Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rift Knight

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

Here is my entry Rift Knight. It is a fast-paced action platformer, with 360 gamepad support.

This is entered in the Jam, but the rest of team had to drop out, so I ended up just doing it on my own. I missed most of the first day so I essentially did it like a compo entry (approx 48hrs and I made all gameplay, sounds, music and graphics myself).
It didn't go perfectly, so it's a bit limited, although it's pretty fun with the 360 pad if you have one. Controls are explained in game, thanks for playing!

(Edited to add extra screenshots)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.32
Coolness71%
#40Overall(Jam)3.99
#88Audio(Jam)3.75
#139Mood(Jam)3.60
#154Humor(Jam)3.09
#249Theme(Jam)3.45
#320Graphics(Jam)3.53
#435Innovation(Jam)2.95

Comments

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48am

It plays fantastic! I love this, I'm bookmarking it.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

Great! Love it!

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37am

Beautiful graphics, awesome mechanics!

colludium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nothing short of outstanding. A very polished game with excellent mechanics!! Inspirational...

jayemjee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

I second firstbass' statement.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I like graphics and "juiceness" of this one. Good job. :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Very responsive controls, wonder why this hasn't gotten more reviews yet! Go rate some games!

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Sort of reminds me of Castlevania, with the whole "castle" concept.

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05pm

The Gameplay is Amazing, i loved the way the world changes and makes you think. xD Great Job

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Really good game. Enjoyed the fast paced action!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Really enjoyed this. Didn't work in Safari but switched to Chrome and it worked fine.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Simples game!
Little difficult but possible.
I liked the effects of screamshake and strong power!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12pm

This will be bookmarked, nice game, love the controls. GJ.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14pm

For pretty much a one man job, this game is very impressive. Kudos to you for following through after the rest of your team bailed. Also I'm a gamer, not a reader so I appreciated that you incorporated a lot of humor into the directions. It made that part much more bearable. Good work :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:58am

Overall Fantastic! Character feels great to maneuver around the stage. Combat is solid and slick. Puzzle aspect is clever, had to stop and think about which path I wanted to take. Bookmarked!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43am

Thanks for the nice comments everyone, I really appreciate it!
I was a bit worried nobody would play it as it doesn't look great in screenshots, it needs a video or something. I might try and do that when I get back from holiday next week, as well as rating a load of other games.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Great action in that game.
I don't know if it's because I was playing with the game controller but controls were really enjoyable.
As for Castle Uno, I like the diversity of the enemies. Especially one of them which reminds me of the monster minds.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:37am

That was great fun. Playing on an XBox controller was awesome.

You did a lot of things right. Movement felt great. Triple jumps, and slashing gave you lots of great movement options. Slashing makes the player feel mighty. Graphics were a nice, I especially like how unique enemies were.

One issue I had was that enemies seemed to get really bunched up at times, and I'd end up having to try and slash though like 10-15 of them at once, wasting 2-3 lives.

Great stuff. One of the best LD30 games I've played.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

Wow! To movement is sooooo good!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Top notch. The gameplay just flows, I felt the theme was a little loose as changing world didn't have much effect but it fits and changing it might have broken the great flow the game has. Excellent.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Very nice game, finally a really playable and fun game!

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:26pm

The music is awesome. The gameplay is awesome. I had so much fun. Clinging to walls was also awesome... because I'm into that sorta thing :). great job

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I liked how epic the character moves around, but it was sometimes hard to control.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Very fast paced, funny game! That knight knows how to move! Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Hi there. I'm bad at platformers, but this is awesome to watch. Fantastic animations and movement, attacks and jumps, wall climbing. You did a great! job!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:00pm

impressive, great concept, smooth controls, visually soothing, great sound, very nice

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Awesome man my favorite so far its a little glitchy its prob my shitty internet do u have an exe? also ill send you a link to your video then. GAME FREAKING RULES THOUGH

Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:57pm

@KingBolonzo - thanks a lot, glad you like it! I can do an .exe and upload it tomorrow night, probably a good idea to have one available anyway

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:04pm

yeah dude too gitchy with my recording software if you get an exe i can make a vid 4 u

Kyatric says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:05am

Controlling this character is pretty cool/badass.
The gamepad appears to be mapped differently in FF than in Chrome it seems (might be worth a report on Scirra's forums).

The animations/controls are cool, the music/sfx pretty sweet.
I enjoyed the "ninja-sque" moves/feel of the character.

It could make a nice action game, removing the rift/two worlds part that I did not enjoyed that much. It's OK for the theme of the jam, but to me the fun really sits in the movements possibilities/feel, not the "two world switching mechanic".
Jumps and dashes are really good and worth pursuing further.

Overall nicely polished.
Congratulations on making a nice game like that during the jam.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Thanks again everyone, I have added an .exe version too

Pierrec says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:24am

That's a darn good platformer!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:47pm

That is one great game. I love the fast-pacedness, it just plays very fluently. Also, the graphics and audio are very good. Overall: Awesome!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:30am

Love the graphics and music is awesome! Sometimes found myself going through walls with the attacks though. My laptop isn't amazing so that's probably why it was running a little slow.I kind of used the going through walls to my advantage ;) Overall awesome job!

PixelMonkey says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:15am

The player's moves felt very versatile and powerful, so it was a lot of fun to play around with different ways of fighting enemies, and I liked the open-ended levels! Really nice game overall.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Very nice game!

TeamEagle says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:52pm

pretty cool game! :)

Fazz says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:02pm

One of the most fun I've played.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Absolutely brilliant game!

Really really fun, really really Commander Keen somehow.

I must be singularly hopeless, but the easy respawn kept me persevering.

The mechanics were really really good, and well implemented. Triple jump, wall clinging, rapid attack etc... fantastic!

Even graphics were clean, the animation especially jumping beautifully simple somehow, and audio were acceptable.

Have all my stars!

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:36am

Not bad. Very addictive game... But tooo monotone =(

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:59am

Awesome ! I really like the mechanics and the nervous control of the character! Congrats!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:24pm

This is one of the most fun to play entries I've played so far, if not the most. Character movements are great, and parallel worlds feel completely connected. I couldn't stop until I saved the day. Hurrah!

sbarrio says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Great and tight controls. It just feels right to smash through things. I specially enjoyed the wall jumping, feels just like Ninja Gaiden.

Superb job! :)

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I love it :)

LuxPerpetua says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Wow, nice. I have really fun while playing.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I really enjoyed moving around and breaking things, and the portals looked really good, but the levels felt pretty repetitive and it felt like some really cool things could have been done with the alternate world, but it seemed like it ended up more like a gimmick with not that many changes.

skiddings says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

You can pretty much fly around the level forever, but I kinda like that!
Great work!

hyouko says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:36am

Darned good fun - played through to the end. Keep working on this! Add a time attack mode or scoring mechanism and it'll be even better.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:15am

It's a lot of fun! I appreciate the variety in the enemy types, and it's nice how generous the game is with checkpointing. That said, with the high speed of the main character relative to its size, I found it a bit difficult to reliably engage in combat. Also, a few of the sound effects were a bit louder than the other ones. Nice game!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:34am

Sometimes movement was a little buggy and I would pass through solid barriers, but otherwise it was a really fun game to play. If the movement had been more reliable, it would have been awesome to zip through everything really quickly, because the game felt like it was built perfectly for that.

Tommislav says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:57am

The graphics are a bit simple (makes if feel retro... in a good way), but the mechanics and controls are excellent! You managed to mix fast paced 2d-action with interesting gameplay in a very good way. Awesome work!

brookman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:08am

wow, i love it! this game is really awesome.

Posva says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:27am

Feels good to play this! I think you should have made the player slide when sticking into walls because the gameplay is very dynamic but you just stop when sticking into walls and I felt weird about that

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Great game, controls are a bit hard, but you can also cheat by teleporting through walls. (I cheated a lot) I really liked the music too.

mildmojo says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Really nicely done. Great flow. Triple jump, sticky walls, and crazy flying horizontal attacks feel incredible.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Really great game. It's a lot of fun to just slash through the worlds. Though dashing wasn't always reliable, would have liked to float in the air for a short duration after dashing, to chain the dashes easier.
Also axes for 360 controller where 90 degrees off... don't ask me why...

dunin says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Like this nervous game. A little confuse and need polish (hitbox: I cling to the walls all the time...) but so fun!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Thanks everyone, glad your enjoying it. I am a bit concerned about all these movement glitches though, I didn't experience any of those bugs you guys mentioned at all! I wonder if it's down to browsers, or PC specs etc? I need to do some more testing I guess

Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Oh no, I put "your" instead of "you're"! Everyone should give me 1 star in grammar.

Tigro says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Oh my, the attacking is so satisfying on this one :D

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:17am

Sooo good. Probably my favourite out of the 100+ I've played!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:57am

Hoho, nice action! It feels like oldschool game N. But with weapon %)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:28pm

So yeah. This is awesome :) Great music and some of the best platforming feel/controls I ran across this Ludum Dare. It's amazingly fun to run around the map and attack things. Well done. I would seriously consider working on this some more.

Rustam says ...
Jun 8, 2017 @ 7:52am

Welcome to "Dragon"the 34th update on Heroes Battle. http://flagmanboats.ru You'll stay updated on the newest and best music gear available in Sweetwater's ProGear Directory.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]