Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Starving Symbiosis

by Lasty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TL;DR Instructions:
=============

* You control two separate players -- press Tab to change between them.
* Get Coins from UnderWorld.
* Buy Food in OverWorld.
* Use Shared Portal to transfer items.
* Left click: Eat, Right Click: Throw, 1-5 select item.



Instructions
============

You and a friend have found yourself in a predicament.
You are both hungry, and need to buy food.
However, one person has all the shops, and one person has all the coins.
You must share items using the portal to survive.

Running Issues
==========

If Windows8 is giving you a "Windows Protected Your PC" message,
click "More info" then "Run Anyway".

If MACOSX gives you an "Untrusted Developer" warning, Control-RightClick the app, and choose Open, then click Open.

If Linux complains about missing libraries, just run this (for Ubuntu 14.04)

$ sudo apt-get install libsdl2-2.0-0 libsdl2-image-2.0-0 libsdl2-mixer-2.0-0 libfreetype6


Regrets
=======

Yeah, I ran out of time.
I was planning to have weapons, and some sort of zombie wave / tower defence on the overworld, using metal ores mined in the underworld.
But yeah... No time :( There's always next Ludum Dare.


Patch 1
=======

Small patch fixing some bugs:

* Coins now respawn on the underworld when picked up
* Adjusted value of Potato Salad (was too expensive per food than the others)
* Food gives you health (equal to its food value). Can't believe I missed that.


And fixing some minor issues:

* Adjusted starting hunger values (More time to get used to the game)
* Changed text on shop/portal to make it more obvious what to do
* Added pickup text (Shows name of the item when picked up)
* Increased font size for Health/Hunger


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#239Theme3.68
#360Innovation3.42
#454Overall3.30
#477Fun3.13
#509Graphics3.16
#595Humor2.26
#658Audio2.53
#690Mood2.83

Comments

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:03am

I didn't understand why you used the name for the game you did until I actually played it. It was pretty intriguing and definitely has potential. Once you add that zombie defense portion I have no doubt I could play this for extensive periods of time.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26am

Very interesting idea, though very difficult to play I found. Would definitely be fun with more gameplay to it.
The guy moves around very slipperily, so it was hard to get the coins. Also switching between the worlds I always ran out of time. I am probably just bad at it.
The graphics are pretty good, and sound effects are decent, though there is no music. This could possibly go somewhere with more work.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26am

Would have been great to see the zombie waves indeed. Just running around with the portals and ferrying items back and forth was actually pretty satisfying. Played this for longer than some of the other submissions with content!

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:51am

That was a lot of fun! I loved the differing natures of the two worlds and how you had to share between them. (This was actually even cooler having recently played the submission "Taupe".)

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:19am

Having not read your instructions and just diving right in, it took me until my friend in the underworld died for me to realize it was two separate people and I wasn't just 'warping' between the worlds. At that point though it clicked! and I really liked this idea that the only connection you have to your 'partner' is this shared portal that items can be passed through. I think this central mechanic has a lot of interesting potential and I think the basic way in which you've explored it with money and shops demonstrates that well.

I would have really liked to have actually seen no money _at all_ in the surface world to make the two worlds truely symbiotic. As in my first play it was fairly easy to keep the surface player alive, and it was only the underworld player that truly had a dependency on the other for food supplies. This sort of makes the relationship seem more parasitic than symbiotic, but the abundancy of the money underworld does make up for this well enough to still express the themes you were going for.

The controls and general feel was a little slidey but they were good enough to express this key thing that you were getting at with the game which was this co-dependency and shared portal mechanic. I think however the general control experience is what I would put a lot of focus into if you do decide to take this concept further, and I hope that you do!

I really really like what you're exploring with this game, and even though you say you had much more you wanted to add (didn't we all!) I think you get the essential message across reasonably well! A lot of potential and a cool use of the theme.

Lasty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36am

Thanks for the comments and feedback :D

I realise it was a bit harsh to start the players with low hunger at first.. Probably should have bumped that up more... But If I had, they would have no immediate goal, and it would become a bit boring.

I should have made a better intro/tutorial screen, but.. ran out of time and lack of sleep so yeah. I tried to put some intro screens at the last minute, but I had no infrastructure in place for it, so it was poor planning on my part.

The physics, yes I couldn't quite get the player right.. I had simulated friction on the player, but he kept the same velocity when you stopped input. I couldn't get the friction right, somehow. I figured it was good enough and could tweak it later. Might use a library like Box2D next time.

As for coins on the overworld, I didn't even think of removing them all, facepalm ensues.

Loren says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

fun! Nice use of theme for sure

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Interesting idea!

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:12am

Really like the idea of this game! Would love to see a finished and polished version with more action!

Also, controls are slippery. Yuck. =(

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Cool idea and awesome game!

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

This has to be one of the best entries I've seen so far. Excellent use of the theme, Easy to play, pleasing aesthetics and best of all. Just plain fun to play!

A few details that stood out to me. First, instructions in game. Not needing to switch windows to see how to play was refreshing. Also, frantically trying to aim items at the portal when one of the guys was starving would have been hilarious had I not been on the edge of my seat, well, frantically trying to aim items at the portal when one of the guys was starving!

Thanks for tripling the happiness of my evening :)

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

This didn't run on OSX.

"ld30 cannot be opened because of a problem."

Useful error message!

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Cool concept having to trade items between the worlds. First time I spent too much collecting coins, which ended with the overworld guy starving to death :P

Would love to see more of this game - very interesting start :)

Lasty says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:27am

JoshuaBurr: Thanks for OSX feedback, I probably missed including a library or a framework in the app bundle. What version were you using? It was built for Mavericks 64bit.

The unhelpful error message is OSX's I think, not mine :( If you could click on "Report..." then copy the text there into a pastebin, I can try and fix it. (Then click don't send)

muriel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:01am

Interesting game :)

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:34am

Fun game. I also agree that adding fighting in the game would make it much more fun. Once you figure it out, it gets easy.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I really liked how items worked, imagine a multiplayer game like this where you can throw stuff at your friends and go around collecting items? So much potential, I dig it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]