Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Name

by Mr-Hide - Jam Entry

Unfinished game, because 72h is not enough.

Menu :
<Up> and <Down> arrows to select a level, <Enter> to play a level.

In Game :
Arrows to control the knight. Right CTRL to slash.

Made with :
C++, Allegro5, Inkscape, Gimp, Spine, Tiled, TMX, Box2D
By: Cytoo and Baylej

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#638Graphics(Jam)2.70
#697Mood(Jam)2.11
#753Theme(Jam)1.74
#754Fun(Jam)1.95
#757Innovation(Jam)1.81
#787Overall(Jam)2.00
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28pm

I can't play the game because I'm on Linux, but I looked at the source and gave you all 1/5s because you used allegro instead of raw SDL.

(Not really.)

swabbur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18am

Hi, would've liked to try this out. But I cant start the game. Im only getting a black screen with the numbers 1 and 2 in the top left corner...

Im on windows 7 64-bit ultimate, 8GB DDR3 RAM, I7 quad and a Geforce 760GTX

Mr-Hide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08pm

@swabbur

This is the menu (I had no time to make a real menu)
Use the arrows to select level 1 or 2 and press enter to play.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

It's okay for a game in 48 hours!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Work on your scope management and it could be a nice melee platformer. Dudes in armor make me feel nostalgic about days spend running around in a suite made of ill-fitting metal plates, getting crushed by guys in shining steel. Standing up, and flying through the air from a hit with the shield. Good old days of pain and sweat.

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Intro screen with the level selection thing needs to be more clear. Use the arrow keys to select 1 or 2 then hit space I believe to choose that level.

I had a lot of fun jumping on Skeleton heads. Also took me a long time to figure out how to attack (Right Control?)

It's a basic-y platformer with killer skeletons! Art was neat. I would've liked to see some bonus pickups or something. Good job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nothing to do with the theme. Nice graphics, though.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I didn't find the game much exciting, but the graphics are ok. Just don't use texturefillers with the gimp, it really doesnt look good.

Mr-Hide says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Thank you for your reviews.

I did the skeleton and the Knight, but the tiles are from OpenGameArt.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Wow you used Spine, Tiled and Box2D for a Ludum Dare game o_O ? Sounds way too complicated for a 72h game jam, maybe you should have picked some simplier tools. Keep going!

Kojan says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:33am

Nice little game, would've been epic if there was a soundtrack and animations on damage taken. Jumpin on skeletons is always fun.
However I do not understand what is has to do with the theme

Cyto says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Hey!

I'm the second developper there. First of all, thanks you guys for your feedback. As you can imagine @dancingmad, using all those relatively "custom" tools (and often to learn how they work on the fly :/ ) is slowing us down. But it also add some proud and stuff so I think we'll keep doing like that, even if drawing and animating a skeleton takes a whole day.

We initially wanted to have 2 differents level connected with portals that would spawn skeletons, and you would have to go in hell to fix up the world of the living and end the map but we lacked of time :).

The feedback is interesting, so keep going if anyone else is willing to share its 2 cents.

hbocao says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I couldn't finish the first mission because i was not able to jump after killing the second skeleton. Anyway, the graphics are really good, the combat seems a little weird, too easy. Adding audio would have been nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]