the wall of text up here gave me no clue what to do, so I was relieved to see the in-game help and instructions are much clearer!

On the other hand, the game is a bit on the hard and complicated side even on the lower levels (although it might be due to the fact I suck)

Well done!

miro662 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

very nice game, but it need some kind of tutorial or more understandable instructions

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Wow.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

nice job, good use of theme.

evilentity says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

Impressive work!

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49am

Awesome game! Really liked the whole style!

soerxpso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25am

I'm surprised this one done in 48 hours. It's the best game I've seen for LD30 so far. It's very polished and quite fun.

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Very cool game and it's a refreshing take on the theme I like that.

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25am

AMAZING.
Woah.
Wish you could fire in all directions but... man I love it.

Took me some time to understand all controls but man... Keep being awesome!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really awesome game. After you grasp it the gameplay rocks. Job well done sir! :3

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08am

I felt a little overwhelmed at first by the complexity of the instructions, but after I started playing, it was very easy to pick up. Solid entry! Good luck!

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07am

Solid gameplay and overall consistency. I like it!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Sheesh, keeping track of the ports and the enemies is realy stressful, the gameplay is very cool, it requires so much concentration that everything else disappears while playing

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Great job in such a short amount of time, it felt good to play. I do think that the game would have gained a lot from a different background colour other than black.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

great animation to this little guy, well made all around

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Your game is really polished and works pretty well for a jam game made in 48h.
The controls are really pleasant and coherent to the gameplay.
Your graphics are pretty and suit the atmosphere and sounds.
I don't have much advice to tell : maybe there should have been more power ups in the right side, as I didn't feel the urge to go there while fighting the purple monsters.
So well done, this is a great entry!

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Very nice game! Good polishing!

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:52am

Omigosh, I haven't even started yet, but I really like the title music!

*plays game*

This is great!

The fact that you have to do the same thing 8 times is a little tiresome. It'd be good if there was either less ports or more variety the further you got in the game.

Still, great job! Hope you do well!

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:18am

Really good fun, just wish the spikes and bombs where more useful. A longer countdown on the porting points would be nice too, most of the time i got to the point slightly to late and the darn thing disappeared.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:58am

Neat game! Really fun gameplay, everything feels solid and well executed. Love the sound as you swap over to the other side. Great work :)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Pssst! You are in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXaZCdM5i9o

klianc09 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Really awesome game, I wasted ... I mean ... I invested nearly an hour into this 'little' game. If the regular difficulty is already that hard, I don't want to know what awaits at annihilation difficulty.
It was really great playing with a controller.
The enemies often spawned and walked that fast, that I was already busy killing all those enemies and enemy ports, and never had time to visit the other side, let alone close those ports. Would have loved if the bombs and spikes were a more effective defense. And it would have been great to walk faster when connecting ports, because they nearly always disappeared before I got there.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great innovation, really creative! Awesome graphics, too! Great job!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:07am

Great graphics, audio, design and creativity!
I like what you did with the theme and it feels very
original and well put together. A great achievement for
48 hours, well done!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Great to play :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]