Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

deer hunter

by rubna - 48 Hour Compo Entry

controls:
- wasd: walk
- space: dash
- left mouse button: shoot
__________
ran out of time to make audio for this one :( Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.31
#7Graphics4.58
#15Overall4.17
#69Mood3.78
#157Humor3.14
#446Innovation3.30
#534Theme3.29
#930Audio1.79
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

WICKEEEEED

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21am

Suuuper pretty, feels good, and great transitions too!

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41am

Love it man!

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

THE... BEST... GAME... EVER. Congrats on putting it together. wish there was audio tho

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Dude, awesome game man!
I love the 3d physics with the arrows and the dashing! :)
Also very cool story and art man... THAT DINO!
great job

Wolve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

it's so pretty i jizzed a little

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:05pm

MIND = BLOWN 10/10

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Amazing art and animations! Cool ending as well! Too bad there's no audio :(

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Amazing little game! Superb Graphics, love em. It left me wanting more, I would love more content and especially some sound. Well done!

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Haha, wow, your tiny sprites are fucking awesome, and those fireeffects are crazy good! Controls nicely and manages to tell a story in a minute, fucken great! :D

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

this was amazing! it feels like youäve been inspered by titansouls a great lot, but that's not a bad thing! this game was a blast and i loved every single bit of it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Delicious, scrumptious pixels. Mhhhh. The plot twist was really unexpected haha, that's what you get for shooting deer I guess. Plays really nicely too.

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47am

Wow, really good. One of the best I've played so far.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30am

Feels great, love the particle effects!

zeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I was trying to catch the deers with dashing only but it seemed too hard. Then I found out about the option of shooting arrows and then it became a lot easier, also more fun. The boss battle is really well made, quite hard as it should be. Looks great overall!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Very sad story =(
But I like the game anyway. I love small stories with meaning despite sad or mood are thay.

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36pm

FUN

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

WOW!
Even with no audio, it is awesome!
And that ending! Really nice job!

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Nice art and the deer. Tearful ending!

Slikker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Loved this game pity about the sound tho. Nice art as well. Good job!

waynaul says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:44am

Very fun game. The combat is fluid and dynamic.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Very nice game, the grapgics are very good, but maybe next time try to make a web version, so it's easier to play and more people will want to play it. Congrats!

Patacorow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50pm

The boss fight was SUPER FUN! Good job.
to shame there in no sound :/

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Too good

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

One of my favorite games. The pixel art is amazing. Perfect. The gameplay is also perfect. So fun to run around and use the bow. Great use of Dash, too, requiring it in a couple spots in order to finish. Well designed game.

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:05am

Pretty dang good! Extremely solid. Some of the faster pixel scrolling was making me a little sick, but that may have been a framerate issue or something on my end coupled with the 'close' view.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:26am

The movement feels spectacular, especially the roll. The boss fight was interesting because of the different moves and modes the boss enters.

The arrow charge feels strange feedback bar on the ground feels like it's in a weird position, but the function was fine.

Audio/sfx would be great.

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Love the art. and good storytelling...
Too bad I sucks, I don't see the end. I try and try and try (because it's fun)... but fail.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:53am

This was a very good game I kept wanting to play. Adding to my play again list.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Yikes! Really difficult!

But I totally love the visual style and animation! Controls feel pretty good, but I'm not totally comfortable with the controls for a long battle yet.

Took a while for me to figure out the first tricky part in the beginning, but I love how it feels natural as if I'm really a hunter just out doing my thing.

Where's the audio! Needs some cool sounds at least!

Again, I love your visual style. (It's honestly why I wanted to play it.)

Managore says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:37am

Hooooly crap Rubna, this is incredible!

frosty says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:42am

Beautiful graphics and great gameplay, though I felt bad for the deer. =)

TheGreenTie says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Amazing! This is the kind of games I look forward! Action and good-feel controls!
Great job!

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:13pm

This is AWESOME! Very responsive, the effects are satisfying, the fluid animations look great, and so on.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Awesome graphics and awesome game! With some sound effects and music, this game would just be even more awesome!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:05am

Wow, seriously amazing. Inspires me to try and learn how to do pixel art. The story and gameplay mechanics are spot on too. Super impressed!

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Cool little game. Too bad you weren't able to add sound, it would've done good to the game.

rubna says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 2:12pm

ty all for playing my game c:
<3 u

dessgeega says ...
Oct 4, 2014 @ 6:44pm

ludum deer

greytram says ...
Nov 11, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Very nice graphics. Audio would be a great addition. Oh and it would be nice to be able to change the movement keys setup (WASD isn't very practical on an AZERTY keybord). Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]