Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ISS Explorer

by BitDemon - Jam Entry

Your mission is to steal metals from other planets before destroying them.
To get coins you need to sell the collected metals to other planets, each planet has a value and the higher the value the higher you will get for your metals.

I wanted to have a features shop to buy upgrades for your ship but I ran out of time, so the coins are useless.

I haven't tested the Mac and Linux builds but I think they are fine.

Controls:
Move: WASD
Shoot: Spacebar
Select Planet: Left Click
Make route: Right click base planet -> right click target plannet
Sell metals: Click metal -> click planet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#154Theme(Jam)3.65
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#261Innovation(Jam)3.24
#289Graphics(Jam)3.59
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

I like the graphics and the animation was very fluid.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

Awesome job! Was hungry to spend that money, though

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice game

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Slick controls and a fun simple idea, I feel the radius around where you see stuff could've been slightly larger but that might be just me being bad :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:15am

Wow! Thats really interesting mechanic! Congrats!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

amusing game. perhaps i never stayed alive long enough, but i never gained any resources, even after funneling stuff between planets. from a game design jam perspective, great work.. audio, music, graphics, and it fit the theme. well done.

Atlantis Ho says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

nice game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Hi there. Nice look and feel, would be nice to have a much wider field of view, can't move smoothly at present, have to keep taking little steps to avoid flying into a new planet. Appropriate sounds well coordinated. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]