Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shattered

by ThatSamu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shattered is a moody space puzzle/action game with a focus on gamepad controls.

Player controls a space ship equipped with a planetary magnet, able to move pieces of planets around space. A terrible mysterious thingie has happened and planets have shattered into pieces. Player needs to wield his magnet and bring the planets back together.

When encountering enemies, player can use the magnet to grab incoming missiles and shoot them back.

Game supports all the most common gamepads, but can be played with a keyboard and a mouse as well.

Controls:

Move the space ship:
- Left stick / WASD

Move the magnet:
- Right stick / Arrow Keys / Mouse

Activate the magnet:
- Right trigger / Space / Left mouse button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Innovation3.61
#274Theme3.64
#329Graphics3.47
#379Overall3.38
#430Fun3.19
#755Mood2.76
#901Humor1.72
#987Audio1.47
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I really liked the rotating tetris piece sprites and the engine fire and particles when the planet pieces collided. I don't know what happened, but any time I collected all of the pieces I would crash completely. This was on the web player.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Managed to connect the first world and then it crashed after I collected all the blue/purple things.

The collision detection for the planet pieces is really good and I liked the particle effects when I crashed them together. Good Job!

Linkigi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I enjoyed this game a lot. It feels very good to move around and is satisfying when you succeed in completing a planet. The difficulty scales nicely and the interactions between all the different objects in the game adds a nice layer to the gameplay.

eott says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I didn't know how much fun it is to carefully put together shards before I played this game. With a bit of music in the background this would have been even better.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Hard to control, but idea is superb!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really sweet game, you should work on this idea futher. Great degree of polish in having both gamepad and PC controls supported, although I didn't have a controller handy to test.

I felt the need to collect those small pellets after putting a planet together wasn't a necessary mechanic, I'd rather focus on putting some more planets together :-)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

This is well done game and good job with supporting so many controls. Wish there was some music or sounds and bit more varied gameplay because I just didn't find putting dozen similar planets together all that engaging.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Cool idea and art style :)

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01pm

This was fun. I was minding my own business, putting planets back together when they started shooting at me! I was all like "hey, I just put you back together, stop that!" Haha, great idea and execution.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33am

I finished the first world, got to the second and I couldn't get them to connect anymore. I looks like they might be color-coded, and I'm colorblind, so that may have been the problem. Either way, neat concept. The gameplay was fun, and kind of reminded me of the old lunar lander games.

ThatSamu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

Empyrealhell, they are color-coded yes. I didn't realize to take account the colorblind audience though. :/ Also, sometimes it randomizes two colors that look very much alike. :P

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22am

Really enjoyed this - got a real feeling of satisfaction when the planets clicked together. Would have loved a big meaty sound when they clunked together :) Nice work dude!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Thanks for the controller support. And I know they're pieces of frigging planets but they could have moved a bit faster. :D Fun game still.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:56pm

This is a really interesting idea. The ship controls are nice and subtle. I think a few of the colours are a bit too similar though. I spent ages trying to piece / nudge together one with a slightly different shade of pink!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Very unique and innovative, I wish that the planets where not all the same, but it was fun to play. Some audio would also have helped :)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

It was like doing surgery in space, brilliant! Looked really good too.

Some things I didn't like:
- No sounds to add to the atmosphere (well, it is set in space after all :D)
- I couldn't use the menus with my controller, so I thought the game didn't regocnize it. Good thing I still tried it during the game though.
- All of the planets are the same. This is understandable given the time limit though, good job making it work as it is!
- Colors were pretty hard to differentiate from time to time.
- Destroying the enemies was quite hard (maybe a repelling mode for the magnet could've been cool!).
- Collecting the bits and pieces of planets felt somewhat tagged on.
- This is also a good thing (makes the game playable I guess): Only the ship and the pieces connected to it seemed to have inertia, when I let go they stopped almost(?) instantly.
- The game was somewhat slow paced

Despite these "complaints" I did find it intriguing, good job! Especially for a compo entry.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I liked it, using the keys and mouse at the same time, eye-hand-coordination practise!

leafarz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:19am

literally connecting worlds! enjoyed the game man!
and also the game made was pretty clean and smooth. and also great visuals!
good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Hi there. interesting idea. Found the spaceship tricky to control, with only 4 thrust directions on keyboard. Magnet and towing fun! Put two planets back together. Shame no sound. Good job!

MaesK says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Nice game! I really enjoyed using the grapple to put planets on their place. You managed very well to make them "feel heavy". Too bad I didn't remember how to fight missiles back and was completely unarmed, so I got destroyed :(

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Cool idea, but the gameplay feels slow. Once I got defeated by enemies, having previously assembled three worlds, I decided to give up. The lack of audio didn't help, either. ^^"

(also, all worlds seemed to have identical shattering pattern >.<)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]