Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abandoned

by JPatrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In abandoned you have to make your way through three worlds, with each world connected to the next through a portal. To activate this portal, you need to collect the gemstone located in each world. Be careful of the brainless zombies hunting you down though! You can craft an axe and a sword to help you succeed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#704Graphics2.88
#721Humor2.11
#830Fun2.72
#839Overall2.93
#903Theme2.68
#921Audio1.81
#944Mood2.50
#1105Innovation2.24

Comments

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19am

Not challenging at all, you might want to give health to the zombies so it wont be spammable

JPatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28am

Thank you for the feedback :) I didn't have enough time to really work on the combat system unfortunately, so it is a little bit easy.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30am

I really like the graphics, the trees are 100x better than my attempt in my game :D

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31am

Not bad! Could have used some music maybe, and there wan't much point in having more than one sword or axe, but a top down combat + crafting game is a fair shake for two days!

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:43am

Yeah, the trees are definitely a highlight :D
I wish the screen wasn't zoomed in THAT much - it's almost claustrophobic. But aside from that, it's a cute little game :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice little game, i like it. :) The trees collision box is alittle bit offset

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Concept is neat but it's got some issues with game play and overall theme. Seems a bit too easy.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22pm

One of the few games I was able to finish :) nice little game.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I like the basic idea, although the combat system would need a lot more polish.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:14am

It was good, could use a few more crafting recipes and materials to collect. The challenge is VERY low, it was lacking in that part, sometimes the gem and portal spawn next to each other too. Also, Crafting became pointless when I can just go from Gem to Portal to win without the need to craft.

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Interesting little game with nice pixel art :)
Would have liked to see more involved combat and crafting, but I thought it was a great start for a game.
Would love to see more of it.

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

How many zombies!!! At least, a playable game here. Nice tiles

Resonious says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Seems pretty complex for 48 hours, so good job on that!

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very simple. Not much goes on, just wandering and clicking. Couldn't read the instructions easily, so I didn't figure out how to craft but it was easy even without tools. I like the graphics.

rantt says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Cool concept, I like your graphics. Difficulty was pretty easy. I enjoyed it, nice job.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Liked this better than minecraft...minecraft blows!! nice job

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:21am

Neat game. I didn't know how to use the apples to restore my health. After you cut down a few trees and craft your tools, there isn't much challenge. Maybe make the zombies harder, and add different weapons. I played it for a while though, so it mush be fun!

fauge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:40am

graphics are good, combat seems lacking and unfinished (i get it) the instructions are a little too hard to read

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:31am

Sorry, no Java.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]