Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Dude's World!

by CartoonJenn - Jam Entry

Controls: use the arrow keys or A and D keys to move, spacebar to jump

Collect the magic paint buckets to colorize Monster Dude's World and boost the happiness meter. Watch out for spikes.

Downloads and Links




NikSG says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:41pm

my housemates and I had fun playing this

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

This is a good start, though there is not much to it. I hope the developers had fun making it, I would like to see the game fleshed out a little more. Keep up the good work!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

Good game, with nice graphics, but a bit short. Good job!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

It was fairly basic but not bad, with some more gameplay elements and some interesting level design this would be great - the controls felt wonderful. The art style was very polished, the music fit, a very well polished game here. Just add some more content and you will have the whole package!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

Not sure what the hearts were for but fun game. Liked the paint adding effects.

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:37am

I have to say this was a really fun game, nice flow!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Very few games this LD have stand out to me. This is one of the few that stands out. Goodjob!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Fun game, nice graphics.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Hi there. Lovely happy platformer. Nice graphics and music. Good job!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:44am

Nice attempt, but there isn't much game here. Also the paint buckets seem unnecessary since all of them are unavoidable except for the first one.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:12am

Interesting game, love the character. The smiley face was a bit strange though and was not a great indication of progress.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:17am

Good for a bit of fun

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:52am

Cute, short and unpretentious game which seems to be made for kids. Very easy to play and smooth controls. Could be longer or more diverse but it is still nice to play. Good effort!

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:11am

Neat little game. A bit too easy for my taste though ;)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Fun, but fairly one dimensional. Some more gameplay elements would've been great. Looks beautiful though!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:20am

Unexpected re-telling of the origins of Tiamat, Mother of All Chromatic Dragons. Played it twenty-six times until my tears dried glitter. Will play again when they let me out of the craft store.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:43am

Nice, but what about theme?

Crefossus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:53am

Good graphics. Could sync the walk cycle with your movement. A bit easy. I didn't even realize that there was more danger than the pits until I read another comment.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:12am

Seemed like it would fit the previous theme of Minimalism better than Connected Worlds.

alhvi says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nice game, I liked the graphics and the music, it has a very wacky feeling. Great job!

kidando says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:19am

Not bad. That was some really happy music. Congrats on completing your game

TaoPhoenix says ...
Nov 10, 2014 @ 10:47am

Another cute one all about the fun and the art. Many games here are getting good music, especially the jam teams with a music guy. But art seems to be much harder, and this is amazing for a compo!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]