Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hell On Earth

by CryoGenesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-IMPORTANT-
This game requires an updated version of Java to run
This game requires a decent CPU to run well
Should work on Windows, Mac and Linux (NOT PROPERLY TESTED)
--

Hell and Earth have been connected. For some reason, it is up to you and you alone to save the earth from monsters, the like of which are totally generic. Use your chosen out of 3 weapons, A Pistol, The Deathgun and THE STICK. Have fun...

--

Made using Java with LWJGL, Paulscode's SoundSystem and my own open-source library GGU+GGUR:

https://github.com/CryoGenesis/GGU

Other Tools:

GIMP, Graphics Gale, FL Studio, IntelliJ IDEA, Camtasia Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#232Fun3.46
#363Overall3.40
#419Graphics3.30
#430Humor2.52
#494Mood3.06
#506Audio2.78
#990Theme2.51
#1062Innovation2.37

Comments

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16am

Don't even know if it will work on another windows machine, let alone Linux or a Mac.

Furyhunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

Works for me. Pretty fun, although I wish there wasn't a framerate cap, no consideration for monitors with more than 60hz refresh :(

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Great aiming mechanics! People need to make more games like this!

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Enjoyed the interpretation of old-school fps's. Found the game to be pretty tough though!

geekygenius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

What a fun crawler! And it did work for me Win7 64

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

Old-school-cool.

martindilling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

This takes me back to the good old games :P

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08am

@Furyhunter You can manually turn frame limiting off in the "data/config/ggu.ini" file. Although, wouldn't recommend it, hasn't been tested much.

Lots of settings you can change in these .ini files like increasing the 3D render resolution, which will result in the rape of your CPU. You can make it fullscreen too.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

Solid oldschool shooter you have here. (Says the guy who hasn't played any classic FPS.) Zombies took annoyingly long to kill with the stick and pistol, but that made getting the deathgun really satisfying. The graphics style worked really well and there was a definite sense of danger (especially considering how close I had to get to hit zombies with my stick.) I died twice to batswarm right before the end, and when I got an ending I had to alt+f4 exit. Still the best game I've played so far.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Awesome, I love it! Reminds me of Notch's Prelude of the Chambered ;).
Works perfectly on Linux Mint 64 with Java 8.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

It's cool. the best moment for me it's when you take the 2nd gun and suddenly a bird appeared from the corner whit a funny face I laugh a lot.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Memories, man. That was this game gives me.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Mac works pretty good, but the laughter continued after you close it... haha

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Yeah I like shooter! Very fun but if it has headshot system then more good.

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I was doing well, until that bat kicked my ass :D Good work!

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Finished it pretty fast. Got the pistol, almost ran out of ammo, but then I saw that ammo pretty much grows everywhere there. Was fun to play.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Didn't play but awesome work for 48h, sick gfx ! The Doom feel is there.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Solid working 3D dungeon. Can be expanded to make a really interesting game.

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Really fun to play , nice work!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Solid game :)

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Really fun to play and good old-school feeling.

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Works fine on Lubuntu 14.04 for me!

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Well done in 48 hours!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I felt like I was waving a hotdog when I had the stick! lol. Great game reminds me of doom and makes me anxious with a little with claustrophobia :P

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Nice work, really fun to play

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

haven't seen these in a while :)

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Pretty cool! I like that you loosened up the aiming and such a bit, feels pretty polished for an old-school FPS.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Nice game. Deathgun is the bomb. GJ.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Definitely had fun playing the game. Great job!

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Nice game, 3d with 2d style was very well done

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Woohoo! I won a cake.

Enjoyed progressing through the weapons. Had a kinda spooky oldschool atmosphere with the dark draw distance.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I liked it :) it was a little slow tho. it doesn't really have that feeling when you just surf through a level in doom. would have loved that

Lycaon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Movement was frustratingly slow, and enemies frequently came out of nowhere to try and kill me, but other than that, the game was solid. The art needs some work. Only being able to carry one weapon at a time is frustrating, and I don't even know what the hell is going on with the way aiming works.

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18pm

@Lycaon The aiming is a bit weird yeah. It's standard FPS aim apart from looking up or down is disabled (raycaster). It also has a tween so the crosshair moves independently depending on your rotation speed. Little difficult to use at first.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Fun game! A bit generic, but still nice. There was a pretty bad bug though: when it went to the death screen, there was no way to exit the game and I had to restart my computer... :( Still though, not bad! :D

uberscientist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Great, loved it, pew pewpew

JPatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

Great game :D Graphics worked really well. The zombies seem a bit hard to kill with a pistol though.

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

I like the style, though I wasn't able to restart once I died (or figure out how) which would have been nice.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

Pretty solid. I wouldn't have stuck with it if I didn't read about the deathgun in the comments.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:13am

It's work for me on Vista. It's a funny old school FPS, but it seems to me too slow. It can be improved. Sounds are really annoying for my ears. Well done ++

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:02am

Pretty solid. Feels great!

Oli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15pm

A bit too slow but I realy like the controls, great job!

And thank you for the cake :D

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25pm

This reminds me to start working on my own raycaster game again. I will totally steal your aiming mechanism for it.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Awesome. I love me some raycasting! :D very well done!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This is really fun.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Pretty fun little thing. I liked the controls halfway between really oldschool and modern shooters :) Too bad it just stops completely when you die instead of restarting the level, though.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Very impressive I must say. It has all the elements of a complete game!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

Solid entry. Would like to see better balance on shooting and damage. Have to shoot things too many time to kill them :) Should polish up and work on it some more. Potential.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:23pm

wolfenstein ftw! great entry, ran out of bullets on the bat thingies and couldn't figure out how to switch back to the stick...

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Darn bats!!! ARGHHHH! Great game. Fun Only thing I would say is audio needs to be turned down and gets hard too fast. Otherwise great.

Caglan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:59am

BATS!!

Worked Great on my Mac only problem is the game won't quit after I pressed CMD+Q (the mac version of Alt+f4) it will continue to run on BackGround and to restart the game I need to force quit java :(.

Also I can't quit without CMD+Q because the game is fullscreen.

Great game I think I will keep this retro style game to play on my spare time :)

torvik88 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Great game! Reminded me a lot of Wolfenstein, really nice work on it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]